Simply danLrene

Dare To Dream

Middle Of The Night Ramblings

This has been a night that sleep was very elusive. I found my pain had jacked up so high that nothing was helping. I found that none of the normal things I did was helping… I use medicine, massage, heat/cold, meditation, distraction, music, movies, wrapping my legs, cranking the bed into different positions and yet none of it was denting the pain. I could not figure out why.

I got up and would wander to the kitchen trying to be very quiet with those forearm crutches so as to not disturb Jack or son. And I would glance out the back door to see if the snow had arrived.  Ten, eleven, twelve o’clock came and went and no snow. And it did not hit me that this was the cause of my pain. If you have never paid attention to barometric pressure of the atmosphere…and pain..it does affect it.

So, I started reading blogs trying to distract myself. I was so exhausted from the weatherization man’s visit and son and I having to pull the shrink-wrap off the windows and the insulation styrofoam sheet out and then put it back up when he was done and I wanted to sleep so badly. It was not until about an hour ago that I realized that my pain had finally come down a notch. Instead of screaming and shrieking, it was just yelling a little. And I thought ..hmmm wonder why?  So, I made a last wobble to the kitchen and glanced out the door…and lo and behold…winter wonderland is out there. The ground is white and the snow is falling beautifully.

And I knew the storm front had finally settled in and the barometric pressure had leveled out and that is why my pain had eased off some. I have been through this many times before and learned how much the barometric pressure affected my pain back east when we lived in hurricane land. I don’t know the solution. I just know it does. It makes it scream and you can be so exhausted that you doze off and it will snap you back to reality like a pulled rubber band snaps.

So now, I feel my eyes drooping. It is almost 5AM an I am going to take advantage of the drop in pain. and see if I can sleep. And when I wake up, I hope I see two feet of snow. :)

March 8, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

16 Comments »

  1. […] Middle Of The Night Ramblings (workthedream.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Middle Of The Night Ramblings « Work the Dream | April 8, 2012 | Reply

  2. enjoy the sleep whenever it comes.

    Comment by silentlyheardonce | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  3. I hope you feel much better and have gotten some much needed sleep! :)

    Comment by Four Blue Hills | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  4. wHERE is the “NO LIKE” button? hate to hear that barometric set off the pain to such searing heights… sure hope the new gel pad will comfort and make u sleep like a babe cradled against such severe pain. You are an inspiration to so many who live with pain, who are thrivers… would take some of it so you could rest if I could… take many naps and wrap up well…. spring is coming friend.

    Comment by SHERRY E SHOWALTER | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  5. I hope you finally got some relief from the pain. I know the barometric pressure can play havoc. It effects me too, but not to the extent you have!!! Stay gentle with yourself. Sending lots of energy your way!

    Comment by Cee Neuner | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  6. How are you this morning? So very sorry to hear of last night’s trouble falling asleep. Praying that you feel rested and you got a lil bit of that snow you were hoping for :)

    Comment by Cara Olsen | March 8, 2012 | Reply

    • hi Cara, yes we got some snow. Not as much as I wanted. :) I wanted two feet. I am feeling better and did sleep for about four hours. So all is good.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 8, 2012 | Reply

      • I’m happy to hear you were met with snow and thrilled you’re feeling better. I hope tonight’s sleep comes easier for you. Praying for your pain.

        Comment by Cara Olsen | March 8, 2012

      • thanks Cara. I think the new gel mattress pad is going to help a lot. ;)

        Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 8, 2012

  7. Yes it does affect your levels of pain and it is not pleasant! I am glad the snow finally arrived and things settled a bit for you! Hope you were able to rest and get some well deserved sleep!!

    Comment by jilllindsey | March 8, 2012 | Reply

    • I sure did Jill. I got about four hours and it felt good. Yes we got snow. :) and I am loving it. Not my two feet but this will do. :)

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  8. Hope your pain eases soon.

    Comment by Libby | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  9. Wishing you the sweetest dreams ever and as pain free a day as possible.

    Comment by Kate Kresse | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  10. Good you are able to feel less pain and maybe get some much needed rest.
    I really like the poems you write they are very good.

    Comment by Darlene | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  11. I clicked ‘like’, not because I like that you are in pain but I like the post – sleep well!

    Comment by jmgoyder | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  12. Sweet sleep, and dream well.

    Comment by Jueseppi B. | March 8, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers

