Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Violence in Our Words

I love to ponder things and today is no different. I was thinking about our words and do they affect our mind-set and our moods and feelings towards others. Have you ever thought about how many violent words are used today just in general conversation?

1. My head is about to explode.

2. He knocked me off my feet.

3. Those words stabbed me in the heart.

4. They crushed their opponent.

5. Her voice cut deep like a sharp steel knife.

6.  boy those words slapped me down

7.you ripped my heart out and tore it open

8. he hammered his point home

9. it knocked me out of my seat

10. I blew them away today with my paper

11.  you’re killing me here

12.  My face feels like someone bashed it with a stick.

or at an athletic event:

13. Kill em!!! Kill em!!

What if each of these were an actual physical blow to someone. Would we use them so easily? Have we become so desensitized to violence that we do not realize that we are using violent words to describe things in our lives? I read once about the theory that our thoughts and words convey energy and that if they are negative thoughts and words, then we are promoting negative energy for ourselves and those around us. It makes me wonder.

When we are so angry and think hateful thoughts about someone…are we sending them negative energy and actually affecting their lives? I know we are affecting our own with such negative feelings and words. People always laugh at me because I say I do not do anger and hatred but it is true. I just do not have the energy to put into those emotions and it does take energy.

But, what bothers me is the ease at which we say such violent descriptive words and say them with such casualness.  I am just as guilty as the next person. I have said my head was about to blow off my shoulders and other phrases. And yet many of these words have the connotation of blood and death and sorrow and pain and we use them as if they were commonplace words.  What has happened to “that hurt me” or “my head hurts” instead of the other words? Has the media so desensitized us that we not longer hear the words with their true definition?  Have we become so numb to the horrors of violence that we no longer hear it in the words the imply maiming, hurting, and violence? And are we passing this on to our children.

Just as I said yesterday that it is up to us to change the hate and anger to love…I believe it is also up to us to try to remove all the violence from every day life. It is there enough without us carrying it on in our general conversations without intending to.

image from havenuproot.wordpress.com

July 16, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. GREAT BLOG today, and deep thoughts! it just may be that those intense words add “depth” to a persons meaning and what they are wanting to express to another, particularly from a distance where visual clues are not available or sound… saying you have an ache, a head ache, is rather bland vs. saying you have a freaking headache that is likened to a bomb going off in your brain… it rather makes if a visual for others and they can “get it” can empathize with it and know to give you some room, some love or just plain out step softly… ah but to say you do not do anger? now that is to say something, and yet, let me talk with you about medical systems, and physicians who do not care, those who take advantage of those who do not see through thin veils of need vs. want and I will see eyes of anger, and a steel magnolia as we discuss things! yes a thought provoking blog today my friend, we are all connected and yet need to shield well as the energy and vibrations affect and can infect others with words, actions and deeds… blessings to you and those who stop by here for a respite and a wonder or ponder along life’s journey…

    Comment by SHERRY E SHOWALTER | July 16, 2012 | Reply

    • Oh Sherry, I may do a brief momentary anger but I do not carry anger like I see so many nor do I get on long rants of anger. I learned a while back that it only made my health worse. I just do not have the strength my friend and it takes too much of my time of which I value even more now with my health like it is. There was a time I could be a crusader for the unjust but now it takes all I have to fight my illnesses. Do I get a spark of anger at health care issues..yes..and then it is gone..because if I can not change it..I do not carry it.
      As far as violent words…the real thing was that we all..all use them commonplace and not meaning them violently but the words have become desensitized to us so just like the starving children shown on tv shows around the world or the horrific crimes plastered on news media sites and tv. We no longer recoil in horror when we see them and we no longer feel the actual horror that those words used to invoke many years ago before they became commonplace. Using these words is as commonplace as the pants we see hanging off the hineys of our children and yet most people do not even react. I really don’t think people think about the words they use..it is just part of the lingo of today and yet they are words that describe violence and not used in a violent scenario. amazing to me.
      hugs my friend.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 19, 2012 | Reply

  2. I strongly agree with you, Deb. People don’t realize what power words have. Here is a post from my archives called “The ‘S’ Word.”

    http://naomibaltuck.wordpress.com/2012/01/11/67/

    Comment by Naomi Baltuck | July 16, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you for the link Naomi. I am just now getting to read your link. Yes..the power of words..exactly what I was trying to convey. If our emotions put into words have power …are we actually inflicting suffering on others? Great blog and says a lot of what I was saying.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 19, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

