Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Choices

image by randywilson.hubpages.com

Every day our life is filled with choices from the moment we get up until we go to bed. We choose what to eat, when to eat, who to talk to, who not to talk to, who we love, who we like….all choices. Our choices make our lives and make us who we are. I get up every morning determined to make the day a good one. I choose to see the positive and I choose to laugh and to enjoy my life and my home. I also choose to stand by those I love, to support them and to love them.

Some people do the price game when it comes to life. How much is a friend or loved one going for these days?  Is money more important than those that love you. Are you willing to throw them away for the money?  That is a choice and when we make choices we must be willing to take the consequences that come…good or bad.  If we are honest and ethical, not everyone will agree but it is a choice…one I choose to live by.  If we lie..that is a choice and it can affect our lives for the rest of our lives.

We try to teach our children the values to live by and when they are grown…if they use them is up to them. That is a choice they make and the choice comes with being responsible for your actions. So, when it comes to thinking about your life and how much you may or may not have left…what choices would you make differently?  Are the choices more meaningful now?  Do you think about what the long-term consequences may be?

When we are children…we think as children and do not think of the future. To give an example, when I was little and my older sisters were going off to the movie with friends and I was given the choice of having ice cream or going…I chose ice cream. I did not think about what I would miss or that I would not get to go with them. My reasoning was not developed. But as adults and especially now for me, I now think about what could happen after I make a choice.

I was watching a Laverne and Shirley episode and Lenny and Squiggy had set Laverne up with this guy who only wanted to take sexual advantage of her because the guy scared them and threatened to get them fired. He was a very tall and big guy that could easily overpower Laverne. After it was all over and they did go back and rescue her, she asked them why they did that. They told her he was going to get them fired. Her response was that if they really loved her and was her friend…that if the choice was someone threatening to get them fired or protecting a friend, she thought a friend should be more important. I thought about that and thought…many will say well I can not afford to lose my job. But my thought was…can you afford to do something so unethical as to set a friend up with someone or something that will hurt them and live with yourself?  Like I said earlier..what is the going price for loved ones and for friends. How much do they mean to you?  If it meant turning your back on your loved ones..on people that really loved you..and getting a couple thousand dollars…which would you choose?

I choose to remain honest and ethical and to be there for my loved ones. I choose things that money can not buy…love, affection, laughter, loyalty, trust, ethics, honesty, friends, loved ones….all the things that there is no price tag on. When we just agree with those we love even when we believe that what they are doing is wrong…we are not doing them any favors.  We are setting them up to be hurt. If there is a choice over truth or lie…it should always be truth.

We make choices…and our choices make us who we are. We all have that inner conscience but..and this is a big BUT….if we ignore and beat it down long enough…that conscience will quit telling us that we are going down the wrong path. We have to keep is alive and listen to it for if we do not, the whole course of our lives is changed.

July 14, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Brilliantly said! I so agree with you! 🙂 xox

    Comment by Julie Catherine | July 15, 2012 | Reply

    • Oh thank you. I think when we become chronically ill we learn more about choices than we did before. 🙂

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 19, 2012 | Reply

  2. Awesome just awesome… “how much is a friend goin for these days”… now that just had me on the floor, but truth is that is the truth! when I read things and hear please of “I need, I hope to get, Oh can you help me with”, only to find out that those in need are no worst off than the rest of us, and want to get ahead, get a new computer, get something that we all could use, and use others in the process… how much for integrity , honor and work ethic, even those who are ill, have disabilities that they work through and above to keep on keeping on, preserving honor and trust and loyalties to themselves and those they extend a hand to… when we reach out to another in times of true need as we know others will benefit from gas, a hotel, an ear to listen, and will in turn pay it forward with a pair of boots, a blanket or another tank of gas… oh I miss back when… thank you friend during those and these times of great sickness you still find the strength to step up and stand tall on those 4arm crutches with honor and dignity.. I am blessed to call you”friend”

    Comment by SHERRY E SHOWALTER | July 14, 2012 | Reply

    • You got it sherry..how much for integrity and honesty and honor and work ethic…seems some people are easily bought. HUgs and love to you my friend. 🙂

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 19, 2012 | Reply

  3. This is so true!

    Comment by Naomi Baltuck | July 14, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

