Simply danLrene

Dare To Dream

My Views On Reblogging

I really don’t understand some of the problems people have with reblogging, so I am posting a post to explain my views. I actually find it a compliment when someone reblogs because that means they found the post great enough to put my post on their page.

These are my takes on re-blogging:

1. No one can mess with my post when you re-blog so not sure why people are concerned with copywright. Your work is copywright from the moment you press publish. But, even if it were not….reblogging does not give anyone access to edit my post. Try editing a reblog you did and all it shows you is your comment that you can edit..that you made when you reblogged the post..

2. It says right on the reblog that it is MY post…so there is no confusion whose post it is. Again..I don’t understand why people are screaming copyright issues.

3. I figure if people are impressed enough to want to reblog my post than that is a high compliment. To me, going to a blog and seeing the ” DO NOT REBLOG”  me is akin to saying  …I have a book out and you must come to my house to read it. I won’t get many followers that way.

4. Reblogging shares part of my post and that way a person knows right away if they want to take the time to go read or not.  Not to diminish “linking”, but I can tell you that many do not bother clicking on links as they read through all the blogs they follow. Oh,  you will have one or two respond but most people don’t like to have to leave a page and then come back to their reading of posts. Linking does not tell them anything about my post or if they might even like it. I appreciate all who link too but I seldom get any feedback from linking. (now I will have a rush of those against reblogging respond to me on a link to prove me wrong. LOL)

5. The whole point for me in writing is to get my work “out there” and reblogging does get it out there and puts it up front and center. A link is less attention getting. Again…I appreciate anyone that wants to link and if that is their personal preference..that is great. I am giving my views on reblogging.

6. I think of wordpress like a huge gathering of Newspapers. Newspapers will take material..giving credit to the author…and repost the whole article because it is newsworthy. That is how I feel about reblogging. If someone wants to respost my post by reblogging…then I feel like it must be a good post.

7. My followers have increased a lot from reblogging. Not so much from just linking. And that is important to me. I looked today and I have readers from ten different countries. I was amazed.

8.  I seldom frequent a page that posts that big “do not reblog me” sign for I figure they really do not wish to have a fan base if they don’t want others to see their posts other than on their page. Just as I seldom click on links no matter how great anyone says they are…mainly because of the time issue. There are so many great blogs out there and I want to read them and don’t have the time to flip pages to see IF it is something I really want to read.On a reblogged post I can tell right away.

9. Reblogging to me is like showing the “freshly pressed”…no one complains there. Seriously…how dare wordpress put one of our posts on their freshly pressed page. LOL  Yes, I am teasing but the point is…we can’t have it both ways. We want it posted WHERE we want it…like freshly pressed but not by the readers who will make you what you may become?

10.  If a site that I don’t like reblogs me…the good news is that number one…a person knows that the writer of the post did not put it there..it was reblogged. Second…if those that frequent the site I don’t care for come to my blog from that reblogged post, they will see who and what I am and might just learn something. :) The biggest thing they will learn is that I am not part of nor like the site I didn’t care for that reblogged me.

11. Reblogging is no different than “sharing” on facebook. It is just saying hey look at this post…it is great.

I think we can get so caught up in this copywright thing that the real purpose of writing gets lost. We forget we are writing to get others to read and we forget that once we publish….we have copywright and reblogging does not diminish that nor can anyone claim a reblog as their own post.

And that is my views on reblogging. :)   If you do NOT want to be reblogged…please tell me here and I will make a list. For I certainly would not reblog anyone that does not want to be.

March 10, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

57 Comments »

  1. I remember the first time I was reblogged (and I had not had my blog for long). I felt that I was given a compliment – that a blogger felt my work was well written with interesting content. As you say, the content of your blog post cannot be edited – and it gets your writing out there into the world.

