Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Short Update

Today we are about to leave for Pueblo because I have to have my eyes measured for cataract surgery as both eyes have cataracts so bad that I see  white haze as I look around the room. If my son is twenty feet from me, I can not see his facial features. That is hard for me to not be able to see my loved ones facial features unless they are right up close to me.

I have told no one, including not telling my son, how bad my eyes have become. Reading a book is impossible. Working on the computer a strain. Lights are like the weapons of eye pain and it has affected my life drastically. Yes, I have kept the optimism that is so much a part of me but it has been hard work to do that.

So, today they measure my eyes. Next week, I go to the National Jewish Hospital for more tests and to talk to my doctor there on Monday and then on Thursday I have cataract surgery on my right eye. The left eye will be done on May 2 and while I am not excited about surgery…I AM excited about being able to hold a book and read again, which is one of my passions…reading. What a joy that is going to be and I already have my first book picked out from our library here at home.

I am also excited about going back up to the National Jewish Hospital even though it is a very hard trip for me because they are trying to find a protocol to help give me better quality of life. I know they can not cure me as there are no cures for auto immune disorders but I do believe they can make my life easier. So, life is good.

Remember, we may not always can control what happens to us, but we can how we deal with it.

March 18, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. My friend Pat had that surgery done, and it changed her life! Good luck, Deb.

    Comment by Naomi Baltuck | March 19, 2013 | Reply

  2. For me, cataract surgery was easier than anticipated. The most difficult part was afterward making a chart to keep track of when to use eye drops. You will see an immediate difference, and then you will probably wonder why you waited so long. Best wishes for successful surgery.

    Comment by Ann | March 18, 2013 | Reply

    • for me being sedated at all is a risk so that is the big issue. As far as waiting so long…Medicaire requires that the cataracts be at a certain point and mine had shown no growth the last time I was in to be checked and in the past six months they just surged in growth. Since I have other issues with my eyes from auto immune disorder, it was one of those things like with chest pain…is it heart? is it the severe GERD, is it my spine causes reflected pain…fortunately things had calmed down long enough with things going on ..the RFA, the kidney surgery, etc for me to get in to see the doctor on the eyes. He has told me this will not take care of all the problems going on nor bring back all my vision..but will help and for that I am so thankful. Evan how to lay me became complicated due to other health issues and they prefer you to lay flat. Hugs hon

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 19, 2013 | Reply

      • Good Heavens. In spite of reading everything you write, I did not comprehend how serious it all is when put together. Your words of awareness and encouragement are important to me personally. Sending you prayers and positive thoughts.

        Comment by Ann | March 19, 2013


Leave a Reply

