Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

The Canvas of Our Lives

We come into this world and our lives are a blank canvas. Each thing we do is a brush stroke on that canvas and sometimes we paint over brush strokes as we carry on life. But, even painting over another stroke is part of the canvas and what makes the picture unique…makes our canvas us.

image from aerieartgarden.com

“I paint my past with hues of grace, removing all regret. I color my future in shades of love, removing all fear. The moment is now, and it’s time for broad brushstrokes of hope.~ Thomas Waterhouse

Life is short. We tend to think we have forever when we are young but no one has a guarantee and so each day should count. If we spend our lives trying to be something we are not or searching for that happiness that we think is “out there” instead of realizing that it lies within us, we are wasting our time. This is the real deal and there are no dress rehearsals. We do not get to go back and redo much as we would like to at times. Sometimes we can let the world take us over and not realize that we have lost our lives in the process.

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition.~Steve Jobs~

I hear people talk about this book or that book to live by and yet I have found that if I live honestly, with integrity and compassion for others, life is so simple. Sometimes we can sit in envy of what others have and lose sight of what we have ourselves. And sometimes we can try to be what we think people want us to be instead of being ourselves. I have learned that the most important things are honesty, integrity, compassion and love for one another. All the rest will fall into place.

“Have the courage to say no. Have the courage to face the truth. Do the right thing because it is right. These are the magic keys to living your life with integrity.” ~ W. Clement Stone~

There is a poem that says “I shall pass this way but once”  and that is our lives. We should make the most of our lives because we can not come back and redo. I love this poem.

” I shall pass this way but once;
any good therefore that I can do,
or any kindness that I can show
– let me not defer nor neglect it,
for I shall not pass this way again. ”
any good therefore that I can do,
or any kindness that I can show
– let me not defer nor neglect it,
for I shall not pass this way again. ”

I personally believe that our lives should be lived with kindness and helping others. We can not do it later for that will be too late. And if we do not teach our children love, compassion and kindness then how can we expect them to do it? We are role models whether we want to be or not…to loved ones and even to strangers that may see us on the street.

“How could our hearts be large enough for heaven if they are not large enough for earth? The only country I am certain of is the one here below. The only paradise I know is the one lit by our everyday sun, the land of difficult love, shot through with shadow. The place where we learn this love, if we learn it at all, shimmers behind every new place we inhabit.”

~Scott Russell Sanders~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And a little note to let you all know that today is the team of doctors day. Will update when I get back but it will be late in the day.  I am glad today is the day. I woke up with my heart rate 57…and my blood pressure through the roof. It has been that way for the past few days so I hope they have a solution.

July 12, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. I have just discovered you from Noeleen, Words Fall From My Eyes… I have been reading your blog with tears in my heart… truthfully in my eyes, also. I admire you, you are what I call a very special person… I ‘know’ people who are very special ‘when I feel them’. Just know that someone you don’t know has been thinking of you… someone you don’t know cares for you… someone you don’t know will always have a prayer in her heart for you. Love, Gloria/Granny Gee happycolorsandgrannygee.blogspot.com

    Comment by grannyscolorful | July 15, 2012 | Reply

    • I am sorry I am just now answering this but have had a lot physically going on and not felt well. Thank you so much for your words and it is a nice feeling to know someone is thinking of me. Hugs and love back atcha. And love your blog. 😉

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 19, 2012 | Reply

      • Thank-you for liking my blog, it means alot to me. I will always think of you. I hope you can feel much better. :)))

        Comment by grannyscolorful | July 19, 2012

      • thank you …same to you. And yes am feeling better from two days of doctors. LOL

        Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 22, 2012

      • :))) I’m glad you are feeling better. I can understand how it is with tests, scans, so forth… I went through such things some years ago. I have to say I admire your courage, and I know your sparkly red leg brace is beautiful.

        Comment by grannyscolorful | July 22, 2012

  2. I have to include God and faith to mine but great post

    Comment by sweetpea2200 | July 13, 2012 | Reply

    • ahh sweetpea..I always have to include God and faith in mine for without them I would be lost. Every time I see your name I think of my granddaughter..that I call sweetpea. 🙂

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 19, 2012 | Reply

  3. Prayers are with you still…we shall not quit. love the write today so much truth and such a simple way to do and be what is rigth.

    Comment by lenwilliamscarverl | July 12, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

