Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

What Are Your Talents?

Every one of us has a talent. Yes….that means you too.  We all have a talent at something. Some of us may be singers, dancers, actors, leaders, speakers or even public figures. Some of us may be talented at being a mother or at being a caretaker or foster parent. Some of us are talented cooks or designers.  Others may be talented at writing, drawing, painting, sculpture or other artistic endeavors. Some of us are talented at listening, or at comforting others. Some of us are talented in math, some in science, some in technical things such as electronics or engines. My ex’s father was one of those men that was so talented in auto mechanics that he could set the timing on a car’s engine by ear. Never used a timing device and when they checked behind him it was right on the mark.  Some of us are talented in the medical field or the therapy field. Some of us are talented at sports and at teaching others how to play sports. Some of us are talented at teaching and some of us our talent lies in animals and the environment. I could go on and on..but we all have a talent at something and sometimes we have more than one talent. And sadly, some people are talented at manipulation, lying and deceiving….not a talent we want to foster.  Take your good talents and show them to the world.

image from 5fever.com

And yet, amazingly, I hear people tell me all the time that they are not talented. I see great talent in them but they do not see it in themselves. I have a friend who is the most loving, mothering type of friend. You walk into her house and it is like going to a spa for she is continually taking care of you and making sure you are comfortable and have all sorts of amenities while at the same time she is taking care of her children. I have another friend who is one of the most talented inspiration speakers and writers and yet she does not even realize it.

So, learning what our talents are is very important and no talent is too small. We will not all be stars or famous for our talent….at least not world-wide. But, we certainly will be famous with our families and loved ones and those around us if we choose to foster our talent. Sometimes we can waste our time wanting the talent others have instead of cultivating our own talents. I will never be a singer…much as I would love to be. I could spend my time trying to be something I can never be or I can foster my own talents.

image from 5fever.com

Sometimes we have to let go of a talent because we can not longer do it like we did. I had to. I was a teacher of small children. I won awards and I loved it. I loved involving the parents and getting them to be part of their child’s education and I loved teaching in a way that reached all children. Most learners are either auditory or visual learners but a smaller percentage are kinesthetic learners.

Kinesthetic learning (also known as tactile learning) is a learning style in which learning takes place by the student carrying out a physical activity, rather than listening to a lecture or watching a demonstration. People with a kinesthetic learning style are also commonly known as “do-ers”.

Wikipedia

I am a hands on learner. I used to almost cry when I had to sit in lectures of boring professors but let me put my hands in it and I was a happy camper and learned quickly. So, I taught to the kinesthetic learner for I knew the auditory and visual learner would get it …and also, those ones that were kinesthetic would get it too. And then I became ill and disabled and could no longer teach. I felt like I had lost the only talent I had.

And one day, a friend sent in my writing to the printing company that handled several small town newspapers back east where I lived and they liked it and I discovered I had another talent which was writing and started writing for the papers. So, the moral here is….if you can no longer do what you used to …find another way to do it. Discover your other talents because you do have them. And have faith in yourself. If you are unsure what your talents are…ask you family or loved ones and see what they tell you. And most of all believe in yourself.

See this little girl below. She is seven years old and what a talent she has dancing. One of the things that makes her so good is she believes she is good and it shows all over her. It is amazing how children can have such faith and belief in themselves. My sons believed that their two by four plane would fly and they worked hours building it. And it was a dud. It fell right at their feet because it was so heavy. But, you know what….that did not diminish their faith. It made them look at it and say..we need to do this a different way. It is too bad as adults we become so cautious and fearful and do not step out on our dreams or our talents and use them for fear of failing or being laughed at or others not liking us. Bring out the child in you and allow yourself to use your talents and if you fall down…do like the child would do and get up and brush yourself off and try again. And like Lilyanna below…have faith in yourself. Believe you can do it.

video by

June 23, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

7 Comments »

  1. Who knew that tap dancing was still alive?

    Comment by Russel Ray Photos | June 25, 2012 | Reply

  2. I love the Mark Twain quote! I think much talent is lost and therefore much of who we are due to not believing in ourselves.

    Comment by Daphne Shadows | June 24, 2012 | Reply

  3. Wonderful and inspiring! It took me a long time to really believe in my own talents – I was taught to praise everyone else’s, and to down-grade my own. To believe in yourself takes a lot of work, persistence in the face of challenges, faith and in my case, daily affirmations of my own worth. And today, I am finally looking towards self-publishing my own book of poems, which goes into production next week! A lifelong dream is coming true. All it takes is to believe … and then do whatever is in our own power to help make our dreams come true …. ~ Julie xoxox

    Comment by Julie Catherine | June 24, 2012 | Reply

    • WHOOO HOOO!…I am so excited for you. Can’t wait to see it. Yes dreams do come true..in God’s time is my saying. And yes it takes constant affirmation that we are worthy. Hugs my friend.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | June 24, 2012 | Reply

  4. Great post!

    Comment by Naomi Baltuck | June 23, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

