Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Never Give Up

Life is full of mountains to climb. No one said it would be easy but the most important thing to remember is that we must never ever give up. We may not win the race, but we must make ourselves finish the race…for then we have succeeded.

I am a fighter and I do not believe in giving up. Do not misunderstand. There are times when I want to lay my head down and just quit but there is something inside me that will not let me. Perhaps I am just hard-headed but I do know this. Inside all of us is a warrior that emerges when things are the toughest. I had someone tell me once that their reason for not fighting was they were not as strong as me. My response was “that is bull”.  It is an easy cop-out to say that. We must face our own foes…no one can do it for us. We can either live our lives letting others take care of us and living off of others or we can be the fighter that is in all of us and fight our own battles no matter what is our handicap or disability.

video by

I have been knocked down many times and some of those times I wanted to stay down but pure grit made me pull myself back up and say “oh no, you are not beating me” and I kept pushing. And I will cross the finish line. It may be like the day I walked for my friends in the Cancer walk back east. My friend had died of cancer and so had her brother and I had promised them I would walk and release balloons for them. And I did ….on these crutches. It was not an easy walk. My other son and grandbaby walked with me when she was between two and three years old. She was swinging her little arms telling me “ou can do it Mimi” as we walked around that track. I was pushing so hard to do it when I felt her little hand on my crutch and felt my son on the other side. And when the track walk became so hard that I was not sure I would make it, I felt my son’s hand in the small of my back…gently pushing.  If you are not going to help someone keep going, then get out of the way and let them go. My son and my sweetpea were helping me go to the finish line.That was the hardest physical thing I had ever done and the others walking the track were long gone and finished by the time I crossed the finish line but people in the stands were still cheering me on. Don’t ever give up.

video by

I feel the same way about giving up on your dreams. As long as you have the dreams, you have hope that they will come true. But, if you give up on them….then the dream is over. When you fall and feel like staying down, force yourself back up one more time. If you fall 7 times …then get up 8 times. As long as you are pulling yourself up..physically and mentally then you have the chance to get that dream…to cross that finish line…to succeed at whatever it is you are trying to do.

video by

When life has you down, remember the words in this next video and plant them in your heart. It is all about attitude. Winners were not born. They are made from pure grit and determination. Believe in yourself and what you can do. Whatever you think you can or can not do…..you will be right. So believe you CAN and never ever give up.

video by

May 26, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Powerful message here. Too often people don’t achieve dreams because they stop 5 minutes before the miracle happens ( a 12 step thing).

    Comment by ansuyo | May 30, 2012 | Reply

    • I so agree. If we just keep taking the steps, it will get here. No one said dreams come true instantly. I beleive we have to do our part too.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | May 31, 2012 | Reply

  2. […] Never Give Up (workthedream.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by As Long As We Have Breath « Work the Dream | May 28, 2012 | Reply

  3. Great videos. Like yourself, they are inspiring.:)

    Comment by Astrojoey | May 28, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

