Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Being Your Own Calculator

Ever found yourself trying to be everything to everyone?  Every rushed around thinking the more you did, the better a person it made you? I have been there and then one day, when I could not do for everyone, I learned that what I did was not the thing that made me important or a good person. The good person was who I was inside.

own worth and status

image from http://stargazerphotoproductionsblog.wordpress.com/tag/know-your-worth/

Self worth is not being cocky or a braggart, it is knowing that you are a good person that has honesty and integrity inside whether you have one penny in your pocket or a million dollars in your pocket. It is not a chalk off list of all the good you do because if that were the case than I am worthless because I can not get up and do for others. And I know I am not worthless. Getting my drift here?

We can not go around expecting others to give us our self-worth.  I know I am a worthy person and I know I am a good person because I know what my values and integrity inside are. I also, because I am Christian, believe that if I live according to my values than I am being a good person.

“Just because someone devalues you does not mean you have lost value. God would never define your value according to a person who can not estimate (value)”

Terra Charissa Hodges

I do not have to have anyone elses approval to validate that I am worthy.  All we have to do is just be ourselves, live our lives with good values  and those that accept that love us and those that do not, let them go.

be-yourself-quotes1

image from http://pictures.finestquotes.com/be-yourself-quotes-2/

Holidays are a particularly hard time for some people because they feel like they have to keep up with the Jones and spend and spend and spend….even if they go in debt doing it. I used to do that many years back and then one day, it really hit me and I said “no more materialistic Christmases for me”. I get my kids  and my grand baby each one small but meaningful present and would rather spend time with them and love them instead of all the rushing around to buy stuff that probably gets stuck in drawers or broken before the month is out. I decided my focus on Christmas was on the reason for the season and for family and loved ones instead of the shopping. And son here is the same way and I think my other son is too.

So, during this busy holiday that seems to center around shopping, doing good deeds, and giving…what are you weighing your value with? Does it involve money?  Because if it does, there are many shut in people who would just love to have time with you or your family have time with you. Does it involve running around trying to please everyone?  That old saying “quality versus quantity” comes to mind here. We can only stretch ourselves so thin before we are not really giving of ourselves. Know your own self-worth. Be your own scales and see the good inside you.

scalesimage from http://www.protectfinancialid.org.au/Laws/default.aspx

December 11, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Beautiful post. Have a wonderful day. hugs. Renee 🙂

    Comment by reneeboomer | December 11, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

