Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Measuring Time

MWSnap049 2014-01-24, 14_19_07

When we are young, time is measured by weekends and holidays and summer vacations. If we go on to school, it becomes measured by semesters or quarters. And depending on what we do in life, if we go on to become parents….it becomes measured by the milestones of our children. Want to know how fast time is flying? Become a parent and you realize they are grown and having children of their own before you can turn around.

video by Chris McCreedy

Julia Fordham – Where Does The Time Go? Lyrics.

If I could have a pound for every moment I’ve spent worrying
On all the little things in life that frankly there’s no hurrying
Then I would be a rich girl I wanna be a rich girl soon
But going at this rate I think that it might take
Till there’s life on the moon…

Where does the time go? Does anyone know?
Where does the time go? Does anyone know?
Where does the time go? Does anyone know?

If I could have a sneak preview to all the earthly reasons
It takes to make the theme of time then I’d be a girl for all seasons
And I wouldn’t have to worry I wouldn’t have to worry oh no-no-no
It just seems kind of funny that there’s some things I’ll just never 
Know

Like where does the time go? Does anyone know?
Where does the time go? Does anyone know?
Where does the time go? Does anyone know?

We were only just saying just the other day
How it’s really amazing how the days just seem to slip away
And it’s right before my very own eyes
Oh there’s some things that we’ll never, we’ll never know, like

Where does the time go?
Where does the time go? Does anyone know?
Tell me where does the time go?
Tell me where does it go?

I have always said my son’s grew up and I did not. The time went by so quickly. And now, here I am a grandmother watching the same time fly by with my granddaughter. But, recently, I realized that I was measuring time in different ways because of being disabled and sick. It was being measured by doctor appointments, surgeries and especially by that pill-box that we fill up every week with pills I have to take three times and more a day..

I wonder…where did the week go?….when I have to refill that pill-box and that has started making me be more time conscious. Time trickles through that hour-glass regardless of what we do, so the best thing we can do is make the most of the time we have.  We can spend our lives looking for that rainbow or we can enjoy the rainbows we already have. Now is the time to live.

video by 

Time Of My Life

“I’ve been waiting for my dreams
To turn into something
I could believe in
And looking for that
Magic rainbow
On the horizon
I couldn’t see it
Until I let go
Gave into love and watched all the bitterness burn”

The world does things to try to control time, to try to make time longer, to try to hold on to time and yet time holds still for no one. I had to laugh when I read this quote below for many have asked what the purpose of daylight savings was. How do we save time?

“When told the reason for Daylight Saving time the old Indian said, “Only a white man would believe that you could cut a foot off the top of a blanket and sew it to the bottom of a blanket and have a longer blanket.”

  ~Author Unknown

And I often wonder if those that spend time spewing ugliness, attacking others, ignoring their loved ones for a computer screen,  being a victim and not wanting to find solutions to make life better or anything else…realize all they are doing is burning up their time. Time is the one thing we can never get back. Oh yes, people can have cosmetic surgery to make them look younger, they can dress and act like a young person, they can run from time….but the reality is our bodies have their own time machine inside and no matter what you do to the outside, the inside still knows and time goes on.

“Time is the coin of your life.  It is the only coin you have, and only you can determine how it will be spent.  Be careful lest you let other people spend it for you.” 

~Carl Sandburg~

So, if today were your last day?  What would you do? I have heard the quote “Live each day as if it were your last….for one day it will be your last.” If you think about life and think about how this could be your last day…would all the trivial arguing and ugliness even be important to you? Would who is right and who is wrong be important to you? Would having the designer clothes, the biggest house and the fanciest car be important to you? Would spending your time with your family no matter how sick you feel be important to you? Time moves on whether we do or not and only we can make the most of our minutes. No one can do it for us.

IF TODAY WAS YOUR LAST DAY….

video by 

With my health, I think about how little time is left. When you reach the age you can count how much time you have left in months, it really makes you think. Think about it…ten years is 120 months. Does not sound like much when you say it like that does it? I want to live my life with no regrets, to spend all the time I can with my children and granddaughter and loved ones even if it is laying here on the bed talking to them, want to enjoy all that I DO still have instead of whining about all I have lost, want to laugh as much as I can and love all I can and more. What about you?

February 6, 2014 - Posted by | All | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I must say Mine time spent with my MAN has been a delight everyday. I have know him ❤

    Comment by Redkat Blake | February 6, 2014 | Reply

  2. So easy to get caught up in the things that don’t really matter. Agree that we should try and live our lives the best we can and try to grab as much out of life as we can and most importantly love one another, letting those we love know how much they mean to us. That can be hard to do with chronic illness, but we have to do the best we can with what we have been dealt. God Bless and (((HUGS))).

    Comment by Ginny | February 6, 2014 | Reply

    • is all a choice Ginny. I am going to be sick whether I lay here and moan and groan or I decide to be with my family and enjoy them….so if I am going to be sick anyway..I might as well enjoy making the effort to love them and be with them even here in my home.

      Comment by Simply danLrene ©2012 | February 7, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

