Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Challenges Are Meant To Be Conquered

Sometimes life can deal us some blows and I am no exception. But, for some reason…call it my spirit…my faith..my determination…my Pollyanna alter..whatever..I have always been able to find something good. The one thing I have learned is that no matter how rough it gets for me, there is always something to be thankful for.

Yesterday afternoon, the gas company came to the door to tell us and each neighbor that they were repairing a gas line and so cutting the gas off to our houses. They thought they would have the gas back on last night but did not. Well, it is going down in the thirties here, so you can imagine our concern.

Now the funny part was, I told son not to worry…we could still turn on the stove and get heat. He looked at me and smiled and patted me and said “uh, Mom…the stove is gas”.  I said “I know and that is why it is so good when the utilities go out. We can still cook and get heat.”  Son kept laughing and walked off and it took me five minutes to realize what I had said. I was thinking if the electric went out. I swear I am not cartoon blonde…LOL.

So, we all, including jack, bundled up with our long johns and extra blankets. I learned a new trick…how to put the keyboard under my covers with only my eyes peeking out at the monitor and type. A new talent I have…what can I say. 🙂

Last night, as I lay here, I started thinking about all I had to be thankful for. I was thankful for the insulation blown into the roof of this house. I was thankful for all the fleece blankets my friend Sherry had sent last winter. She picked those because she had worked with patients in hospice and knew that sheets pulling on the body hurt and the soft fleece would not hurt so much. I was thankful that we had already done laundry and that we had a little toaster oven to make dinner with. I was thankful that we had insulated all the windows and so the house did not go all the way down to the low thirties.And I am thankful that the temperature did not dip into the teens or that three feet of snow was not on the ground.  So many things to be thankful for.

Well, the gas is still not on. Is it an inconvenience? Yes but not something we can not handle. And hopefully it will be on before supper time tonight. And yet, I have heard people complaining about it. Life is going to send challenges our way and it is how we deal with them that makes us who we are. Each Step should be a step up…a step towards the positive.

As I say often…life is filled with choices. Son and I could have moaned and groaned and complained about no heat and no way to cook or we could make the most of this situation, find the humor in it and keep on going. I simply do not have the energy to live with negative emotions and so I keep my positive ones on the front burner..that is a choice too.  I just know that when something bad happens, to think about the sun…storms may rage and roar…but the sun is always there behind the clouds. And when it comes up after a storm..things are more beautiful than before.

November 8, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. You are doing so great. Hope you have power back on quickly. Praying for you,

    Comment by Ray's Mom | November 9, 2012 | Reply

    • three days later and still no heat. They said maybe sat or sunday and we are due a snow storm this weekend.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | November 9, 2012 | Reply

      • So sorry to hear that – be safe. Praying for you.

        Comment by Ray's Mom | November 9, 2012


Leave a Reply

