Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Just Rambling

Today is one of those days where my thoughts keep drifting from one thing to the other. Son and I were just talking about how young our country really is and yet look at the shape we are in. I told him that I was going to tell him something that would really show you how young this country is. My granny Bellamy…my great grandmother….was five years old during the Civil War. And yet, when I was a very young girl…she was still alive. She died when I was five. Oh the stories I wish I had been old enough to listen to about her growing up.

Now, think about this…she was born in the 1860’s and yet was still alive in the early 1950’s. Can you just imagine the things that she saw and the changes.  Now think about less than 100 years earlier…we became a country. We really are a young country.

I thought a lot about Granny Bellamy today as I helped make bread. She was the one that often babysat us and I remember things she did like when my parents would leave and tell her we had to eat all our vegetables to get dessert. She knew we hated those big fat green peas and so would tell us we had to eat all we could keep on the butter knife. Now, that was a sight to behold for those peas just would not stay on that knife.

Families have changed so much since my Granny Bellamy days. Family took care of family and stayed close. Now, with the economy, many families are one parent or when there are both parents, both must work to make ends meet. And so many children are not growing up with that family connection at home. Many are latch key children and come home to empty houses until the parents get home after work hours.

It seems like families are now separate units rather than one huge family. Seldom do you see families coming together working to keep the family homestead or the family business or working together putting up the crops or building or fixing the homes of each other. Families move far apart from each other. I look and here I am way out here in Colorado and my youngest son and his family are still back in Georgia. And oh how I miss them.  We would love them to move out here and they would love us to move back there. In a perfect world, we would all be living on bunch of land, growing food and looking after each other.

As you can tell, my mind is just rambling and mostly on family and love and the things money can not buy. It is ironic to me how we start out in life as young adults with all these big dreams..wanting the huge house and the fancy car and make lots of money and then when we get older…we realize that the most important things are not in the “super sized”  but rather in things that money can not give us. Son and I had the huge house…and it was not warm at all. Now we live in this small cottage and it is filled with love, laughter and life and every room is used every day.

I find myself grabbing not at minutes but at seconds…wanting to catch every word, every look, every moment with my children and grand baby and those I love. But time has a way of zooming on by whether we hold on with both hands or not. And my views on life have changed over the years to where what was once important…no longer is. What I cherish now money can not buy. I love this quote below for I have found that it is so true.

image from labeautedevie.tumblr.com

July 20, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Good thoughts. You are entitled to ramble as much as you want. I remember my great grandfather who was in the Civil War who died when I was eight. He was in the army hospital in Washington DC at time of Lincoln’s second anuguration and attended the ceremony. Surely someone in the audience that day if they were about 85+ remembered the beginning of our country. My son said he first realized how young is the age of our country when he was in Germany and the bottle of beer was labeled, “established in 1342”.

    Comment by Ann | July 20, 2012 | Reply

    • I really realized when I went to Italy and there is so much long history there that the buildings and I realized why we have such bland architecture here. Very young country indeed. 🙂

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 22, 2012 | Reply

  2. Wow you really made me think, my gram lived 100 yrs and six days and died at her own home in her own bed and the things she told me growing up that she experienced was well worth listening too. I also have a picture of my grandfather and his mother in a covered wagon drawn by 2 horses when he was about 9-10. I have tried to copy it but unable to get it to come out clear enough on my timeline. But isn’t it a wish that we had listened more and maybe even recorded what they had to say about life then. To think our grandparents lived thru the depression, the dust bowl, 2 world wars, womens right to vote, sufferage . just amazing isn’t it?
    Everytime I read your blog I am inspired and my first year home after getting sick not only did I face my own mortality but to this day I thank God for letting me survive and lettting me realize what is important and what is not. thank you for being here and sharing your beautiful heart.

    Comment by lenwilliamscarver | July 20, 2012 | Reply

    • oh yes..I wish I had recorded all the stories. I was the one interested in genealogy from way back. I think about family and my heritage and their strength. Son and I often talk about it here doing the gardening because we wonder how did those pioneers do it..it takes all son can do and he is lucky he has a water hose. hugs and thank you for your sweet words.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 22, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