    Comment by Colline | March 12, 2012 | Reply

  2. I concur! I found this reblogged on http://ceeslifephotographyblog.wordpress.com/ :)

    Comment by narami | March 11, 2012 | Reply

  3. i agree completely…it is such a compliment that someone likes what you have to say enough to call attention to it via reblogging. Some really good points

    Comment by Jo Bryant | March 11, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks Jo. To me, it is the best way in the world to have your work reach others. And that is just me. I respect anyone that does not want to be reblogged and most certainly would not.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 11, 2012 | Reply

      • True…you do need to respect their wishes, but I think we get to overprotective at time.

        Comment by Jo Bryant | March 11, 2012

      • Yes, I think that people get so caught up in protecting that they lose sight of the fact that for most of us…we write to be read and if we want to be read…we need to be OUT THERE and reblogging does. it. :)

        Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 11, 2012

      • I think that is such a valid point.

        Comment by Jo Bryant | March 11, 2012

  4. Great post. I’ve been thinking about saying exactly the same things for exactly the same reasons. Maybe I should just reblog yours?

    What I like about reblogging is that it publcises another blog, shows their style, and is much more of an invite than a link – for exactly what you say. Most people do not hit on links and we can all tell that from the stats. Anyway, thanks for all the links about Sgt rex to our blogs :) Even if no-one hits on them :D

    Comment by roughseasinthemed | March 11, 2012 | Reply

    • I would have reblogged but could not find a reblog button on philosphermouse’s blog. WIll have to see if anyone else did.I just felt it important enough to post it anyway I could. :) Sure feel free to reblog my posts. I call is the best advertising you can get. :)

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 11, 2012 | Reply

      • I’ve reblogged a couple of times from Phil’s. I did ask first if they preferred a pingback or a reblog, but I like the reblog.

        Again, totally agree with you. :)

        Comment by roughseasinthemed | March 11, 2012

      • I found the button..so redid it.

        Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 11, 2012

  5. Reblogged this on To Talk of Many Things and commented:
    To me, reblogging is like hitting Facebook’s share button. I agree with the original poster enough to share the information or they agree with me enough to share my information with others. It is compliment.

    Comment by Kathy | March 11, 2012 | Reply

  6. I have a “Do Not copy or Reblog” notice on my blog, which is a PhotoStory. One of my posts was reblogged. The reblog took my photo (full size) and most of what I wrote. The resulting reblog was so complete that there was no reason to click back to my blog.
    Anyone who posts one of my photos on their blog is violating the copyright of that photo. I don’t agree with WordPress’s reblogging feature for that reason. I would be happier if a reblogged photo only showed up in thumbnail size.
    I also wouldn’t like it if someone reblogged my post and then wrote nothing (or only a few words) themselves. That is just plain lazy, don’t you think?!

    Comment by Margie | March 11, 2012 | Reply

    • Well, the reblogging I see today only puts a portion of the post on the other person’s page unless it is a very small post. And I always write a note about how great the blog is and telling my friends to please check out this blogger as they are a wonderful writer is a short note but a very good recommendation to get others to read it. I don’t think it is lazy…perhaps just a person’s way of keeping things that they view as special. And even if my whole post showed up on a blog..I would hope it was enough to inspire others to come to my page for more posts. I want my work to be out there beyond just those that follow my page…and to reach people and be read and it is now read in 11 countries and has been viewed almost 20,000 times. And reblogging has done that for me for when someone reblogs me…my followers and numbers of views rise. That is just me personally. But should I ever read your blog, I will be sure to never reblog you. :)

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 11, 2012 | Reply

      • Yes, you would have to visit my blog in order to understand why I don’t want people to use my photos without asking for my permission.

        Comment by Margie | March 11, 2012

      • Margie, It would not change my views for I think if someone uses a photo and puts the name of the person who did it on it…just like mine have been used with my poetry and my name on them…it just spreads my work far and wide and still gives me credit. It is like those that “share” on facebook only no one seems to mind that. But, I respect your wish to not be reblogged and if I ever go to you page, I will not reblog you. We each have our own ways about things.

        Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 11, 2012

  7. I have no problem with it, I just hope it remains something that is special, and not used as a “filler” to get in a post a day. If somone reblogged me, I would want it to be because they found something special in the post that they felt they wanted to share.

    I will say, though that when they first introduced reblogging, a couple of times I got confused and thought the post was from the host and not the blog that got reblogged, so I guess it’s important to make the distinction, to add one’s personal note saying why they reblogged, etc.

    I guess I’m easily confused. Heck to get old-er, lol!

    Comment by Judee | March 11, 2012 | Reply

    • I too like to be reblogged because someone really liked my post Judee. And I think the new way they do it and if people make a comment from their blog as to why they are reblogging…it helps clarify that for us oldies. LOL

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 11, 2012 | Reply

  8. Interesting. I had no idea anyone would see re-blogging as anything but a compliment? Seems we all blog instead of just writing in a journal, with the hope that something we way will resonate. I’ve always thought anyone who re-blogs to be quite generous. :D
    Debbie

    Comment by Debbie | March 10, 2012 | Reply

    • Me too Debbie. Yet some don’t like it. I happen to think it is a great compliment and a great way to get my writing out to others. If I stick to just those I have as followers…how will I reach anyone else? Thanks for being here.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 11, 2012 | Reply

  9. :) I don’t care as long as I get credit for my work. I have come across a couple sites that are all reblogs. I do not agree with that. Even though it may drive some traffic to the original blogger, it seems dishonest. Angie

    Comment by ansuyo | March 10, 2012 | Reply

    • I am not sure I Understand Angie. Even if the whole blog is nothing but reblogged posts..it still tells who the author of those posts are so how is it dishonest? I think I am missing something here. And my guess on those that do a whole blog of nothing but reblogged posts is that they are not writers but love to read and want to remember the posts.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 10, 2012 | Reply

  10. Reblogged this on Cee's Life Photography Blog and commented:
    I so agree with Work the Dream. If my blog beer got reblogged, Imwould be so honored!!

    Comment by Cee Neuner | March 10, 2012 | Reply

  11. Great blog!!! and I so agree with you!! I might just have to reblog this!

    Comment by Cee Neuner | March 10, 2012 | Reply

  12. ‘Reblog’ at WordPress is same as ‘share’ at Facebook. Reblogging means I think enough of the post to republish it in original form at my personal site for all my followers to enjoy. Reblogging is nothing but a compliment to the original author. And as you say, DanLrene, it is not possible to altar or edit the original post. Thus, any copyright statements are, too, published since they are attached to the original post that cannot be edited.

    Comment by internet elias | March 10, 2012 | Reply

  13. Sometimes I am so naive. I share your sentiments exactly and was stunned when I NO reblogging on some sites and saw some of the hate mail on the topic. Anyone who wants to reblog me can be me guest.

    Comment by diggingher | March 10, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks diggingher…and I guess it is something others will have to work through on their own. I want people to see my writing and want it out there. :)

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 10, 2012 | Reply

  14. I agree with everything you say and have never seen a blog with that ‘do not reblog’ warning!

    I have hardly ever been reblogged (sigh, hint) hehe!

    Comment by jmgoyder | March 10, 2012 | Reply

    • You never know jmgoyder….one day you may just find yourself reblogged. :)

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 10, 2012 | Reply

  15. I generally have no problem with reblogging either – as you said, it preserves your post and clearly puts your name on it. On my other blog, A Daily Life, I ask permission from people to reprint their entire posts. It’s purpose is to serve as a resource. I can repost it in part or with permission, reprint in full with full notice of copyright and permission granted. I’ve gotten permission each time I’ve asked, including from some big names in the art and photography world.

    That said, I did have a reblog from mine onto an on-line dating site. Big eeew factor there, especially since I am happily married. I complained to WordPress, but it was a self-hosted site, fully attributed back to me and with no copyright violations. Still made me mad though. I wish they’d just stolen it and not said where from. Thankfully it didn’t happen again.

