Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Love People Enough To Tell Them The Truth

image from https://www.facebook.com/jennifer.styers

I saw this tonight. Oh my, what awesome words. I have always tried to be honest with those I love….so if any of the people I know have gotten mad because I was honest with you…remember this….I loved you enough…I had enough love and belief in you to be honest with you and I believed that you were person enough to handle it. That is a lot of love.

And when we get mad because someone  loves us enough to be honest with us, we need to ask ourselves…are we mad at the honesty or the fact that someone dared to tell us the truth even when it was telling us what we were doing is wrong?  That is a pretty tough question is it not? Are we mad because we are like the child who got caught with the hand in the cookie jar and now others will know or are we mad because we do not like honesty.

I believe the best gift I can give those I love is honesty for then there is no confusion, no middle ground, nothing except the truth between us. I had a friend back east some years back who was going to pretend to be having a fling with a friend of her boyfriends…to make him jealous. I told her I thought she was wrong, that it was deceptive and it would really mess up her relationship. She got mad because I would not support her in this and help and she quit speaking to me.  She also lost her boyfriend because he learned the truth after a long time and he told her he could not stand liars and manipulators.

I loved her enough to tell her the truth knowing full well that the friendship might end. But, I could not keep a friendship based on fake or lies or anything else. I still love her.  If we really love someone, we are honest. We do not agree just because we do not want them mad, or we want to be liked or any other reason. We agree when we believe it to be right and only then. I had someone tell me a while back that if you disagreed with what a friend was doing then you were not a friend and no way could you love them. I said you know what..I disagree with things my sons do and I love them dearly and they disagree with things I do and they still love me. That is part of life and love.

July 14, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. You see your best friend’s husband kissing another woman. What do you do? So many times my current friends will tell me that it’s not my place to tell my best friend what I saw. That they wouldn’t tell their best friend, its none of their business.
    I do not understand this. Honestly, I would want someone to tell me. Crush me, destroy me, break my heart – as long as it’s with truth. Don’t give me happiness via a lie. Its only an illusion and will never be real.

    Comment by Daphne Shadows | July 17, 2012 | Reply

    • Exactly daphne and I believe if you really love someone…you tell them the truth and trust they are adult enough to handle it. I would be furious if my friends did not tell me what you mentioned above and I found out later everyone knew but me for then not only would my “husband” of that scenario have hurt me dearly..so would my friends have hurt me. Had that happen before..maybe why I stay single now. LOL

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 19, 2012 | Reply

      • Ouch. Sorry you had to experience that one! Not a happy day.

        Comment by Daphne Shadows | July 21, 2012

      • I so agree daphne…and my creed is do not lie to me and do not steal from me…two things I can not stand.

        Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 22, 2012

  2. I really agree with this – my rule is honesty, tempered with diplomacy and tact, and given with love …. it’s not always easy, but it’s always the best way. Some people don’t want to hear it, no matter how gently it’s said, which is sad, but that is their choice. It’s my choice to be honest. Great post, Deb! ~ Love, Julie xox

    Comment by Julie Catherine | July 15, 2012 | Reply

    • oh I love that Julie and what a great way to put it. and I so agree…it is my choice to be honest..it is theirs to hear it or not. Hugs hon.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 19, 2012 | Reply

  3. What a brilliant quote! Thanks for another inspiring post DanLrene

    Comment by Madhu | July 15, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

