Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Taking Inventory

The fire right beside our town, ranging from 6.5 miles to 10 miles from our town and burning rapidly was and still is a scary time as the fire is only 15 percent contained right now.  When the fires started, we were sitting in church and one of the church member’s daughters came in and said “Hurry they are telling us to evacuate”.  They lived closer to the fire than our house. We were in pre-evacuation unless with respiratory problems, which I have and then directions were to leave and get away from the smoke.

I sat there Wednesday when the news came across and my son immediately starting putting things together and I was looking around thinking how in the world do you decide what is important? You look around your home and you see things that are special  such as family treasures, pictures, etc and you wonder what do you grab because there is only so much room. Your desire is to grab everything and you can not.

That day, my son and I knew that the only things we were grabbing were food, clothing, medicines and papers that we might need. Those were the  only important things and  each other and our Daisy and Misty. Things can be replaced. Life can not.

I can not tell you what a horrible feeling it is to wonder if you will lose your home to something as devastating as a wildfire. Fires are all across the state and some have been tamed but many homes lost and others are rearing up. Our home could easily have been eaten by this fire and we are still not out of danger from it yet but is in less danger. Last night, it was announced that people could return but be ready to leave in ten minutes if the fire changes course and so it is a life of sitting on edge watching a news feed run across the bottom of the computer  screen to see what life holds in store for you.

Living like that  does something to you. Wondering what will happen to your home does something to you.  It makes you realize even more that things are not that important…life is. And it makes you think about what you want your life to be now. Being chronically ill and disabled already limited my life in some ways but I found myself thinking of things like what I wanted to spend my time on once the fire was controlled. I am in groups online and realized that I wanted to limit that because they were superficial relationships.

I do have friends on Facebook that I want to be able to keep up with but Facebook is not my whole life.  I have people I treasure that I talk to at some point during the day and I do not want to lose that. But, the groups where you could disappear and no one would miss you were something I no longer desired to keep.

My son and I had many long conversations as we waited to hear about the fires,  feeling cut off from the world in a way.  We talked about dreams and what we wanted from life and what had ceased to be important. We talked about people we love and feel close to and how we will always love them and they will always be in our hearts. We talked about things we wanted  to accomplish.

I want to accomplish some things before my life comes to an end. I want to learn how to do things. I want to accomplish my dreams and I want to keep in my life those that are really important so that I am not wasting my life on superficial things. Life is too short and we only have one life and what we are living now is not a dress rehearsal. It is the real thing and we have to be vital in that life, we have to love in that life and we need to accomplish things even if small things in that life. And most important of all, we need to value and respect ourselves.

June 24, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. so, so true Deb…this is how I have lived since Paul died…and the last eleven years have been the best, most productive, most satisfying of my life…I learned the lesson you talk of back then…I don’t even think about ‘things’ much now…friends comment on how much I manage to squeeze into each day, how many experiences I have, and how much work Nik and I do for our food project….I don’t live a selfless life, I have still so much I want to experience, so many places I want to see (and yes, Colorado is on that mental list!) and so much to give…maybe not to individuals, but to my planet, through my love for it, and for God….I still don’t feel a need for Church, my planet is my church, my work is my worship, and knowing that what I am doing is making a difference to how others choose to live their lives…and having people like you in my life…those are the important things…sometimes I forget I have never met you, you have been a part of my life for many years, you are one of my inspirations…I have said so many prayers for you this week, last week, last month, last year…I hear your voice and share your joys and sadnesses…my Colorado Sister xxxxxxx

    Comment by herbytod | June 24, 2013 | Reply

    • Son and I had gotten that way Helena when we moved from the other side of the mountain and then this has furthered it. I believe we are here to do service to help others and that is what I love doing. I remember the days of working in the food bank and serving meals and I loved it. I was so happy doing that. That is what I want now…some project to help others even if it is only us growing food to help the poor. I know..seems like we have always known each other …I feel the same way. Oh I would love for you to get to Colorado..just not in fire season ROFLMAO…love you

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | June 24, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

