Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Just One Good Thing

There is not a day goes by, no matter how bad it is, that I can not come up with just one good thing. There have been times the whole world felt like it was falling down on me and yet, somewhere….somehow…I could find one good thing to hold on to. It might have been the wonderful feeling of holding my grand baby, or a picture that made me smile or a smell that brought me a memory. It might have been something so tiny as to have been one or two words from someone, such as “love you” or just a smile from someone.

image from alpy.typepad.com

I truly believe that “one good thing”  is the faint glimmer of hope and hope is what keeps us going. Notice the image above says once you “choose” hope…it is a choice. We can choose to be happy and have hope or we can choose to see only the bad. We can choose to look for that one good thing.When I got the pulmonology results, I realized that I can do one of two things. I can give up and let it just take me. Or, I can fight. And a friend sent me the picture of the chick on one leg with the words to not give up, to keep my mojo on and as long as there was life, there was hope. That was my match in the dark…my one good thing that I focused on that day.

image from theskinnyonline.blogspot.com

I love this quote above. Which percent are you living in? Are you stuck in the ten percent and living only with what happens to you and making that your life? Or you in the 90 percent and finding that one good thing to focus on and to get your mojo going so that it does not bring you down. My mojo is attitude and my attitude is that no one but God knows when I will die and so I am leaving that to Him and I am focusing on taking care of me and on living. What are you focusing on?

I believe it is all about attitude and all about choice. We can choose to hold on to that one small good thing and let it begin to lift us up in the midst of hard times or we can dredge up all the bad we can think of and smother that one good thing so that we can not longer see it. We can be victims or we can be survivors and then thrivers.

Now, do not misunderstand me. I have known people who could take a roaring bonfire and stomp on it until it was nothing but smoke and smoldering embers and if they could do that to a big thing, just think what they could do to just one small good thing.

I find that some people love to be bitter and sad and down. I believe it has become a way of life for them and if you try to do something to lift them up or to make them smile, they will tear it down quicker than you can say jack rabbit because they simply do not want to be happy. Perhaps it is the victim mentality. I really am not sure. I just know that some people love being in the role of “poor so and so” and look at all they suffer with. And that is a choice. And then the rest of is, we look for that one good thing to focus on to help us make it through the hard times. It is the choice we make because staying sad, beaten down, hurt, etc becomes like the cocoon to us that we must break out of and that one good thing…that little spark of hope is what does it.

image from my-hope-quotes.blogspot.com

There are just some people in the world who love to magnify problems and to get everyone feeling sorry for them. If they have a problem, do not bother offering a solution for they will come up with another problem because they like having problems to complain about and that preys upon those with kind and generous hearts who can not see that people are playing games. Kind hearted, generous people who only want to help someone they think is having trouble do not look for nor do they see the inconsistencies in stories. They do not see that the dramatic story does not pan out like they were being told and the person is not as sick as they were told or that the house was not as damaged as they were told or the car. They are not looking for that and get taken advantage of. And then, I think even when they do start to get the inkling of the truth, denial sets in for if they admit that the person was leading them on, then it means that they allowed themselves to be taken advantage of and so they will fight the truth and deny it because they are too embarrassed to admit that they let someone deceive them. And that is a choice. Life is about choices.

image from http://www.picturesdepot.com

So, like the poem that talks about “just for today”…..just for today, no matter what comes your way, try choosing to see something positive and holding on to it as you ride through the storm.

image from https://www.facebook.com/JustForTodayTheNaWay

Survivors are not born…they are made and created through the hard times we endure and survivors hold on to that one good thing that seems to flicker just like that little flicker of hope. That is what makes life good even in the midst of the storms.

image from annieslittlefootprints.blogspot.com

When you have a choice of choosing to look for that one good thing or to keep your blinds shut and sit surrounded with only the darkness of bad things…always choose the good for it is like lighting a match in a dark room….the light will outshine the dark if we let it and when that little match of hope shines, who knows what else good you will see.

image from uncommondescent.com

July 2, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Wow wow wow! I’m probably going to reblog this one too, after I quit crying. Thank you so much for sharing your incredible journey. Angie

    Comment by ansuyo | July 10, 2012 | Reply

  2. Great post! I so agree with you! It’s something we need to hear again and again. My mom used to say, “Look for the bright spots.” I wrote a post about that, if you want to check it out.

    http://naomibaltuck.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/bright-spots-lucky-ducks-and-the-liebster-award/

    Comment by Naomi Baltuck | July 4, 2012 | Reply

    • oh I loved this post Naomi. I had to reblog it…I hope you did not mind for the words are wonderful. I love your blog. Sometimes because I am so drained I do not get everyone read like I want and I love when people give me links like you did to special posts. 🙂

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 6, 2012 | Reply

  3. Awesome post, Deb! I am a survivor, and have learned to look for that ‘one good thing’ always – it makes my life so much less stressful and happier, no matter what I’m dealing with.

    I have a favorite quote that I keep handy and visible for those days I find myself struggling: “One day the sun will shine again. Make sure there is a part of you that is still ready.” – “Be Calm”, Daisy Seal. This never fails to revive my sense of hope. ~ Love, Julie xox

    Comment by Julie Catherine | July 2, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

