Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Change Is Inevitable. How You Deal With It Is Up To You

We always hear “change is inevitable” and it is. What we do not hear is that how we deal with change is up to us. It is our choice to accept and deal with change. It may be change at work, change at home, change in family, change in friendships, change in health or whatever. And sometimes we react instead of act. We just throw our hands up and say this is not worth fighting for. Change is often spoken of in self-defeating terms as if we have no choices in the matter and so we do nothing.

change is

image from pairadimes.davidtruss.com

How we react to change is totally up to us. It is our choice accept it is bad or good. It is our choice to walk away in defeat or to give up or to just throw away whatever it is. And yet, many will say “things have changed and I can do nothing”.  Yes, you can do something. You can look at why the changes occur, figure out if they are changes you contributed to, decide if the changes are from other things such as health issues, medicines, their own stress, determine if they are permanent changes and last, decide how you will deal with the changes.

I have heard Dr. Phil say when it comes to relationships, be it family, lover, spouse, friends, etc…you never move on to another until you have finished dealing with the problems in the first because you will just have a relationship that is doomed to fail. Sometimes when we see people as changed, we never take time to ask ourselves why? Change in a person does not mean that the relationship has to change. It just means it evolves. I am a firm believer in refusing to change two things in my life. I never change my love for another or my loyalty to them. I believe in the person I grew to know and love. If there are changes, I learn to stop and say “What is going on? What has happened to make the change? Is something health wise going on? There is always a reason for change. I may distance myself to keep from getting hurt for I have cried the depths of despair over some people in my life but I do not just throw my hands up and say this is hopeless.

Some things I can walk away from without blinking an eye. Some jobs if the change is too drastic, I could turn my back and walk away with ease. We just have to decide what is important. Some things we can only do what we know to do to help it such as in health changes. I can not change all that is wrong with me but I can change how I deal with it. I try to deal with my own health problems with compassion and understanding for it is my body dealing with them. And I try to deal with other people’s health problems with compassion and care for they can not always control their health issues.

changeimage from kelly-waters.me

Change is inevitable. We all know that. Just keep reminding yourself that how you deal with it is YOUR choice. You can choose to throw your hands up in defeat, figure out why the change happened, try to understand the change, walk away from the change but whatever it is, make sure you have dealt with it all before you just abandon it. Because if you can walk way easily, it was not that important to begin with. And I can think of a few jobs, a few homes, etc that I walked away easily from as there was no attachment. Now people…I do all I can to try to understand and see from all sides and not take it personally before I decide to just walk away. All change is not necessarily good and we have to really take the time to evaluate the change before we just accept it.

don't trust peopleimage from http://lovequotesideas.com/quotes-about-change-and-love-and-life/

January 10, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Not being one of those who’s whole life revolves around work, that’s easy to leave. But as you say, people and change is much more difficult.

    Comment by philosophermouseofthehedge | January 10, 2014 | Reply

  2. Enjoyed reading this. Good way to look at change.

    Comment by Virginia Bonnough | January 10, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

