Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

A Hallmark Memory Day

I have waited over five years for this day to some. It was not like we never talked or saw each other on Skype because we did and believe me when I say…Skype is a close second to having them there in person. My other son and his family arrived Monday evening.

Son here had a stool by the door for me to sit on and watch for them to pull in. I was a little worried about their reactions when they saw all the robo mom stuff but I was more excited at the opportunity to get to put my hands on them and really hug them and feel them.

This little car pulled up into the drive way…and was slipping and sliding all over. Yes, you could tell they were not from this area in that tiny car. LOL   Most people have something a little more snow worthy out here. I watched as they all got out of the car, and then this tall young lady emerged and the tears started flowing. My precious Sweetpea that was almost seven when we moved out here was no longer a baby. She was a beautiful young lady with a big smile and looked a lot like her father.

My eyes hungrily devoured every inch of them getting out of that car and I kept flipping back and forth between son and my Sweetpea. They are so much alike…she is tall and slender and has a face just like him. Many people make expressions like ” I would not have known her if I had seen her out in the world”, but I would have known my Sweetpea anywhere.

As they came through the door hugging me, when I got to Sweetpea…the tears started flowing for all I could see was my little Sweetpea and all the years I had missed.  Sweetpea was hugging me and felt my crying and leaned back patting my face saying “oh Mimi ..don’t cry…please don’t cry.  It’s Ok”.   My hands were quickly soaking her up, touching her hair, her face, her shoulders, holding her hand, hugging her again and just taking in every bit of her. A memory engrained deeply into my sensory bank for future times. Even the sweet candy smell of her breath was recorded in my sensory bank. And as I looked at her, I saw this beautiful, fun filled young lady who like looking at my son when he was young. I am so proud of son and dil for they have done a great job with her and she is well mannered and respectful.  Son is a great father and spends a lot of time doing things with Sweetpea like the horses and going to shows.

We have had a truly wonderful visit and it was just grand to sit around the table and me just sit there and watch them laughing and talking and my son here interacting with them. The two brothers would group in the kitchen while son here was cooking and talk while the girls and I were in the living room. I admit I sat up more than I can normally do comfortably but the adrenalin rush was carrying me. And then that time came when I looked at my son and said help me get to the bedroom and I collapsed on the bed. My exhaustion level and pain level were screaming but I didn’t want to give up. And sometimes we just have to give in and lay down. Soon they were all in the bedroom to be with me. That in itself brought tears to my eyes.

I had to smile proudly as my son and his wife were telling son here how nice the house looked and what great meals he cooked. Son here really does a GREAT job and I am proud of him. He was just beaming as they bragged on him. And they helped him clean up afterwards.

My youngest son and Sweetpea went out to make a snowman all full of giggles and laughter. Poor snowman had baked potato eyes and kidney bean lips and buttons but a more beautiful snowman there was not. Sweetpea had never built a snowman before and while pictures were being snapped, my DIL was making videos for their memory banks.  I had to laugh for Sweetpea thought the snow looked so soft and fluffy that she took the snow shovel and made a huge pile and then fell into it….to a resounding thud. She also made a snow angel.

The snow is deep and heavy and I know that my son and his daughter were both tired from making that snowman but that didn’t stop them from a little rivalry as suddenly a snowball fight erupted as they were leaving to go back to the motel. They didn’t fool me. They said they were going to go take a nap but son here said that they could tell I was getting weak and in a lot of pain.

This picture below was so funny for just as Sweetpea threw at him, son leaned over to get more snow for another snowball and Sweetpea missed him.

All the trees were bending over from the weight of the snow when we woke up yesterday morning. These pics below were taken then. You can see how by afternoon, the snow was off the bushes. Just look at the pictures above again and see. That is spring in Colorado. The snow melts fast. Today’s forecast is for a high of 61. We will be really slushy and wet today .  Last night we got more snow on top of all that son here had shoveled. But, we here in Colorado will not complain for we need the moisture.

Today they are going into town to look at all the little shops and to visit the Cowboy Connection store. I wanted so badly to see Sweetpea and her Daddy in there but my system just is not cooperating.  They will all come back here again for the day and I think tonight son is cooking pizza and fixing salad for everyone.

Poor Saint Francis, he looks like he is very cold doesn’t he. And look at my bird feeders.  The tops of them and on Saint Francis was all melted off by yesterday evening and now are covered again. I knew it was going to snow some more last night when I saw the radar and it did.

And Wonder Dog just came in from his morning constitutional and is laying in his favorite place to warm up with his hindquarters almost sitting on top of the heater vent. LOL

And my senses are filled with memories…tangible memories that will sustain me in the coming months and will bring that sunshine in when days are tough. Family…a most precious things. We have learned to never take it for granted.

April 4, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

27 Comments »

  1. I am so very happy that you had such a lovely beautiful time….i know that the memories will always be beautifully stored in your loving heart. thank you for sharing your visit..

    Comment by Kate Kresse | April 9, 2012 | Reply

    • thank you Kate. It was absolutely wonderful and filled up my memory banks for future times.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 9, 2012 | Reply

  2. Laundry man? I’ve heard of the milk man and the postman… maybe they were taller and the culprits?
    So thrilled that you had such a spectacular visit, now it is time to rest and recuperate from such an adrenalin laden visit and great laughs as you recall the memories to help soothe the pains that I’m sure are as intense as the first hug. What a joyous reunion. Blessings on the suns rays. 5’10 1/2″ that is a tall and most wonderful gift to all of us, dear one, and whether laundry, milk or postman, clearly the best of the best!

