Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

A Little Nostalgia

I love how something triggers a wonderful memory in us. Yesterday was one of those days.  Son told me that he loved making bread now because of all his memories of me making bread. So, he decided to make some homemade Pita Pockets. Now this was something I had never done, so he was totally on his own on this one.

We use Pita Pockets a lot. The one below is his tuna salad. We also do a nacho type one with hamburger, chili beans, cheese, tomatoes and lettuce. And last nite, we ate meatball pita pockets from his homemade meatballs and spaghetti sauce. YUM.

Sometimes it is food that gives us the good memory or the smell. We ran across a recipe of those no bake chocolate oatmeal cookies from the 70’s.  Anyone remember those?  Takes about ten minutes to make and you drop them by spoonfuls on wax paper. So, we made some last nite and the whole time we were making them, son was talking about how they always had them at school and every church function, someone brought the no bake cookies. And son did a wonderful job making them.

Sometimes things trigger memories. I love dolls and stuffed animals. They are all over my room. When looking for my medical records, we found a box and in it was a doll my grandmother gave son when he was newborn. It is a Madam Alexander doll. He used to be dressed in a little blue suit but somehow that got replaced with a pink suit. I think it may have been his cousin that did that. 🙂   His great grandmother gave him that. So, we hold on to it. We also found in that box the blue crochet afghan that his grandmother (his father’s mother) crochet for him. Memories 🙂

Now, I have some dolls that are not from my childhood but bring back memories from the past because they look like dolls from the past. I have huge..over 3 feet tall…Raggedy and Andy cloth dolls. I collect Raggedy Ann and Andy things and so son helped me hang them on the wall with net so that they looked even cuter.

And I have a Little Lulu doll that is like the one my grandmother gave me when I was little. So, it brings fond memories. The Peter Rabbit my son gave me with a Potter book and it brings back memories of being a child. And of course we all know who Roadrunner is. Wonderful memories always help when you are laying here in pain and need something to focus on.

And even Gabriel, the doll I won..the reborn…reminds me of wonderful memories of holding my sons and holding sweetpea when she was little.

So many things can trigger memories….the smell of cologne, smell of lotion, the smell of food cooking, a familiar clothing, the sound of a voice or laughter or even tears..will take us to a place in our hearts filled with joy. Son and I made the puzzle table in the living room because of the memories of when they were kids and working on jigsaw puzzles. We both enjoy it so much that he is making a table to fit there where we have the card table. Realizing that something brought you great joy in the past is a good reason for revisiting it in the present. I do not mean live in the past but am talking activities. Son loved that I cooked bread and so he wants to cook bread. We loved doing puzzles and we still do…it was a memory brought to life.

Talk about the smell of cooking triggering a wonderful memory. If I awaken to the smell of bacon cooking…it takes me back to my grandmother’s house. We always woke up every morning to Sinie cooking bacon and eggs and so the memory returns every time I smell it. We do not cook bacon often here and so it is a dual treat when son does.

Have you ever thought about the things that give you a wonderful memory?  Emeraud cologne takes me to my grandmother, Juicy Fruit Gum to my other grandmother, the smell of lavender, the smell of baby lotion, the smell of Old spice cologne….all take me to memories of family members. Certain expressions on both my sons remind me of when they were little. Life is full of precious memories.  When someone leaves…they can not take their sounds, their smells, their laughter, their tears…their words.  They fill the air around us.

June 21, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Love the lamps 🙂

    Comment by ansuyo | June 28, 2012 | Reply

  2. No saying what will trigger memories. Music and songs are like a background score in my life and never fail to set off a memory trail 🙂

    Comment by Madhu | June 22, 2012 | Reply

    • so right Madhu. Many things from scents to music to just an image can trigger a memory for me. 🙂

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | June 24, 2012 | Reply

  3. Memories are so wonderful. Sometimes the triggers, food, a song or perfume, come at unexpected times and places. Thanks for sharing yours.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Comment by fgassette | June 21, 2012 | Reply

    • yes they can Francine and I love it when it happens. 🙂

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | June 24, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

