Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

86,400 Seconds-What Do You Do With Them?

Each day, we have a gift of 86,400 seconds. That is an overwhelming number to me and as I laid here this evening, I started thinking about what did I do with all those thousands and thousands of seconds. It is amazing when you start analyzing it and looking at how many minutes you spend online, how many you spend on the phone, how many you spend doing things around the house, how many you spend eating, sleeping….but the big question in my mind was how many minutes do I spend doing things that show others how much I care?

Think of that 86,400  as an inheritance. Think of it in dollar bills and see the value of it in a form that most people understand…money. We would not fritter that much money away and yet we fritter our seconds away like we think we have an endless supply. What happens when the seconds bank goes bankrupt? Have we used those seconds well enough to get a loan on them? Or did we forget the most important parts of those seconds and lose the prime interest on them?

How many times do I tell someone I love them?  Saying “I love you” lasts about two seconds and yet sometimes, we can get so caught up in the world…that we fail to say these words but maybe one time all day. Two seconds out of 86,400.  Does not sound too good does it.

image from vi.sualize.us

How many times have I taken the time to tell people thank you for what they do?  Or to tell people how much they are appreciated?  Or to tell others what a good job they did at this or that?

image from quotesbuddy.com

I started thinking about how many seconds I spend on things that really are not that important and keep me from saying and doing things for those I love. The world is such a frenetic place and people rush, rush, rush and seconds are just ticking by. One day we will look up and the calculator of the seconds left in our life will be almost zero. Then we will wish we had said and done things differently and it will be too late.

image from yippeeo.com

So, as I started looking at my seconds, I realized I needed to balance the scales a little more and put more on the side of saying and doing things that tell others how precious they are to me. If we live each day like it is our last, then the minutes become even more valuable for we will know that we might not have a chance to get the next 86,400 seconds or the next or the next.

video by

I think about my sons and my Sweetpea….if tomorrow never came…would they know how much I love them? Would my family/family of choice know how much I love them? Did I use enough of my 86,400 seconds in one day showing them and telling them? Did I find that doing dishes or cleaning house or working on the computer or reading a book or going places worth more of my seconds than my loved ones?  Oh I hope not. I hope that when my time comes, they will all know how precious they are to me and how joyous they made my life and that the memories will fill their hearts and minds so that it carries on long after I am gone.

video by

Sometimes we can get so caught up in the whirlwind of life that we miss the most important things. Sometimes we find that what we spend a lot of our life on turns out to note be really as important as we thought it was. Use the 86,400 seconds each day enjoying life and the little things in life.

image from bitsandbooks.blogspot.com

And take some of those seconds and dance….dance like no one is looking. If you can’t dance like me…lay there and close your eyes and whirl around the room but just enjoy life and being alive. It is a precious gift and with that give comes 86,400 seconds each day for you. I hope your seconds are filled with wonder, joy, happiness, laughter, tears and peace and most of all ….of dancing to the song of life. I can tell you that simplifying our lives and downsizing and taking the stress off has made our seconds of each day filled with so much joy.

video by

 

April 23, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. Nice post and video.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Comment by fgassette | April 24, 2012 | Reply

  2. reminded me to be thankful always… couldn’t complain! thanks for this!

    Comment by silverlining09 | April 24, 2012 | Reply

  3. Wonderful post! So many ways that we could use those seconds in ways that make our hearts and the hearts of others sing …”I Hope You Dance” is one of my favorite songs; thank you so much for sharing some of your beautiful seconds with us! ~ Julie 🙂 xox

    Comment by Julie Catherine | April 24, 2012 | Reply

    • Glad you liked it Julie. When I read that number I was like OMG. 😉 really makes you think.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 24, 2012 | Reply

  4. Seasons Of Love

    Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
    Six Hundred Minutes
    Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
    Moments so Dear
    Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
    Six Hundred Minutes
    How Do You Measure – Measure A Year?
    In Daylights – In Sunsets
    In Midnights – In Cups Of Coffee
    In Inches – In Miles
    In Laughter – In Strife

    In – Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
    Six Hundred Minutes
    How Do You Measure
    A Year In The Life

    How About Love?
    How About Love?
    How About Love?
    Measure In Love

    Seasons Of Love
    Seasons Of Love

    Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
    Six Hundred Minutes
    Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
    Journeys To Plan

    Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
    Six Hundred Minutes
    How Do You Measure The Life
    Of A Woman Or A Man?

    In Truths That She Learned
    Or In Times That He Cried
    In Bridges He Burned
    Or The Way That She Died

    It’s Time Now – To Sing Out
    Tho’ The Story Never Ends
    Let’s Celebrate
    Remember A Year In The Life Of Friends

    Remember The Love
    Remember The Love
    Remember The Love
    Measure In Love

    Measure, Measure Your Life In Love

    Seasons Of Love…
    Seasons Of Love

    Comment by jilllindsey | April 23, 2012 | Reply

    • I have never seen this one before Jill. Thanks for sharing. I love it.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 24, 2012 | Reply

  5. This reminds me of the song “Seasons of Love”. 525,600 minutes. How do you measure a year in your life? Measure your life in love. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x8iTeDl_Wug

    Comment by jilllindsey | April 23, 2012 | Reply

  6. Great stuff 🙂 I tend to get distracted and squander my time way too much. It goes way too fast! Thanks for the reminder 🙂 Angie

    Comment by ansuyo | April 23, 2012 | Reply

    • same here Angie and I am trying to be more conscious of that. 🙂

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 24, 2012 | Reply

  7. It is amazing what we do with our time think we are busy yet can find where we did things that weren’t very important. I do find living in a building that are mostly American that I do thank people more as I can understand them. My neighbor said she hadn’t heard from me today. I had hit my foot on the bed post really bad. So had it on ice but also had to go to the pharmacy to get Tylenol and she said she would have taken me. She was so sweet she has copd and many more lung diseases. So is not easy for her and watching a grand child who is 9 but sick too. So didn’t want to bother her. It is amazing how ofen we do things and how many times others do for us. I find those moments very well used.

    Comment by Darlene | April 23, 2012 | Reply

    • I am so glad your friends check on you Darlene. Yes it is amazing isn’t it. Hugs hon

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 24, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

