Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Everyone Has A Story

When I watch people and I used to love to just sit and watch people…in the mall, in the park..wherever.  I have found that everyone has a story but we often do not take the time to even look. We are so busy that we zoom on by.

When was the last time you really looked at those around you…much less strangers?  When was the last time you noticed the slump in a friend’s shoulders, or the held back tears in another person, or the extra sparkle in another person?  Were you so wound up and involved in what happened to your day that you saw no one else?  Have your own children wanted your attention and you got mad at them because you were so busy? Have you ever watched your loved ones and seen things you had not noticed before? Everyone truly does have their own story….even the strangers on the street.

One of the things I have learned through the years is that people do one of two things…they either act on something or they react to something. And learning to tell the difference takes really watching them and trying to look behind the action to see.

The cashier in the store that was so rude to you may have just lost a loved one, or had a sick child at home that they were worried about, or had a health issue or any number of things. When I realize these things can be the cause of people’s behavior, it helps me to understand and not get so upset with them. For, if I do not look for the reason behind, then I allow myself to react to what they said and it becomes reaction…reaction…reaction and no one wins.

I watched a video of a song and I think the name was “hello in there” but it was about how society no longer values and cherishes the seniors in this world. And so they do not bother talking to them and they live the loneliest life of all. I thought how sad. The song went on to say we should stop and say “hello in there” and sit down and talk to them. We would be amazed at what they know…for everyone has a story.

video by

I love the part about old trees grow stronger but people just grow lonely waiting on someone to say…hello in there.  I want to be a tree with my roots deep in the ground and my branches reaching out full to cover all those I love from the storms. I want to have blooms with wonderful scents that make you all smile when you see me and smell the fragrance. And I want my branches to be filled with love that say “hello in there”  to those that sit quietly and no longer tell their dreams or what is going on in their life.

Do we take the time to really look?  Or are we missing the most wonderful people in the world who are sitting there not saying a word…like some “forgotten dream”?  Are we so absorbed in our lives that we see no one else? For everyone has a story and many no longer talk for there is no one to listen.  If we are so caught up in life that we do not pay attention to people’s silence, then we certainly are not paying attention to their words and both the silence and the words tell a story.

image from mayaxhoyt.blogspot.com

Everyone has a story. Sometimes it is good…sometimes it is sad…sometimes it is bad…sometimes it is funny…but it is still uniquely each person’s story. I believe we were given two ears and one mouth for a reason…that we should listen twice as much as we talk. But just think what you miss. One Thanksgiving, we ate at the community dinner and a family sat next to us. They had their great-uncle with them and he sat there eating quietly. My son started talking to him and mentioned airplanes and the man’s face lit up. He started telling us the story about when he was a pilot in the war and about all the places he saw and what it was like. His own family stopped talking and sat there listening in wonder. One of them told him afterwards that they had never heard that story before and he told them “you never asked”.  What we miss when we allow the world to become too busy for those around us….for everyone has a story. What is yours?  One day, we may all want someone to listen to our story.

 

June 30, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. This resonated in me as we are caring for my mother-in-law who has dementia. She is still a funny, amazing lady.

    Comment by ansuyo | July 10, 2012 | Reply

  2. Another wonderful, thought-provoking post with so much wisdom in your words. Thank you for this. xox

    Comment by Julie Catherine | July 2, 2012 | Reply

  3. You never asked, that is a really great answer. I really hate to say this(I really do). But I am getting older. And often even tho I have a 17 year old daughter, some of her friends say “Well Ms. L times have changed. Really now? My Brei has come to repect my knowledge, and some of my old fashion ways. Yesterday, her boyfriend was here, he is leaving tomorrow to go to Boot Camp for the US Army. He was complaining that my daughter never called him. She said to him, “I don’t call boys”. “If they want to talk to me, they call me”. LOL He said “Where did you get that idea?”. She said “Mom”. I explained to him, that Brei was raised by older parents, and was taught that real ladies do not call Men. If a young man was interest in her then he had to do the reaching out to contact. He thought about that one. And said “Yeah, that makes sense”. I told him, that I felt girls that called young men were just a little too eager, and were setting themselves up for being thought of less than a young lady. Then I told him, it is a southern thing. LOL I always pull the southern card. LOL

    Comment by Janet | July 1, 2012 | Reply

  4. There’s been a lot of talk lately about how the elders in our society are brushed aside and I’m glad. Maybe more people are paying attention to someone other than themselves. 😉
    I try to see how everyone around me is doing. Or, even if they don’t want to talk about it and need some cheering up, that works too. We’re all human and the whole purpose to living is human interaction, I believe.

    Comment by Daphne Shadows | June 30, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

