Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Old Time Tent Revival

I stayed in bed for two days so that I could attend this at our church….an old time tent revival…not in the church but in a tent where the breeze moved the sides back and forth. It actually started raining while we were there. 

I was not sure I could make it through the whole thing sitting that long. But, at the back I had a big canvas chair with two lounge pillows in it that covered the seat and the back, which made it easier for me. And they had a chair for me to put my legs on. Everyone was eating prior to the meal, there was hotdogs and chips and cake, etc for those helping to set up.

And because we were early so son could help, I got to hear the singer as she practiced and walked around making sure that she could be heard all over the tent. She and her husband travel all over singing. Her name is Rosie O’Toole and she sings like an angel.

Son was right in there helping get set up and everyone that walked by me at the back would stop and hug me and ask me did I need a drink or something to eat. It was so sweet. He is the one in the red shirt.

And as the sun set and dusk set in, the light inside lit up the ten and made a glow around us.

The wind was blowing and the sides of the tent flapped beside me and when the rain started I could feel small amounts of spray as it blew through the entrance.

Bobby Brindle is 74 years old and yet he still travels around speaking at the revivals. He rode in on a scooter and when he was up front speaking, part of the time he sat in it and part of the time he stood beside it holding the handle bars. He was a wonderful speaker with a powerful message touched with just the right amount of humor.

And so, I was taken back in time to Georgia and the old-time Tent Revivals that we used to attend. It is quite an experience and one I would not have missed for anything.

August 6, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. How wonderful! I know Bobby Brindle! He comes to my Dad’s church every year. He wouldn’t remember me, but he knows my dad well. What a amall world! He is a great speaker. Tent meetings! Been a long time. I’m glad you got to go to your new church and enjoy everything. :). Angie

    Comment by ansuyo | August 10, 2012 | Reply

  2. I am so jealous I have been praying for old time revival for awhile. Jusat want that Holy spirit to reach down on a multitude at once Praise God!

    Comment by lenwilliamscarver | August 6, 2012 | Reply

  3. So nice to have found a church. Joy.

    Comment by Ann | August 6, 2012 | Reply

    • yes it is but the biggest joy for me is I know when something happens to me, son has a church family that will be there for him.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | August 6, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

