Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

You Have A Voice

It has taken me until today to write this because I had a horrible experience with the medical supply place in Pueblo. I was treated abusively, humiliated and talked down to. I had already ridden the hour and a half to get there, seen one doctor and in between, went by for us to return the shower chair they had sent us because it was not right. It was made for someone very small and was not one I could propel myself.

The woman at the place when we went in the first time was snide with me but I tried to overlook it. She filled out papers, specifically asked me my height and weight and then did not send the papers in. My doctor called and asked me where the papers were three weeks later. So I called her and told her they were waiting on those papers.

When we returned the chair, we stopped first at the factory part where the woman was and she told my son the man was up at the store. While we were driving there, she called him back to her office at the factory to give him her version. He came back ready to attack and he did. He was snide and hateful and actually told me I HAD to use that chair because Medicaid would not pay for me to have the next one. At that point, I was so exhausted and hurting and just did not have a voice. My son put his hands on the chair and leaned over and said “you mean to tell me that Medicaid says she HAS to use a chair that is dangerous for her and when she falls you and Medicaid will be sued?  I do not think so”.

The man started backing up again but then said “we ordered it based on your driver’s license. Son and I both looked at each other. By this time, the man was acting so ugly his face was red and he was spitting droplets as he spoke. He told me to go somewhere else to do business and was leaning in towards my face in anger.  The woman at the office is his wife that he is lying and defending. . I looked at him in tears and said “what do you normally use to prepare a wheelchair custom order for a patient?  Their driver’s license that is over three years old?  or what the doctor sends?”  He was so angry at the question and you could tell he did not want to answer me. He looked like he was about to explode and finally spit out  “what the doctor sends”.  I said that should answer your questions about who is telling the true story then, shouldn’t it.”    He finally said he would check into it but he was getting different stories.

image from http://www.facebook.com/pages/Quotes-for-Everyday-Life-

I started crying by then and said that chair was to give me independence so my son did not have to push me into a shower and to give me privacy to bath. As he was walking off I turned to my son sobbing and son said “don’t worry. I will take care of it Mom” and he headed straight to my doctor’s office and talked to the woman in charge of ordering it and she was like “no,  no,  no, we will handle this and get you a new place to order”.

Needless to say I was traumatized and hurt. So, I feel it important to tell people that  you DO have a voice and if you are not strong enough to stand up for yourself, make sure someone is with you that is. Let them be your voice, like my son was my voice. There are people out there like this company who abuse and mistreat the disabled and chronically ill. If they will treat someone in the shape I am in like that, just think what they are doing to everyone else.

There is no worse feeling than to feel helpless and abused when you are chronically ill, disabled etc. It is bad enough to happen to a healthy person but to viciously attack someone who is so sick that they spend most of their time in a hospital bed in horrible pain, that is chronically ill and disabled is beyond belief.

I am going to use my voice to report these people when I am stronger but at that time, I had no voice and I felt helpless and beaten down and thank God my son was with me. These people are dealing with the ill and elderly and disabled. How many have they abused before me? It is so wrong and I am going to be a voice that lets the right people know of their behavior.

Never think you have no voice. You do inside you but you also have your loved ones, family, friends that will be a voice for you. I never go into the doctor now without someone with me, which is my son. He is my extra set of ears and he is my voice when I do not feel good.

So, stand strong, use your voice when you have it and when you do not, make sure you have someone with you that can speak for you. And sometimes, you use your voice after the situation, which is what I will be doing. Never, never let anyone mistreat you or be ugly to you. You deserve better and so did I.

image from http://www.socialh.com/page/7/

September 27, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. I am constantly amazed at how some people can be in a type of business as this and treat their customers so wrongly! We are so sorry you had to go through this. Thank God indeed for your son! I just can’t believe this. Get better soon and do your reporting. Don’t let this go by without telling about this. I reposted this on my facebook. Consider yourself hugged and know that we pray for you often. Thanks.

    Comment by estherlou | October 1, 2012 | Reply

    • thank you so much…for caring like you do. HUGS my friend.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | October 1, 2012 | Reply

  2. Thank God I had my husband to be my voice a few times when I have faced abuse in the medical realm. People are crazy sometimes and those people are in the wrong business!!

    Comment by ansuyo | September 29, 2012 | Reply

  3. Let me add my friend that the State attorney Generals office should be included in your list of people to send emails to, as they are the type with that kind of attitude and treatment of the ill may very well be committing fraud through Medicare. I too as a disabled person have had my share of being talked down to like I was a kindergartner rather than an adult of at least sound mind when not hurting and in severe pain. But never to the extent that you suffered so my advice is “go gettum girl with both barrels”. Good luck and God Bless you and your son.

    Comment by lenwilliamscarver | September 27, 2012 | Reply

  4. Sorry you had this experience. People who are this kind of mean just should not be any where the public can interact with them. May I offer a suggestion? Use your voice. Ask Son to find email or snail mail addresses for you. Send copies of this to anyone who needs to be aware: the supply company, the doctor, hospital, local medical society, Pueblo newspaper, Pueblo medical society, any local, state, or national government agency involved with practices and procedures for handicapped, etc. You have written raw data through your tears and from your heart. Very powerful and moving. Cannot be made up unless it really happened just this way. Does not need to be edited and include the photos. Just put on a cover note saying something like as a handicapped person, you would like to share a bad experience so it does not happen to you again or anyone else. God bless you.

    Comment by Ann | September 27, 2012 | Reply

    • thank you Ann and that gives me more ideas of where to send. hugs hon

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | September 27, 2012 | Reply

  5. Dear Deb,
    This brought tears to my eyes, that people should be so cruel, that you should have to deal with this on top of everything else, but also that you have such a strong and loving son who will stand up for you an protect you. I am sending you a hug–and you can give him a hug for me.

    Comment by Naomi Baltuck | September 27, 2012 | Reply

    • thank you Naomi and I gave him the hug. He says thank you too. It is wrong in this day and time that there are people like that. hugs back hon

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | September 27, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

