Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

My First Born, The Back Forty And Gardening

I am sitting here and it is after midnight and I hear the nightly boom boom boom car arrive. About ten minutes later, son comes to my bedroom door and is carrying a flashlight. I asked him was something wrong.  He said..”I was asleep and the loud radio car showed up. (It shows every night after midnight and wakes us up all the time.)  So I got up with my flashlight and went out the front door and listened to see where the car was and spotlighted him.”

I am just smiling cause I can picture son doing this. He says the guy gets out of the car saying “dude, what’s up?”    Son responded  “what’s up???  Loud music after midnight, that’s whats up”  and the guy says  “turn the light off dude” and son says  “turn the music off, duuuude”.  The guy gets back in the car and turns off his music and son turns off the spotlight and walks back inside.

That guy did two things wrong. First was waking up son with loud music after midnight and the second was calling son “dude”. Now son is a pretty formidable man…big and burly…and when you wake him from a dead sleep…he is even more formidable so I imagine that the “dude” got the message cause the music has not come back on.

I am so proud of both of my sons. Both are hard-working, honest and men of integrity. My oldest son chose to take care of him mom after I got disabled and he is a wonderful caretaker. I get the biggest joy out of watching him fix up this place and work in the yard getting it like we want. It is hard when you have no one to help. I am no help and he has bad back problems and other health issues. But, like his mama…he has learned how to work around things.

He made the wooden  entrance boards that say “The Back Forty” and today he had to figure out how to get three long four by four posts that are connected in a U shape across the yard and into the holes he dug. He did it but asked me to come sit on the stool out there in case something happened and he got hurt.

And this is whawt you do when you have no help. Son is attaching boards to balance the posts until the concrete dries.

And here I am in the sun block hat my sister gave me a couple of years ago. They got it in Greece and it totally blocks the sun and the heat from your head. Got on my oxy backpack and sitting on my stool. 🙂

Son came in all excited and grabbed the camera to show me that his seeds in the little started boxes are coming up. It has only been four days. We believe part of our earlier seeds were bad as they did not come up like this. Below is lettuce..three kinds coming up. If you look to the far left you will see tiny green shoots coming up too.

And this below is spinach just starting to come up. 🙂

Son sure does work at all this. He also keeps the house really nice inside. Below is our kitchen. He decided to swap the dining room rug with the kitchen rug and I love it.

June 17, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. […] My First Born, The Back Forty And Gardening (workthedream.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Life In Farmer Brown Land and Other Ramblings « Work the Dream | June 26, 2012 | Reply

  2. Admire your son and his ingenuity 🙂 You really are blessed.

    Comment by Madhu | June 18, 2012 | Reply

  3. Your son sounds just wonderful and deserves a lot of credit – and so do you, for raising such a wonderful son! Have a wonderful day! ~ Julie 🙂

    Comment by Julie Catherine | June 18, 2012 | Reply

  4. We are blessed by our children. And you are blessed. Good luck on the garden!

    Comment by estherlou | June 17, 2012 | Reply

  5. Beautiful post! Awesome Son too!! Have a wonderful Sunday. Renee 🙂

    Comment by reneeboomer | June 17, 2012 | Reply

  6. Really like the new sign. Hope rabbits don’t eat your crops. What would it take to get your wheeling chair fixed so you can use it?

    Comment by Ann | June 17, 2012 | Reply

    • It needs the new power arm…which is about 1500 dollars and probably needs new batteries since it has been sitting there for so long which is about 200. Isn’t that ridiculous that they would rather pat close to six thousand for a piece of junk chair that is not even the right size instead of fixing the 14,000 dollar Jazzy power chair.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | June 17, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