    Nancy

    Comment by dogear6 | March 10, 2012 | Reply

    • Well Nancy, the good news is…if someone took that reblog and came to your site they would know you are not. And they might learn something from your blog. :)

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 10, 2012 | Reply

      • Wow, I hadn’t thought of that. Good point – thanks!

        Comment by dogear6 | March 10, 2012

  16. I agree too. I remember before the public had internet and writers wrote on paper that some people were told by copyright infringement attorneys the best way to prove ownership of their own work were told to certified mail themselves a copy of their final draft (the one sent to an agent or publisher) in case a copyright issue happened. I agree – if you don’t care that someone uses your photo/artwork don’t watermark it and it goes into public domain. If it’s something you don’t want someone using, watermark it.

    Comment by WyomingStoryGirl | March 10, 2012 | Reply

    • exactly wyoming. When I put my poems on, I generally put them on a picture of a piece of paper with my copyright at the bottom.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 10, 2012 | Reply

  17. First, if it was a matter of breaking copyright laws, WordPress would NOT allow reblogging, and would not have designed the blog site to permit reblogging, so that shoots down any copyright garbage right there.

    Second, to have something I write reblogged is the highest compliment there is, as you said DanLrene. If you don’t want something you write reblogged, then keep it to yourself.

    Third, I write, in every reblog I do, a “props” note to the person I am reblogging from, giving all due credit to that author, and telling my readers/followers to visit “so & so’s” blog.

    Lastly….ReBlog MY work…..PLEASE!!!

    Comment by Jueseppi B. | March 10, 2012 | Reply

    • that is what I say Jueseppi. I do the same. I think it is an honor.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 10, 2012 | Reply

      • I just read you were/are 62….surely you jest…..

        Comment by Jueseppi B. | March 10, 2012

      • nope..that is how old I am. That picture was taken right before we moved across the mountain last year. I am just lucky to have a young face. :)

        Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 10, 2012

      • Young is correct. Young and pretty. ;-)

        Comment by Jueseppi B. | March 10, 2012

      • blush..thank you Jueseppi.

        Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 11, 2012

  18. Re-blog me anytime you think my posts would mean something to someone!!

    Comment by Kate Kresse | March 10, 2012 | Reply

  19. Reblogged this on Believe Anyway and commented:
    I am re-blogging this–I wrote a separate post with the link to this same post. I want you to be able to get to her post either way!!

    Comment by Kate Kresse | March 10, 2012 | Reply

  20. A few of my posts were reblogged today and it blew my mind.. in a good way.. what a nice compliment that my scribbles entertained someone enough to reblog not one but three posts..
    I have no problem with it..
    Lynne

    Comment by free penny press | March 10, 2012 | Reply

    • thanks Lynne. I feel that way too. It is just an honor to me and it spreads what I write even further.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 10, 2012 | Reply

  21. Reblogged this on Ramblings of a Misguided Blonde and commented:
    Had to reblog this post on reblogging :D I know I’ve just blown your mind. I couldn’t agree with this post more.
    Lindsey

    Comment by russelllindsey | March 10, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks for reblogging. :)

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 10, 2012 | Reply

      • You’re welcome! LOL I had to do it :D

        Comment by russelllindsey | March 10, 2012

      • LOL I understand.

        Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 10, 2012

  22. I agree! Thank you for sharing one of my “reblogs” as well. LOL I believe reblogging adds a lot to my personal blog and helps readers understand where I’m coming from on some of my own posts. Instead of sharing links, which may or may not be read, people can at least read the first few sentences of a post that inspired me.

    Thanks again and happy reblogging!

    Lindsey

    Comment by russelllindsey | March 10, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Lindsey. I truly don’t get the issue since copyright is not a problem. But to each their own. I personally am happy when someone reblogs. :)

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 10, 2012 | Reply

      • I would be too!

        Comment by russelllindsey | March 10, 2012

  23. I agree

    Comment by jennysserendipity | March 10, 2012 | Reply

    • thank you Jenny. Yes, seems some take an affront and I think reblogging helps our page grow.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 10, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 838 other followers

