Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Loving Life

“I am fighting to stay alive not because I fear death but because I love life”

cancer survivor Edie Sundby

People ask me all the time why I refuse to give up….why I fight so hard and I read this quote yesterday and thought…that says it all. I fight so hard to keep going because I love life and I do not fear dying.  Is every minute of every day a good time?  No, it is not.  In fact some moments are extremely hard and painful like today is. And even though I am smiling, the pain is evident in my eyes and the struggle is showing with dark places under my eyes.

Picture 16

But, I have such great moments when I have good ones that they overshadow the really bad times.  Times like watching with great pride while my son makes homemade bread all on his own or talking to a dear friend on messenger or calling Mama and talking to her.

Life-is-not-a-matter-of-mile-Quotes-about-life

When I look back through my life…would I change anything?  Oh my yes, I would and I think most people would. I would love more, laugh more often, forgive easier, and know who truly cared about me. I would have tried to be an even better parent to my boys but I do know because they tell me…they know they were loved.

There are also wonderful memories over my lifetime that sustain me and bring me smiles and help ease the pain I live in and that is why I fight so hard and refuse to give up.  I am 63 and unlike many women…I do not mind telling my age because I am proud I made it to 63. And I believe God has kept me here for a reason. I also believe that my attitude  (my mojo) that comes from my faith is what has kept me here smiling.

The MOJO Song

And here is me with my mojo on in spite of how bad I feel today. It is a choice and we have choices every day and it is up to us what kind of choice we make. I prefer making choices that help me feel better such as listening to music. Yes, the dark circles under my eyes still show and some of the pain but as I continue singing with the music..my spirits lift and I am distracted from my pain.

 Picture 13 Picture 14 Picture 15

Picture 12

I fight so hard and refuse to give up because I love life that much, I love my family that much, I love my family of choice so much…..and I know where I will be when I die and so I am not afraid of dying.

January 26, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Never lose hope dear. You are a fighter and its not about winning the game but playing & enjoying it with your full spirit. May god bless you
    A little gift from my side to you. Hope it bring smile on your face

    (no title)
    http://hopeoflight.wordpress.com/2013/01.

    Comment by supriya | January 28, 2013 | Reply

  2. I listened to this MoJo song this morning on my Beach Music CD but by a different artist. Your son will always carry on the tradition of bread making while remembering you taught him. As all of us who read your words now often think of you, pray for you, and should time come… will never forget you, your wisdom, and courage. You have had a good life. Thank you so much for sharing. HUGS.

    Comment by Ann | January 26, 2013 | Reply

  3. I forgot to hit play
    I am smiling so hard my cheeks hurt
    A Mojo Song ! I will never forget this

    Comment by JodI | January 26, 2013 | Reply

    • I know..I LOVE LOVE IT…now we both can listen to it. got your hand hon..HUGS

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | January 26, 2013 | Reply

  4. I needed to see your mojo band on
    Thankyou for refusing to give up

    Comment by JodI | January 26, 2013 | Reply

    • I have two…handing you one. We have to hang together girl. HUGS

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | January 26, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

