Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

No Refunds on Time

small simply danLrene

Time, like grains of sand filtering through your fingers, is one of the most elusive things in our lives. Although all of us are conscious of time, it tends to rear its head more in the form of “I have to be there at 5 o’clock”  or “this takes an hour to do” and not that time has gone by. Time passes in the twinkling of an eye and is gone before we know it.

image by mptribe.deviantart.com

It seems like only a short while ago, I was a child and living at home. Now, here I am a grandmother. The time whisked by in the twinkling of an eye. First I was a child, then I had children and now my children have children. Where did the time go?  It went in the twinkling of an eye.

As I look at my granddaughter, I am very aware of time. She is already so grown. In just a few short years, she will be out of high school. After my health changed, I was afraid I would never live to see grandchildren and now she is a teen.  I can still see my boys when they were toddlers and now they are grown young men and I am so proud of them. Where has the time gone?  It went in the twinkling of an eye.

When we are young, we think we have all the time in the world. Unfortunately, we do not know how much time we have. No one is guaranteed tomorrow. So, I wonder do we make the best use of our time. I have known friends who spent all their time fussing and arguing and in chaos and I want to tell them they are wasting precious moments that they can never regain. Time flies by in the twinkling of an eye.

When my health went down, I had to learn to not let things bother me so. Now, I will not say I succeed all the time but I do pretty well at this. Like that serenity prayer…I had to learn to accept that there are things I can not change.

The Serenity Prayer

GOD, grant me the serenity

to accept the things  I cannot change,

Courage to change the

things I can, and the

wisdom to know the difference.

Reinhold Neibuhr-1926

I have learned not to waste my time, emotions and health on things that will not matter months from now.  Life is flying by and when I look up it is gone in a the twinkling of an eye. So, I want to cherish every moment I have.

Time has flown by since my granddaughter was born and she is turning into a beautiful young woman. I want her and my sons to know how much I love them…how much they mean to me. I want my family and family of choice to know how much they mean to me now while they can feel it. I do not want to stand at their graves and wish I had told them, nor do I want them to stand at mine…and wish we had spent the time and love on each other.  I do not want to waste precious time on silly arguments or fussing for we each only have so many days and none of us knows the hour we will leave here.

If You’re Ever Going to Love Me

If you’re ever going to love me
love me now, while I can know
All the sweet and tender feeling
which from real affection flow.
Love me now, while I am living;
do not wait till I am gone
And then chisel it in marble–
warm love words on ice-cold stone.

If you’ve dear, sweet thought of me,
why not whisper them to me?
Don’t you know ‘twould make me happy
and as glad as glad could be?
If you wait till I am sleeping,
ne’er to waken here again,
There’ll be walls of earth between us
and I couldn’t hear you then.

If you knew someone was thirsting
for a drop of water sweet
Would you be slow to bring it?
Would you step with laggard feet?
There are tender hearts all round us
who are thirsting for our love;
Why withhold from them what nature
makes them crave all else above?

I won’t need your kind caresses
when the grass grows o’er my face;
I won’t crave your love or kisses
in my last low resting place.
So, then, if you love me any,
if it’s but a little bit,
Let me know it now while living;
I can own and treasure it.

(Author Unknown, though many have claimed authorship)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

video by 

Or as I tell those I love……..I love you Forever and a day. 🙂

July 19, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

