Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Actions Are Louder Than Words

I have said for years that if your eyes and your mouth did not say the same thing to me, then I did not believe anything you said.  It is like that old saying that you do not just tell someone you love them….you show them you love them. I read this yesterday on a Facebook and loved it.

“Love is shown in your deeds, not your words.”

Unfortunately, with the world gone cyber, we do not always see the other person’s eyes to look into and know the truth and so we do have to go by what they do and do not do.

Being authentic and ethical is not in just about what you do but also in what you fail to do. If you are dishonest and fail to go back and correct that, then you are not being authentic. If you say you believe in equality for all but fail to stand up for it when someone is being treated wrong, you are not being authentic or honest. If you say you believe that animal cruelty should stop and yet you do nothing to help stop it, you are not being authentic or honest.  People pick up after a while that you are not what you pretend to be. So, it is not just what you do but what you do not do, too.

image from image from the160acrewoods.com

Living in a cyber world, we can often be duped. This is an example from a group I was in a while back. A woman joined the group and like everyone else, fixed a photo album of her, her husband, doggies, home, etc.  One day, she started in crying that they had no money and had bills to pay, utilities to pay. People being like they are chipped in to help her. It soon became a “we are so poor and have no money saga”.

A short time after that, she posted that she is sitting at home and just utterly down because her computer monitor just went out. This was before the day of using cell phones with applications. There was something about the woman that had raised my suspicions from the beginning as her pictures showed a very nice house with very nice furniture and a husband playing with the dogs and her playing with the dogs and yet as her time in the group progressed, she began saying that they both were so disabled they could not walk or take care of themselves and had been for years. These were recent pictures she posted by the dates stamped on the pictures. But, I did not say anything. I just watched and paid attention.

image from personaldevelopmentmaster.com

Everyone started wanting to donate money to her to get a new monitor. People were so caught up in helping that no one caught something she said. She said “I am sitting here at my computer and the monitor just died and I do not know what I am going to do”.  I looked at my son and said…read this and tell me what you see. He read it and looked at me and said “if her monitor just died…how is she posting?”  I said exactly. So, before the group once again got conned, I told her I had a monitor and son was on the way to the post office to ship it to her. Everyone was thanking me for sending the monitor and this woman blew up on the page telling us “NO!  Don’t send that monitor.”  And her anger at getting caught at her game took over and she exposed herself. People eventually get caught when they are frauds.

But the point of this story is, we can not always see what others are really like or what con they are pulling on us in the cyber world and so many people get taken advantage of. And some people become so duped by the con and caught up in it that they will not believe it even when it is shown to them.

image from tinatruelove.hubpages.com

My son’s will tell you that I have “lie-dar” and can spot a lie at fifty paces. I wish that were totally true but I do have that extra sense that seems to read body language, facial expressions and how people write and know when they are conning. I do not know if that is a gift or not for it makes me one that will say I think you are pulling my leg on this and that will make some people mad. But, I would rather have an honest friend who disagrees with me than one who just says they agree.

image from robert.foo.my

If I have to be untrue to myself to have a bunch of friends, then something is wrong.  It will depend on the type of friends I want and since I prefer honest friends over ones that are not authentic, then my actions will be someone of honesty and authenticity.

image from facebook.com/destructionoflove

No matter what we do in life, it would seem that our actions should match our inner selves and be authentic. We can not just talk the talk. We must also walk the walk and make our words and our actions match. One of my favorite quotes says “to thine own self be true” and you will know if you are not because that little conscience guy will keep bugging you. 🙂

image from danamallach.blogspot.com

April 30, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I have known some also and people sent Money too as well I couldn’t believe it. One lady would go to the place where they borrow money at high rate for a month then have to pay. Well she wouldn’t know what she would do so people gave her money. One time it made me mad that she did these things. She said her vacuum broke and then come to find out after a lady gave her 200 hundred dollars she needed bags. Over and over then she would have the gull to write she bought books and this and that with the money. How they can keep doing it is beyond me. My neighbor is that sort of borrower says she gave her daughter most of her money can borrow from people this and that. All the time. That upsets me more than most other things that people fall for it too. You are very aware and that is good. ty

    Comment by Darlene | May 13, 2012 | Reply

    • I totally understand Darlene. One of my pet peeves is people that take advantage and lie or exaggerate to get things or get attention. hugs hon.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | May 14, 2012 | Reply

  2. Reblogged this on The Beauty of the Practice.

    Comment by drmsyogi | May 2, 2012 | Reply

  3. just outright AWESOME… and oh so true. great story as well one that points to how very easy it is to get “caught up” in the web of others as they exploit for their own gain in the world of cyber-space doings and such. thanks for this, it will benefit many I’m thinkin as well as allow some to reflect sadly with emptier pockets and wounded hearts that began with the desire to be helpful, and now rather than continue with that idea, they may shut down… caution and truth will always be the best when moving mindfully with compassion, truth and honor and you’ve opened eyes and hearts in that light once again…. brilliant.

    Comment by SHERRY E SHOWALTER | April 30, 2012 | Reply

  4. Reblogged this on OnlyArt and commented:
    This is a good message that many people don’t seem to understand based on their actions.

    Comment by OnlyArt | April 30, 2012 | Reply

  5. Good stuff 🙂

    Comment by ansuyo | April 30, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

