Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Life After Today–Resurrection Day

Easter to me is Resurrection Day….a rising to new life. Yes, it is the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus to me but what comes to my mind every time is life after. Not just life after death but life after today. What am I going to do after this day goes by. I knew what I was going to be doing when I died and did not worry about dying. I leave that to my creator. My thoughts were what was I going to do living.

Being sick for so long, I was very fortunate to not be one that whined or moaned “why me? why me?” every time I lost the ability to do something or just had to live chronically ill and disabled. I look at each day as a day of life after the day before and what can I learn from the days before that will help me to make this a better day.

Resurrection Day (Easter) brings me to that big day each year where I think about the sacrifices made so that I could live eternally.  And I think about what am I going to do with this life I have been given so that when I leave here for the next world,  I have left a good mark that might inspire others to keep up their fight and lead them to a place where they have peace in their hearts. My prayer is that resurrection day has the double meaning for them as it does for me.

I try to learn lessons from the hard things in life. When I first started getting sick and was having to use the forearm crutches, it took me a while to adjust and the lesson that came was to slow down and enjoy those around me and enjoy the life I have been given. So many rush through life as if they are in a race and miss the most important things. And we come through this world only once. We can not go back and correct all the mistakes.

When my vision slowly faded from me, the lesson for me was that I needed to really look and feel what and who is around me. With my eyesight so bad and being hearing impaired also, at times I felt so lonely and isolated and walled off…even with the internet and messenger and talking sporadically to people. My video chronic illness group became a godsend because I could hear them and did not have to try to read anything. I could not even read my dearest friend’s blog and that was a wound to my heart. And so I had to find a way to resurrect life for me.

I learned to use my inner eye and could see my son’s face inside when he talked to me. It has been months since I could really see his face when he stood at the door to talk to me and he had to come by the bed so I could see him. After we got home from surgery, the next day I noticed I could see my son at the door with my eye that was operated on and not just my heart. But, the lesson was to pull into my heart those things that I treasure for we never know what will happen and our hearts and minds can carry us a long way.

Resurrection day/Easter is a reminder to me of the great pain and sacrifice Christ went through so that I could have eternal life. And every day is resurrection day for me to remind me that there will be sacrifices in my daily life that will happen.  And I have to ask myself “what am I going to learn from the sacrifices?”.  Remember sacrifice is to give up.  For Christ it was giving up his life for us.  In my personal life, it is my health I have lost and because of that loss, my independence has been sacrificed. I have to learn how to live again in a new way. That is my resurrection personally. There are lessons to learn so that I live my life in spite of all the things gone wrong and I find new ways to do it.  And we have to be willing to think about and figure out what the lessons are and then learn from them.

March 30, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Dear Deb, I went for a walk on Easter Sunday and took my little camera to capture some of the sights and sounds for you. I sat and imagined you beside me. My husband said…it is a pity you can not record the scent of the earth….with my love.
    http://skyblueheron.blogspot.com.au/2013/04/and-now-tanglewood-to-rest-my-spirit.html

    Comment by Willo | April 1, 2013 | Reply

    • ohhhh my breathtaking. Thank you so much. What a sweet thing to do. I sat here with my coffee and it was awesome. Thank you thank you thank you. Hugs and love

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 1, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

