Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Friendships and Choices

I always say life is full of choices and our choices make us who we are. I had to laugh today as someone made a video to notify people publically that she had removed those that were just casual friends from her Facebook. Now this is a community of Chronic illness people I am referring to that she is announcing this to and people have become quite close as we share a common bond..or most of us do and that is chronic illness.

When questioned as to why they did not just use the “filter” button on Facebook, the reply was it failed. Oh really?  One reason I am not a big fan of facebook. As studies have shown, it can bring out “high school” behavior in a lot of people and that competition to have 700 “friends”…oh yeah right..all of those people are dear friends. It becomes a world of high school behavior where people have little cliques just like in high school and they pull some in and shut others out. I graduated from high school a LONG time ago and am not into games which is a trend with some on the internet and Facebook.

I do not put anyone on my facebook except those I consider a friend and if I have personal to say to family, I use the filter button that Facebook designed so that we could do that. But, what made me laugh was making a video..a big production of announcing it instead of just doing it quietly and privately telling people or just simply using the FB filter where she could filter people out totally without any big to do about it. Wait, there is more…and then telling those “casual acquaintances” that she just so publically dumped and saying..if you want to keep in touch you can do it on my dog’s facebook. I had to call son to come look and he laughed and said.”.well that is one way to do it. Wonder how many will catch the insult?”  And we have laughed about this since we saw it.

We all make choices and our choices make us. And some days people might wonder why they have spent their lives never having consistent friends. I have friends that have been with me since I was in high school and I have internet friends that I have never met in person that have been part of my life for well over ten years that I have talked to by messenger, on the phone, on skype.  They have stuck through the good and the bad…that is a real friend.  And relationships..how we deal with them is a choice and those choices define what kind of friend we are to others and what kind of relationships we have.

Now, let me tell you about a wonderful choice a dear friend I made online two years ago did yesterday. She knows I am basically home bound and she messaged me and said “I am putting up the Christmas tree. Do you want to join me?”  She lives on the other side of the country but I knew what she meant. She meant did I want to be on Skype with her while she decorated the tree and I said yes. What a fun time we had with the Christmas music playing and us singing and her showing me all the ornaments and me watching the tree come to life.  This lasted a couple of hours.

And I made a choice. A guy was coming to look at the books we wanted to sell and I told son I was staying with the Skype and closed my door and I continued to enjoy my dear friend and the tree decorating.  Again..a choice. We all choose what is most important to us at the time.

So here are some pictures to share and show you my Skype Christmas tree decorating time. She even let me pick out an ornament and tell her where on the tree I wanted to put it. What fun it was.  And I huge thank you to my dear friend Sherry for sharing this time with me. This is her saying…You with me now?  as she carries me (the laptop) into her living room.

As she turns on the Christmas music and makes sure I can see the tree.

Showing me the ornaments as she put them on.

What a beautiful tree it is.

Our few decorations we have up. In my room..the little tree on the reborns table.

On our little Island in our kitchen

The end of the day bed in the tiny living room

our little tree in the living room

the two recliners in the living room with table

Life is a choice…choose wisely for you may not get another chance.  And give of yourself to people this holiday. Time, like the watching my dear friend decorate her tree, was the best present she could have given me.

November 22, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I was so touched by this, Deb!

    Comment by Naomi Baltuck | November 30, 2012 | Reply

  2. Merry Christmas Darling one. I loved this post. Sherry is a sweety!!

    Comment by Janet | November 23, 2012 | Reply

    • she sure is Janet. 🙂 and it was so much fun.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | November 23, 2012 | Reply

  3. Well as I read this today, I found myself laughing so hard I could barely stand it… and then I saw myself on your blog! eeek why didn’t u photoshop me a bit friend? hahahah, what a strange thing for a person to do on a video to announce they were dropping FB friends? Now that is a first for sure in a group of those who support others in chronic illness? Perhaps this person is not ill at all but a “hanger on er for some other reason” yet has no concept of how to post there vs. on a video? how oddly funny is that I still say and what a “wacky choice” for one to make at the season of thankfulness.
    So happy you shared in the decorating of the tree, and I thank you for helping me… Great fun indeed it was. “i did wonder what those sounds were, and now I know it was you taking photos” I should have dressed up a bit I now think with my Santa hat and in the wearing of RED! hahaha, blessings to you and thanks for the oddly funny read today.
    May the contributions to get you to Denver roll in during this time of giving and thanks in giving from all every little bit helps and I plan to help as well. YOUR blue glass ornament that you told me where to hang looks fabulous as the lights play and dance on its reflections, I will alwayas cherish the time we spent and be thankful to SKype for allowing it to happen!
    Blessings dearest one, may you find HOPE STrenght Courage heaven knows you have the faith to move mountains! xo

    Comment by SHERRY E SHOWALTER | November 23, 2012 | Reply

    • I had to laugh cause I do not think even she knew what she just did. LOL she comes with no filter..just wide open. But it was funny.
      Donations are over half way there. We found out that the motel alone is going to cost four hundred and something..almost to the five hundred and then gas, food, etc.
      hugs to you dear friend and I loved loved the tree decorating party we had.
      ly

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | November 23, 2012 | Reply

  4. What a beautiful choice of friends she is wonderful. So glad you could help her decorate the tree. Today I went with Mandy the nice Granddaughter also her good friend hoping it leads to marriage. Sarah she called and tried to be very nice. I had a couple hours of talking with her. Hope the next time is is good also. Alex my great grandson Sarah’s now two year old is with my daughter grandma this week and having a good time. So I am very thankful at this Thanksgiving always something but today I felt it even more so. Hope you get to where you need to be and they can help fix you would be so nice to hear. Sending love and many prayers Darlene

    Comment by Anonymous | November 22, 2012 | Reply

    • thank you darlene…yes Sherry is a doll. I am so glad you had a good holiday. Hugs and love hon

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | November 23, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

