Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

One Of The Pitfalls Of Having Chronic Health Problems

Battling chronic health issues is hard and sometimes we can get lost on the path. People look at us at times and say “but you look so good” when we feel so bad. And then, once said, every time someone seems to diminish us,  it feels like someone rubbed salt in an open wound. We feel the need to defend ourselves and try to explain all that is wrong and how bad it is.

The problem with this comes when we get so busy defending what is wrong that we fail to see what is still right. We have allowed other people to influence us and instead of using our own control of our lives…we give into the insecurities and the fragile feelings of being chronically ill.

expect trouble

image from http://www.illuminatingsouls.com

I am not..NOT my diseases and troubles. I am Deb. I give focus to what is the most positive thing in life to me and that is living. Living in spite of the things wrong. Living and being happy. Living and adjusting to the hurdles that come my way…which they will to all of us. But, I get up every day determined to live my life to the fullest, to not let the things wrong defeat me and to be the survivor I know I am. Victims revel in their troubles. Survivors do not let their troubles hold them down and work hard to live..LIVE. I can not control everything in life..but I CAN control how I respond to these things.

We all face defeats in life. That is part of life and part of learning. We will have many defeats in life and these defeats help mold us into the person we are. But, even when we face defeat, we must NEVER give up. Learning to keep fighting is what makes us warriors. Yes, today I may face defeat in something. But tomorrow, I will get up and keep going. It may be a different route, it may be with a different attitude..whatever, but I will never ever give up. Defeat is just a hurdle in the race of life and it tests our courage to the hilt.

losing heart

image from http://www.brainyquote.com

So, when you are traveling the journey of chronic illness, try to avoid the pitfalls. And the biggest pitfall is falling into the habit of trying to explain all that is wrong to everyone instead of seeing all that is still good with yourself.  People see far more than we give them credit for and so if they see us battling but rejoicing in what we still have left in life, then they see the warrior who never gives up. And I personally CHOOSE to never give up.

living a storyimage from www.nativecry.org

April 4, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I am sure you have inspired more than one my friend.♥

    Comment by Willo | April 4, 2013 | Reply

  2. Wo Hoo this is why I love your post …you are such a warrior and make me want to be one to…I have been thanking God for my joy instead of wallowing in my illnesses and what a difference He has made in my life as have you God Bless and keep you and your son! 🙂 gentle hugs and love (((xx)))

    Comment by lenwilliamscarver | April 4, 2013 | Reply

    • oh Len, thank you so much. If I can inspire just one person to be a warrior..then I have succeeded. Yes it definitely makes a difference doesn’t it. HUGS my friend.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | April 4, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

