Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Life In Perspective

“I once complained I had no shoes…..until I saw someone who had no feet”

 I love this for it puts things into perspective when we complain. Sometimes what we think is so important turns out to not be as important as we thought in the realm of things.  I think about life often for I have fought daily to be here. And the older I get, the more I realize that few things are really important in life and we waste a lot of time on things that seem to possess us and takes part of our lives from us in little chunks without us being aware.

“Life is not measured by the breaths we take but by the moments that take our breath away.”

There are so many free things in life…the smile of a baby, a sunrise, sunset, rainbow, the joy of someone you love when you surprise them…the beautiful moon, your children, grandchildren, and sometimes the least little thing you least expect that takes your breath away and you just sit there in awe.  As I look around our little home, just having this home..this dream..takes my breath away.

“Don’t let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game.”

Dreams are often never realized because we are afraid to make that first step. Fear can be immobilizing. I think I had to reach the point in life that I could say….”ok, what if I lose everything I have?” and the answer finally hit me and it was..”then I will start over..it is only things.”

I love watching the clouds and seeing the faces and the changing. They help me to realize that life changes every minute of every day. Sometimes I want to put on the brakes and say stop…slow down. I really do not like it when things are fast paced, hectic and rushed. Maybe it is my southern blood…I am easy-going and laid back. :) And when things get too hectic and rushed, then I want to just pull off into a room where it is quiet.

“The weak can never forgive. Forgiveness is the attribute of the strong.”—Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi 

Forgiveness…too bad adults can not be as this wee little child here…forgiving always. It is only when we get a little older we carry the grudges. This smiling face is one of the important things in life…my Sweetpea. My sons are and those I love are. All other things come in second. I may not always agree…but I always love.  I love this picture of Sweetpea for she had just discovered she could put this canning jar ring on her arm like a bracelet and sat there putting it on and then squealing with joy and taking it off and putting it back on. Memories……..something that is precious.

To my baby …..with his baby :)

“There are two types of people—those who come into a room and say, ‘Well, here I am!’ and those who come in and say, ‘Ah, there you are.’”—Frederick L Collins

and so I say…as I walk into this room…..my blog..

Ah, there you are..I am so glad to see you.

I realize how blessed I am.  People often look at me with disbelief when I say that because of all my health issues and the chronic pain I live with. But, I am blessed and so fortunate. I could be in even worse shape. I could be living in a nursing home. I could have no family that loves me. I could be where I can not do anything.  So, yes, I am blessed daily…by my sons, my Sweetpea and her mama, by the fact of having this home and living with son, by the ability to still walk a few steps with forearm crutches and still do other things in my power chair. I am blessed that I have very special friends that love me and care about me.  I am blessed by all the things I have to make my life easier..the oxygen, the hospital bed, the gel mattress, the forearm crutches, the TENS unit, the power chair, the nebulizer machine, my medications,….I am blessed to overflowing and know it all comes from the Creator…our Lord.  And I am blessed by all of you that read and comment on here for you touch my heart in ways you will never know.

May 25, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

