Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

There Will Never Be Another Jack But There Is A Daisy

I was thrilled today to get a response from the woman who helped us get our Jack. She just seemed to have a special connection to Jack and I wanted her to know that he had passed away. I say there thinking about how there will never be another Jack…another Wonder Dog.  BUT, there is a Daisy and will always be room in our hearts for another dog. Daisy and Jack have a lot in common.

They both like to sleep under the covers.

jack-nine1

Picture 044

They both love stuffed toys.

jack toy

Picture 042

And they both love clothes.  jack blue jacket

Picture 037

Today has been Daisy day all over. She is so sweet and so puppy and we are enjoying her greatly. She has learned how to jump onto the seat of my power chair and on to my hospital bed. And so, her day is spent running from my bed through the living room and into son’s office and back again. She gets lots of exercise that way. And she plays hard and then plops down exhausted like a puppy and falls dead asleep on my bed beside me here.

Picture 19

Picture 20

And here is Daisy contemplating where to run to next. 🙂

Picture 047

She is so proud she learned how to get up on my bed and she does not like to be left alone right now. She has been through so much in her short life and so we hope that we can give her back the comfort of being home that a pet should have. The comfort of knowing that they will not leave again or be taken somewhere else for she is home for good now.

And I will tell you this little story about last night. Son woke me up at about two in the morning and said “Mom, I think something is wrong with Daisy”.  I sat straight up and asked him why and I noticed while he and I were talking and he was telling me how she would not go back to sleep and would not go potty, that Daisy was chasing her tail, running around shaking the dickens out of her blue dog and running up to son’s legs and doing that thing they do where they go down on their front elbows with their hiney up in the air wanting son to play. I looked up at son and smiled and said “Son, she is four months old. She is doing what babies do. Play with her a while, give her a snack and then put the leash on and take her back to bed. The leash will help you keep her in your bed”.  And he did and she went back to sleep. I laughed as this morning he said he woke up once and she was licking his face.

me and daisy

And so, we have had a day filled with Daisy all over the place and all over our hearts. She walked into our house the first time like she had been living here. She ran from room to room, came back in the living room and found her bed there, found her toys, ran and pottied on the piddle papers and jumped in son’s recliner and made herself at home. After we bathed her, son held her wrapped up in a warm blanket to help her dry and they both fell asleep.

Picture 044

And to my special Jack who brought me such joy, devotion and love…how thankful we are to have had you in our lives. You were such a special baby from day one. My prayer was that I made up for the start you had and gave you a happy life and one where you felt secure and loved and I believe we did that. You will forever be carried in our hearts and we find ourselves seeing a lot of Jack’s spunk in our Daisy.

Wonder Dog-may you run the fields of heaven with happy abandon

wonder dog

February 28, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Love this

    Comment by JodI | March 1, 2013 | Reply

  2. Awww, Daisy is such a cutie, and what a sweetheart! 🙂

    Comment by Julie Catherine | February 28, 2013 | Reply

  3. What a special day! So happy for all of you!

    Comment by Freetobe | February 28, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

