Simply danLrene

Dare To Dream

My Legacy-My Children

I read this quote the other day and thought it was beautiful. I am poor and have nothing really to leave my children except what I have given them from the heart that will carry them on through their own lives

“No legacy is so rich as Honesty.”

~ William Shakespeare~

And so I lay here thinking about what I tried to teach my children. Yes, top of the list was honesty and if you read my post just yesterday about going through discomfort for the lasting good, you will see that my son is passing that legacy on with his daughter. The legacy of always telling the truth, not bending it or telling only parts of truths for there are no half-truths. A half truth is still a lie. While a person can fool others, they should remember that someone somewhere will always know the truth.

You can fool some of the people all of the time, and all of the people some of the time, but you can not fool all the people all the time.

~ Abraham Lincoln~

Other things I hope that I leave with my children when I leave here is compassion and charity for others. I have always believed that what you give out…be it good or bad..comes back to you ten fold. And I have seen it time and time again in my life.I think there is no greater feeling of joy than when we are doing something to help someone else. I watch both my sons and they are quick to reach out and help. They take that step and ask nothing in return. I love when I see one of my sons go across a parking lot to help someone who is having trouble loading their groceries or is having car trouble. And I love when I hear they have gone to help a family in trouble or to take them food. I remember one time in specific where we  gave half of our food to someone who was in need even though we had no money to get anymore. And yet, two days later, a neighbor came by and asked could they give us food as their freezer had died and it would just go to waste and they gave us twice as much as we gave away.

“Fear grows out of the things we think; it lives in our minds. Compassion grows out of the things we are, and lives in our hearts.”

Barbara Garrison

Another thing I hope I have given my sons and leave them a legacy of is love and how to love themselves and to love others. I think we all have the capacity to love but if we are not taught to love in the right way, we can go down paths that lead us into destructive behavior.  Real love is honest and compassionate so they are all intertwined. I hope I taught my sons to love without expectations as love is something you should give freely. I hope I taught them to love all people and to love in spite of not because of. And I hope they learned to love with forgiveness. And I pray they learned the difference in liking something or someone and loving them for we will like many things in our lives but we may not always love them.

“It’s not about how much you do, but how much love you put into what you do that counts.”

- Mother Teresa-

All of these things seem to go hand in hand. Another thing I hope that I have given my sons is the understanding of the power of forgiveness and how important it is in life. While some people may ask us to forgive them, usually forgiveness is for ourselves so that we can move forward. If we hold on to anger and hurt, it is our lives we are tearing up. And if we can look at others and see behind their actions to the reason, forgiveness comes a lot easier and so does understanding that everyone acts in a different way.

Forgiveness does not change the past, but it does enlarge the future.”

Paul Boese

I hope I have engrained in them to always hope and dream and never give up so that they follow their dreams too. I think without hope and faith and dreams, we are lost. I love hearing both my sons tell me of their dreams for the future….dreams of living in the country for one and dreams of making this home into what he wants for the other. I love seeing the spark in their eyes when they talk of their dreams and what they are doing to make them come true.

“Hold fast to dreams. For if dreams die, life is a broken-winged bird that cannot fly.”

James Langston Hughes

Another thing I hope I have left my children as my legacy is the value of hard work. Hard work not only helps us reach our dreams but it makes us who we are and makes us value what we worked for even more than if it were handed to us. Both of my sons are hard workers and I hope they continue to be so and hand it down to Sweetpea and any other children that may come.

“Far and away the best prize that life has to offer is the chance to work hard at work worth doing”

Teddy Roosevelt.

And so, when my time comes, I pray my legacy to my children includes honesty in all things, compassion and charity for others, love of themselves and others, the power of forgiveness, the ability to dream and hope and to work hard for their dreams and for those they love. These things will not be dollar bills but the value that they will bring is far greater than any fortune I could leave them.

And the very last thing I want them to have is the ability to always know who they are and to respect themselves and the values they carry.

image from helensaeteurn.blogspot.com

May 31, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. [...] My Legacy-My Children [...]

    Pingback by 20 Questions I’d Liked to Ask My Son « A Mom Who Just So Happens to Be a Gamer | June 12, 2012 | Reply

  2. [...] My Legacy-My Children [...]

    Pingback by 20 Things I’d Liked to Ask My Son « A Mom Who Just So Happens to Be a Gamer | June 12, 2012 | Reply

  3. [...] My Legacy-My Children (workthedream.wordpress.com) [...]

    Pingback by The lonely promise.. | 20 LINES A DAY – an exercise in discipline | June 8, 2012 | Reply

  4. Great legacy and great advice. These things are more important than monetary gain and much less likely to harm them :)

    Comment by ansuyo | June 1, 2012 | Reply

  5. No better words could be said.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Comment by fgassette | May 31, 2012 | Reply

  6. I haven’t been leaving comments, but have enjoyed your posts. The story of your move was particularly good.

    Nancy

    Comment by dogear6 | May 31, 2012 | Reply

    • thanks Nancy and glad you enjoyed the saga posts

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | May 31, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 808 other followers

