Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

The Importance Of Having Your Medical Records

Tomorrow is the trip back to the National Jewish Hospital. Of all times for a snow storm to hit as we do not have Daisy’s Assistance Cards yet and so son will have to sit in the van for five hours in the freezing cold with Daisy. Not to worry, we are always weather prepared in our van. It will not be easy..but it is do-able.

Now, it is extremely important to get copies of your medical records every time…repeat ..EVERY time you have something done, especially your surgeries, lab work, pathology reports and tests. Since December, we have tried to track down the records on my lung surgery from 1996 as my doctor at the Jewish Hospital needs them to make this next diagnosis.  And this job has been like trying to track down a spy or something very elusive.

Remember this as you read. I gave my doctors last year ALL my records that I had on file and they were supposed to copy and give back. Well, the resident that was supposed to be my doctor decided to leave the field and when I got my records back, not all were in the file. BUT, on my last visit to the doctor, as my doctor was looking through my records on the computer trying to find a test, I SEE the pathology report and ask if I can have a copy. She very vaguely told me they could not do that as it was not theirs. I said I know that…it is mine and I gave it to you and I want it back.

The nurse from the Jewish Hospital calls and asks are we sure on the name. I tell her yes I am but then I start searching and I find no Medical College of Georgia listed anywhere. I was beginning to think maybe I dreamed the lung surgery up and even went to look in the mirror to see if I actually had surgery scars and I was relieved to see that I did. I have a four plus inch scar and below it a drain hole scar. So, whew, at least I know I really did have lung surgery.

So, I start calling hospitals in the town asking if they know where the Medical College went. Every one seemed to have never  heard of this Hospital and it was a teaching hospital. If I can not find the hospital, then we have no records or pathology report showing what the biopsies on the lungs showed. I did remember the words “granuloma” and “fungus” but nothing to back it.

And so I keep researching and find that the Medical hospital has changed its name. I send info to the doctor I am going to tomorrow and I call the hospital in Georgia and ask about records. Ok, here is double thud….they tell me all their records were lost after a change over in computer systems. They say there are a few left on paper in an archive somewhere but do not know how to get access to them.

Meanwhile, I call back to my doctor’s office here and ask for the copy since it is mine…I gave it to them. And they refuse as they did not write it. So, I call back to the Georgia hospital and ask for the director of pathology and boy was that the best thing I could have done. This woman went above and beyond the call of duty. She called my doctors and they told her there was no pathology report in my file. The pathology doctor called me back and told me that and I said “that is a lie. I know because I saw it with my own eyes on the last visit”.

So, she got every piece of info on me and I told her the doctor at the Jewish hospital thought I had a genetic disorder tied to my kidneys and my lungs and that is why they needed the report.  I told her that this piece of paper that my doctors here have is the only record I know of since they lost their records in GA.  I give her the name of the doctor who is the director at the clinic I go to and she calls my doctors back.

Hours go by and first the doctor from GA calls me and says “I found your report. I went into the archives and have been looking for it all this time. Tell me the fax number of your doctor at the Jewish Hospital and his name and I will fax this report to him. If he wants the slides tell him to contact me. I am going to go look for them right now.

Meanwhile my doctor’s office in Pueblo calls me and the little woman at the front that I like so much says she has searched and found my pathology report and as soon as she gets permission from the director, she will fax it to the Doctor in Denver. I never tell her that the Pathology Director in GA has already found it and faxed it to Denver.  I just wanted to see how long it took them to call me back and they have not to date.

So, the moral of this story is get your records now while you still can…all the way back as far as you can. The reason…you never know when old records will be needed especially with 25 million people with auto immune disorders in the US alone and there is a genotag in those of us that end up with auto immune disorders and something environmental..viruses, vaccines, exposure to chemicals, etc…sets them off.  The tests and surgeries, lab reports and pathology reports are the most important. My doctor at the National Jewish Hospital said..do not tell me what the other doctors have said. Just tell me what you have felt and show me tests that have been done.

And the second moral of the story…if you have your own records, always go to office max or somewhere and make the five cent copies. Never EVER give a doctor’s office your records to copy for you do not know what will be missing when you get them back.  Many doctor’s offices are now charging exuberant prices to get YOUR records. They are acting like they are “their” records and not giving you everything. Remember, these are your records and the fee is to stop you from getting them. They will send them to another doctor and not charge the doctor but charge you for yours. One doctor wanted 40.00 for my records which were twenty pages…twenty pages.  So, be your own best advocate..get your records from doctors, hospitals, labs, etc and keep them on file. And make a permanent copy that you put up for safe keeping.

March 24, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Deb hugs for tomorrow, and what excellent advice. I had all of my records due to social security application and I gave them to lawyer, I have not seen them since! When I questioned the office I was told that attorney had returned to Sweden and must have taken them with him as they could not find them. NOW what kind of attorney returns to his home country with medical records of some woman he only helped one time?? Preposterous!! So great advice thank you …please be safe tomorrow driving (son) and God bless…prayers~~Len

    Comment by lenwilliamscarver | March 24, 2013 | Reply

    • Gosh isn’t that just a mess. I will never..ever ..give anyone my medical records..the only copy I have. I will give them a copy.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 27, 2013 | Reply

      • I definitly learned my lesson! Hope you are feeling better after your trip to Barnes.:)

        Comment by lenwilliamscarver | March 27, 2013

  2. Thank you for this good advice. I gave all my records to my current doctor when I moved here about 13 years ago. I thought was smart to bring them. But not smart enough to make copies first. And have no copies of anything since then either. When I had an MRI done they gave me the original xrays and suggested I keep them, computer copies are in their files. As records are added to computer data bases, original papers are destroyed or archived where cannot be reached. You were smart to keep at it until you got what was needed.

    Will be thinking of you tomorrow and sending prayers and positive thoughts. HUGS.

    Comment by Ann | March 24, 2013 | Reply

    • thanks Ann…lesson learned the hard way. HUGS

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | March 27, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

