Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Recognizing The Gifts We Are Left With

“Send me out today,
To leave Heart prints.
And if someone should say,
“I felt your touch,”
May they also sense the Love
That is deep within my Heart.”

~ Unknown

Somewhere, somehow…the world has lost what is the most important thing we have here on earth…love of each other. And it has been replaced with love of things. I am not sure where this craving for “things” has come from but it saddens me when I see families more focused on acquiring things than with being with their own family members. Things can be replaced…people can not.

Perhaps it is that I am in those magical years where I have traversed this world and learned what is most important. Perhaps it is the “hippy” in me that speaks of love and peace. I really do not know. I just know that the only gift I have left to give is that of love and caring for others.

I have had some tell me “I felt you today. I knew you were praying for me” and they were right. But I wonder like the quote above…did they feel the love deep in my heart that I feel for them no matter the miles between us.

I want to live my life with no regrets. I know that I will only travel through here once as me and I want to know that I told all those I love how much they mean to me and how much I love them. I want to love, hug and touch all those around me that I love so that they feel me….they feel my heart.

In a time where the world is more focused on money and possessions, filled with so many emotions raging because no one knows how to deal with these emotions and filled with people who are searching for something and do not know what, I wonder how much good that the love coming from this little house in the mountains can do. And yet, I know that this is my place here now to keep the love flowing.

I gave of my physical abilities until my body no longer could perform. I give of my mental abilities when I can. But the greatest gift I can give you or anyone now is love and caring….real loving and caring…not the casual “oh love you too”.  That is the gift God has left me with…my body has been taken with disease and degeneration…my mind is tired at times…but my heart continues to love and my prayer is that it does up until the day I leave here.

Sometimes that love and caring comes in the smile you give a child who looks so sad, or the twisted and worn hand that you reach out and touch with love, or the young man like my son that I sit and listen to as he talks of what he wants to do. He told me in a card how much he loved me because I let him live his life his way. I cried because I came up in a generation where the parents before us continued to try to control what we did when we became adults. Perhaps that is why I gave my sons the gift of making their own mistakes. We learn through our mistakes and I did not get that opportunity until late in life.

Each of us has a gift and that gift involves those around us…whether we be someone who gives the gift of a loving heart, the gift of acceptance, the gift of praying for others, the gift of being a helper, the gift of listening, the gift of letting others make their own mistakes, the gift of inspiring, the gift of motivating…and those gifts all involve the people around us. Have you recognized your own gift yet?

July 8, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Each has some talent or skill that may be used. Guess there are many reasons why those go undiscovered or underutilized.
    You are right that our children (not accessories, people) are often ignored or pushed aside for “things”. And the excuse is that those “things” are important to make the kids’ lives better. Ever notice that kids are happy with cardboard boxes – until taught otherwise?
    A post to think about

    Comment by philosophermouseofthehedge | July 8, 2013 | Reply

    • Yes, and then they turn around and go “when did my kids grow up??” Well, they grew up while you thought the huge house, the fancy cars, and expensive vacations were more important than just being with your child. Thanks Karen. Hugs

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 8, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

