Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Some Days You Have To Just Keep Moving

Some days, life can be so tough that all you can do is keep moving forward and hoping…believing that it will get better. That is what keeps us going. That is what inspires me each day…that it will be better…that tomorrow will bring better things. And I look for those better things.

good things

image from http://freeonlinedataentryjobs88.wordpress.com/

Today is one of those days where everything looks as bleak as the brown grass in the picture.  And I am laying here wrapped in a fleece throw just brain numb. But, what keeps me going is I know that somewhere there is some green grass, ie better things in the day and I focus on that. I just have to keep walking, albeit mental walking for me.

We are what often stop ourselves from enjoying life. We let others determine our life for us and then we moan that there is nothing happy in our lives. Happiness is inside your heart and if you have discovered that, nothing around you is going to destroy that. But, if you have not…then you rely on people, places, things, money to bring you joy which is equated with happiness in these instances. The only difference is…those things can disappear and what is in our hearts is ours to keep.

Jim hunt illustration

I think back and can see all the times that I held myself back instead of stepping up to the plate and daring to take a step out and try new things. Meeting new people, doing new things, trying things I had never heard of just for the experience….even trying new foods were something that I held myself back from doing. And then one day, I realized that the only locks on the gate keeping me back were my own and so I started removing them…one by one.

Ever sat there and said “what if they do not like me?”, “what if I fall on my face?”, “what if I can not do it?”, “what if they laugh at me?”….what if…what if….what if.  And it was like the great dawning when I realized that I was hyperventilating about something that “might” happen and that meant it also “might not”. I also started asking myself why I would get upset if strangers did not like me, if strangers would laugh at me. I did not know them so why was I giving them so much power over me?  And what if they did laugh at me or treat me rudely?  Well, then I knew that they were not people I really wanted in my life. Life is all a learning curve and learning what we want in our lives and what we do not. Sometimes we will try things we do not like but it is the experience that teaches us.

I remember a friend that I tried to encourage  to try new foods and they would say “I do not like it”.  I asked them if they had ever tasted it and they said no. And my next response was “then how do you know you will not like it?”.  Their answer?  “I just know”.  Do we do that to ourselves about experiences in life?  We will not go to some event because we have already decided that we do not like it. Or, we will not go to social events because we have decided they are people we will not like.

Life is like being in a big scenic bus and we should be the driver of our own bus, but if we continually keep putting the brakes on…that bus never goes anywhere. This does not mean go out and do things that are against your values but it does mean open yourself up to new things that are good and could bring you new experiences and new joys. The only thing that stops your bus….is you.  I have taken control of my bus. How about you?

January 17, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Your words always inspires me and its so true we keep moving on. Nature teach this lesson very well share one of my post here hope you like it.
    GOD BLESS U 🙂
    Hope of Light
    http://hopeoflight.wordpress.com/2011/08

    Comment by supriya | January 18, 2013 | Reply

    • loved your blog. 😉

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | January 22, 2013 | Reply

      • Thank you so much :*

        Comment by supriya | January 22, 2013

  2. You have my sympathy. Bad days are bad days. And yes they do pass. But that does not make them less difficult to live through. I don’t ask of myself to be happy all the time. That is not life. And life can be difficult and cruel. There is no point in denying that. We do not fail ourselves if at times our spirits sink. We can only fail ourselves if we give up the fight before it is the time to do so. Don’t you think? Putting my arms around you dear soul. I know life is an unending challenge for you. love Willo

    Comment by willowedd | January 17, 2013 | Reply

    • We can not control always what happens to us but we can control what we do with it. I am happy all the time..because my happiness lies within me. Do I ever have sad moments or angry ones..of course..but it does not diminish my happiness. I remember once someone telling me if I wanted to chance my life….change my choices. 🙂 and thank you for the hugs.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | January 17, 2013 | Reply

      • I agree we are talking about what seems to be a paradox. I have a deep inner peace but there are times when I can not be happy. Some losses are too great for that. But you are right that we have the last word on how we respond to life’s challenges. I am sure your inspirational posts encourage many people to keep trying to change the choices they make for ones that support happiness. And I understand the choices you make for yourself. and you are most welcome to the hug:)

        Comment by willowedd | January 17, 2013

      • I think you are saying what I am saying..you just use happiness in a different way. You have that deep inner peace which is Happiness. Happiness does not lie in people, places or things for those you can lose. Things can make us sad…and we still have that deep inner peace. Saddness is one of those things that can come and go..but happiness…peace inside stays with us always. HUGS

        Comment by danLrene ©2011 | January 17, 2013

      • Yes! Sometimes we use slightly different words but they carry the same meaning don’t they.*big smile*

        Comment by willowedd | January 18, 2013


Leave a Reply

