Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Sometimes Dreams Take Detours

image from lovesujeiry.com

I have been unable to go to church for over three years due to my health, how hard it is to get into my church and then the tightness of the pews (I wish churches would not do that for it makes it hard for tall people and really hard for someone handicapped) and the distance inside the church. I love going to church and dream of getting to go.

You may ask why I do not take my power chair. Well, my good one has never been fixed and the one they gave me instead they told me I could not take out of the house or it would void the warranty and it is not made for a tall person and wobbles and feels unsafe. So, I figured this dream of going to church would never happen.

Well, sometimes dreams work in a different way. Son came home the other day and asked me if I felt up to a little ride about four blocks or so away. I said yes and he drove me to this tiny little church …it is Baptist.  The minister there and the members are so sweet. It is a small church of about 22. There are no steps and walking in is about 20 feet from my van to the first pew. The service is an hour and that is short compared to some churches . And so, I might be able to sit that long.

So, I have been resting for the past couple of days so that today my hope and dream is that we are going to attempt to go to this little church…to God’s house…for my first service in I believe it has been over three years. No, it is not the church I have gone to for years but all that matters to me is it is possible for me and it is God’s house.

The church is so small there are only about five rows of pews on each side and they have them spaced apart so my leg with the brace will not be cramped. Son is carrying a pillow for me. We did not even know this tiny little church was here. It is on the outskirts of town like our house. So, I am real excited and am praying that I can do this. I know I will give it my best shot. 🙂

I will post and let you know how I did when we get home. And the nice thing is that the pastor said that if I had trouble, just to get up and leave to go home but that he prays I will be able to stay and to stay after and eat with them as they will try to fix me a place in the little room off the church where they eat that is comfortable for me even if I have to lay down.  I do not even know if I can make it through the service before the pain gets too bad but I am going to try.

July 29, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Awesome!! I would hate not going to church. I hope this works for you 🙂

    Comment by ansuyo | August 9, 2012 | Reply

  2. This is wonderful. You will enjoy being part of a church family again. Perhaps the preacher would be willing and happy to bring prayer and communion to your home. With so few members, perhaps you could invite them to your home for Bible study or prayer meetings. Wouldn’t you LOVE that………..

    Comment by Ann | July 29, 2012 | Reply

    • they are really nice Ann and I enjoyed it. No, I could not do it every day..but to go on Sundays..if I rest up..is something that is feasible..and I am so thankful.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 29, 2012 | Reply

  3. Hi Deb, your son is a real gem! I hope you have a great time.

    Comment by Naomi Baltuck | July 29, 2012 | Reply

  4. Leigh Taylor Young
    Keep Fighting Lady You’ve got Develop into Oneself On the right track GO Have Them!

    Comment by Click Here For Serenity Music | July 29, 2012 | Reply

  5. Deb, that is so wonderful! I am praying that you have a wonderful experience! xoxox

    Comment by Julie Catherine | July 29, 2012 | Reply

    • thank you Julie. I am praying for that also. Just to know I have a place I can go…even if I can not make it every time…gives me peace.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 29, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

