Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Rambling Rose Here

Woke up early, early this morning about four AM and it was one of those moments where you see a little bit of sunshine. You know how in the midst of a bad storm, there are times when the sky will seem to clear and the sun will peek through before the storm hits again?  That is how I felt this morning when I first opened my eyes. I felt like the storm has slowed down for just a bit helping me regain my momentum and I lay here smiling. Life can be tough sometimes and even a lot  tougher at other times. But, it is these moments when the sun peeks through that give respite and help us fuel up for the next round. The storm clouds may still be all around us, but that little bit of sun lifts us up.

I had son laughing yesterday. I told him that the past two weeks that I had felt like I had been thrown in hell and did not know how to get out. And then I looked at him and said  “so next time, I am taking a map with me”.  He died laughing and said “a get out of hell map?”  and then told me I should tell that one to the doctor when I go back for the burning of the nerves. We are so thankful for the GPS unit that our friend Sassy gave us for Christmas. It is filled with addresses to doctors and she has not had to look up in destinations in a hurry for us because we got lost. We no longer get lost all the time.

I think I have always been a person that smiles and someone who woke up cheerful. Son says that is the first clue for him in the mornings that I am having a rough go. He says I get quiet and just do not say much when I feel bad where normally I am “chatty Kathy” as he calls me and always asks me how do I smile with no coffee.  He is one of those “do not speak to me til I have had my coffee” people. I tease him a lot telling him that he and Jack are “grumpy old men” because they both do not wake up easy and are grumpy for about 30 minutes.

Well, election time is fast approaching and this is my message on that. Please vote. If we are complacent, then we are complicit to who is in office. And if getting out and voting is hard for you, sign up for absentee ballots. That is how son and I do it because it is so much easier for me to vote from home. But, most importantly …use your voice. I know many say “what difference will it make?” but if you do not use your voice, you will never know. It is time Americans took their country back and let the politicians know what they think. End of political message. LOL. I do not do political parties so you will never hear me talk politics on my page. I vote by the person and not the party.

image from image from creoleindc.typepad.com

Fall is here. Son came in with a big pumpkin from the garden. We have lots of the small “sugar pumpkins” that are going to make some nice pies and then we have the extra-large ones that he grew too. I can not believe summer has gone already. We have been in our house over a year now and it seems like things are finally settled down from all the moving. Son is very excited about putting up the book shelves to get our library up. He has sketched out how he wants it. He is already planning the winter projects on the house.

One thing I have handed down to my son is the love of gardening and it thrills me to watch him out there enjoying it so much.

I look forward to the snow. I love it. Being this high up, we get a lot, sometimes three feet at a time. Son blames it on my “think snow” sign that I found on the other side of the mountain that is rustic and tin and “think snow ” is written in white paint on it. I looked up one day during last winter and he had turned the “think snow” to the wall. *giggling*

A big thank you for the post cards and I am so sorry that I took so long to post these but you all know what I have gone through. So here are some pictures of the post cards for my card wall.

and the most recent ones that I just received. Thank you all for the cards. I can see them here from my bed and they make me smile.

And since I am rambling, I wanted to share some things I got in the mail. One friend of mine from back east sent me an envelope with “wonder woman” on the envelope and inside was cartoon band aids for my injection sites. It always touches my heart and blows me away when someone does something out of the blue for me. And this is one friend that is always nudging me to keep fighting. 🙂

And another friend sent me a goodie box.

and Mickey and Minnie Mouse outfits for Gabriel and Hannah and a card with a little gas money for the doctor trips.

My prayer has always been that God help us get there and never give us more than we need. And exactly the right amount of gas money has shown up to get us to the doctor and back and son and I both are so grateful for all who have helped us.

Son and I feel so blessed by the people in our lives. You have touched our hearts and left your footprints on them. We both appreciate you all so much.

image from https://www.facebook.com/pages/A-joyful-Journey/112681118823305

September 24, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I see you got my post card. I hope all the smiley faces lift your spirit. Angie 🙂

    Comment by ansuyo | September 26, 2012 | Reply

    • they sure did and thank you so much angie. hugs

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | September 27, 2012 | Reply

  2. wow Rambling Rose what a great blog, fantastic pictures postcards, great surprises in the mail and goodies and cash for gas and and and what a punkin! LET’S ALL FLOOD THE MAILBOX with postcards, cards, goodies, cookies, cash and more cash tooo … for you who does so much to inspire so many, hope you have that map ready, sounds like you have the boo boo aids covered! hugs dear one, and hope that GPS is gettin u there without gettin on your nerves “please make the next available U turn”

    Comment by sassy | September 24, 2012 | Reply

  3. What a beautiful post to read today! You are such an inspiration to me, thank you. 🙂 As always, sending lots of positive, healing thoughts and prayers, gentle hugs and much love. ~ Julie xoxox

    Comment by Julie Catherine | September 24, 2012 | Reply

  4. So glad you have something to smile about – keep smiling!

    Comment by Libby | September 24, 2012 | Reply

  5. You beautiful, courageous woman! I have been following your posts but didn’t always comment – sorry! You and your son are stars!

    Comment by jmgoyder | September 24, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

