Simply danLrene

Dare To Dream

Reluctant Role Models

We are all role models, albeit some of us are reluctant ones. We don’t have a choice….it is a matter of fact. So, what kind of role model we are depends on us….depends on how we do even when no one is looking….depends on our character, our honesty, our ethics, our compassion, our caring, our empathy for others, our charity….


WHEN YOU THOUGHT I WASN’T LOOKING

When you thought I wasn’t looking I saw you hang my
first painting on the refrigerator, and I immediately
wanted to paint another one.

When you thought I wasn’t looking I saw you feed the
birds in winter, and I learned that it was good to be kind
to animals.

When you thought I wasn’t looking I saw you make my
favorite cake for me, and I learned that the little
things can be the special things in life.

When you thought I wasn’t looking I heard you say a
prayer, and I knew that there is a God I could always
talk to, and I learned to trust in Him.

When you thought I wasn’t looking I saw you make a
meal and take it to a friend who was sick, and I
learned that we all have to help take care of each other.

When you thought I wasn’t looking I saw you take care
of our house and everyone in it, and I learned we have
to take care of what we are given.

When you thought I wasn’t looking I saw how you
handled your responsibilities, even when you didn’t
feel good, and I learned that I would have to be
responsible when I grow up.

When you thought I wasn’t looking I saw you hold
the door open for others and heard ‘thank you’ and
‘you’re welcome’, and I learned respect for others.

When you thought I wasn’t looking I saw tears come
from your eyes, and I learned that sometimes things
hurt, but it’s all right to cry.

When you thought I wasn’t looking I saw that you
cared, and I wanted to be everything that I could be..

When you thought I wasn’t looking I learned most of
life’s lessons that I need to know to be a good and
productive person when I grow up.

When you thought I wasn’t looking I looked at you and
wanted to say,’ Thanks for all the things I saw when
you thought I wasn’t looking.

unknown

April 10, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. [...] Posted for danLrene -  http://workthedream.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/reluctant-role-models/ [...]

    Pingback by My Pictures Mum | Freedomborn…set free | April 12, 2012 | Reply

  2. Hi Deb……
    When you thought I wasn’t looking I read your blog and smiled…….knowing that there are wonderful people such as yourself out there in the world who love sharing such beautiful posts with others.
    Bless,
    Lee

    Comment by Cdn Stormlover | April 11, 2012 | Reply

    • Lee, you brought tears to my eyes. What a beautiful thing to say. Thank you. I can’t begin to tell you that you touched my heart.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 12, 2012 | Reply

  3. True. Someone is ALWAYS watching us, whether we know it or not. Reminds me of that saying that we teach more by our actions than our words. Angie

    Comment by ansuyo | April 11, 2012 | Reply

    • Angie, I am a firm believer that our actions speak louder than our words and if our eyes and our mouths don’t say the same thing…something is wrong for I believe our eyes lead into our souls. We can say I love you but if we don’t show it then it does not mean anything. We can say we are Christians but I believe that our lives will show that before our words. thanks :)

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 12, 2012 | Reply

  4. Hi danLrene good thought reflections, yes we are indeed role models to me being real is what is the most important, so many wear a mask but as a Mother or carer of Children it is also very important what our example is.

    I received a Power point a few years ago with the same message … When you thought I wasen’t looking, I adapted it and added extra Pictures, I will post it later in the week for you.

    I hope your Easter was a pleasant remembance for you, Christian Love and many blessings from the both of us – Ron ans Anne

    Comment by Freedomborn | April 11, 2012 | Reply

    • Anne and Ron, I look forward to seeing that. I agree that our actions affect the children so much and if we are not true to ourselves and our faith, then how can we expect the children to be. :)

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 12, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 745 other followers