    Comment by SHERRY E SHOWALTER | April 6, 2012 | Reply

  3. Sounds like you having a great time! I’m really happy for you.

    Nancy

    Comment by dogear6 | April 5, 2012 | Reply

  4. It has been wonderful having them here. We spend almost all of the time here at the house for me and it has been great. CJ cooked and we all sat around the table talking and when I got too tired they would come in the bedroom so I could lay down.
    Just cause I am 5′ 10 1/2 ” tall and the laundry man was 3’2″ tall…we can’t eliminate him. LMAO. oh I do love skype. Is really great to use. We will have to try it. Send love to everyone. 😉

    Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 5, 2012 | Reply

  5. I wish I could take some of your pains away Sis! I love you very much and hope the rest of your visit with Doug and family has been spectacular!! Wish it had been longer! And “No the laundry man was NOT your father:)LOL !! You are my little sister and there is no denying that ! I have my skype set up again and would love to skype with you! I send lots of love ——Judy

    Comment by Anonymous | April 5, 2012 | Reply

    • oh thanks Sissy. The visit went well. I just now saw this post. don’t know how I missed it. Maybe one day we can skype. son has to fix it on my computer for he had set me up to watch tv on my computer and now skype won’t come on. LOL hugs

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 12, 2012 | Reply

    • ahh I see now what happened. I replied but hit the wrong button and the reply posted as a regular comment below this one. just look down and you will see where I commented on the day you wrote me. 🙂

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 12, 2012 | Reply

  6. Love all the pics!! So happy you have all your family together again!!! I am envious of the snow:). I am so sorry you have so many problems honey. I keep wondering how you got so many more health issues than the rest of us. Glad you have CJ there to help you—he is amazing.. My life is so crazy and I feel pulled in so many ways that I don’t keep in touch like I should. But I think of you often and send lots of love your way!! Judy

    Comment by Anonymous | April 4, 2012 | Reply

    • Maybe I got your all’s health issues too. Want me to share? LOL Be glad to send you some. Maybe the laundry man really was my father. ROFLMAO hahahah Glad things are going well..sending love to all

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 4, 2012 | Reply

  7. Beautiful in every way!

    Comment by jmgoyder | April 4, 2012 | Reply

  8. Families are a glorious blessing! You will treasure each moment and find much joy and happiness in the memories made. They will last a lifetime!

    Comment by jilllindsey | April 4, 2012 | Reply

    • oh yes Jill. Memories are wonderful and we spent most of our time just right here in the house, which was easier on me. It was so nice to watch son interacting with his daughter. They have done a great job with her.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 5, 2012 | Reply

  9. I have been watching for the news of their arrival. It is so wonderful for you and the sons and Sweet Pea and your DIL too. Great memories will last a lifetime.
    You got the snow to let them see snow and a truly wonderful snowman too.
    I know you have had great pain but when they come home you will be ready for another try at the marathon again of catching up on everything. Hope there will be more pictures too. I wonder as well if he remembers Sweet Pea.

    Comment by Darlene | April 4, 2012 | Reply

    • Dar, the snow was perfect. They had a blast playing in it. Now it is almost gone…like them and the snowman is melting and his head has fallen off. 🙂

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 5, 2012 | Reply

  10. What a lovely and precious reunion. I am so happy for you and your family.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Comment by fgassette | April 4, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks Francine…it is has been such a wonderful reunion.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 5, 2012 | Reply

  11. Congratulations. Enjoy. There is nothing like having the family all together. These minutes will stay with everyone always. And no doubt Sweetpea will one day tell her grandchildren about the snow in Colorado.

    Comment by Ann | April 4, 2012 | Reply

    • Oh Ann, my memory banks are overflowing and it has been such a wonderful visit. One that will fill me up on days I need comforting.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 5, 2012 | Reply

  12. Enjoy every moment!

    Comment by Robyn Lee | April 4, 2012 | Reply

  13. [clappingmyhandswith great gladness] I’ve been checking and checking for this… waiting with bated breath and so very very happy to read of the “hallmark moments” and the great joys that are happening in the winter wonderlands in I do believe the “spring” of new beginnings and great reunions! Oh how I know you must be in great pain from over-doing, and adrenalin surges that those natural chemicals of the brain have allowed you to stay UP and enjoy each moment, each breath, each word and touch of all that is happening there as you absorb your family… May each moment last long and linger like a fine wine, savor it. the pictures speak volumes and the beat of your heart and love can be felt with each word written here. May the joy take away the pain, and you feel the love and embraces and touches long after that little car pulls out of the driveway. With love and much happiness for YOU… brr St Francis looks cold indeed. Sending you warmth on the suns rays from my home to yours. Best to your family. I’m with Jack on keepin warm !

    Comment by SHERRY E SHOWALTER | April 4, 2012 | Reply

    • oh Sherry it has been a wonderful visit. Very tiring and draining for me but the adrenalin kept me going while they were here. They left after lunch. I will miss them terribly but oh am I glad I got to lay my hands on them. Sweetpea is tall and so pretty. Hugs friend

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 5, 2012 | Reply

  14. What a joyous reunion! What fun reconnecting and making new memories. Did Jack remember Sweetpea? Continue to enjoy soaking in their delicious visit!

    Comment by Sue Gottscho | April 4, 2012 | Reply

    • I believe he did Sue. He seemed to remember all of them. It has been a grand visit. ;0

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

