Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

10 Things Most Americans Don’t Know About America

An AWESOME read and one all Americans should read and take to heart. Our country is in bad shape and it is us..not just the government…making it that way. I am proud to be an American. I love my country but I am not proud of it right now. I am ashamed of how I see so many Americans acting in the name of “freedom of speech”, I am ashamed of our politicians and ashamed of the greed this country emulates. But make no mistake..I love my country and like any one I love…even when I hate how they act…I still love them.

Thought Catalog

Imagine you have a brother and he’s an alcoholic. He has his moments, but you keep your distance from him. You don’t mind him for the occasional family gathering or holiday. You still love him. But you don’t want to be around him.

This is how I lovingly describe my current relationship with the United States. The United States is my alcoholic brother. And although I will always love him, I don’t want to be near him at the moment.

I know that’s harsh, but I really feel my home country is not in a good place these days. That’s not a socio-economic statement (although that’s on the decline as well), but rather a cultural one.

I realize it’s going to be impossible to write sentences like the ones above without coming across as a raging prick, so let me try to soften the blow to my American readers with…

View original post 3,351 more words

July 15, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Your comment is valid as worthy if not more than the article.
    The article generalizes so much and tosses in some questionable examples, but I do agree with his view that people – especially the young adults would be well served to get out there and travel ( as the author does – not as a tourist). Things look different after that.
    Sadly life is pretty comfortable here, many aren’t motivated to understand how the country got that way – or what it takes to keep it this way.
    School have focused less on facts and knowledge and more on “everyone is a winner” so that ignorance and inflated self worth have created a population that doesn’t understand the world – or their place/role in it. This country was founded on the idea that all would be educated. It can’t function well without that underpinning.
    For years, one was not considered educated without travel abroad. The schools aren’t doing it, then get out there and learn it first hand. Then come back home – all “grown-up” and ready

    Comment by philosophermouseofthehedge | July 15, 2013 | Reply

    • I was an Educator for years and it saddens me to see so many that want to get rich quick rather than get an education. They want to go on reality shows acting like idiots to make big bucks rather than get the training to have a job and when the reality show ends…there they sit..ignorant and jobless. The priorities in this country have shifted drastically. And our country has lost so much and yet many do not see it because if it does not directly affect them, then they do not care to look. I find that sad. I did not agree with every point, I overwhelming agreed that we as America are not what the majority thinks we are and we need to do some cleaning up and learning and bring our country back to what it was..a country that was respected and believed in. Thanks for your comments Karen…:)

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | July 15, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

