Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Living In The Present

small simply danLrene

video by kalebmann98

(I do not own the rights to this video. It is for educational purposes only)

I think sometimes we get lost in “time frames” in our lives. Some live in the past, some are always looking to the future and they both miss what is happening at the moment. They do not know how to live in the moment and enjoy each moment life gives to us.

Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.  Mohandas Gandhi

A friend sent me this poem and the words filled my heart and made me realize a few years back that this moment right now is all we are guaranteed. We have no guarantees of tomorrow and we certainly can not go back to yesterday.

“Living In The Moment ”

 I may never see tomorrow;

There’s no written guarantee

And things that happened yesterday

Belong to history.

 I cannot predict the future

I cannot change the past

I have just the present moments

I must treat them as my last.

I must use this moment wisely

For it soon will pass away

And be lost forever

As part of yesterday.

 I must exercise compassion

Help the fallen to their feet

Be a friend unto the friendless

Make an empty life complete.

The unkind things I do today

May never be undone

And friendships that I fail to win

May nevermore be won.

 I may not have another chance

On bended knee to pray

And I thank God with a humble heart

For giving me this day.

Unknown

I used to be one of those people who was always thinking ahead. I would spend so much time thinking about and planning what I WAS going to do that I forgot what I AM doing. After my health changed, I quit taking days for granted and realized that I better make the most of each day because I might not have as many days as everyone else. “Live Like You Are Dying”….make every day the best and the fullest. Live it as if it is your last day. Make sure you have said all the words you want to say to your loved ones, that you have told them how much you love them and how proud you are of them. Put aside things that are really not that important in the realm of things.  Put aside things that are not that important if you were to die today. Sometimes petty things take up too much space in our lives.

 I do not want to foresee the future. I am concerned with taking care of the present. God has given me no control over the moment following. Mohandas Gandhi

Living in the moment does not mean we should not dream for the future. It simply means that we can not spend our whole life on a future we may or may not have. If we miss all the joys of today, we can never get them back again. They are gone forever. That is why I do not believe in holding on to anger or resentment and believe in forgiving easily. I do not want to go to bed at night with hard feelings in my heart, hurt or anger and risk either me or the person I have these feelings towards dying and we never get to make amends.

Life is too short and if we spend all our time trying to please everyone, trying to make people understand how bad we feel or how hurt we are, or carry resentment around in our hearts or hurt and anger, then we have lost the time we could be spending with those we love. Everyone may not love us like we want them to but I believe that people love in the only way they know how and it may be the best they can love us.
If you knew that you had two days before you were to die, would all the things that keep you upset be so important? Would you still care if people did not get your chronic illness? Would you still be mad because friends went out to eat and did not ask you? Would you still be angry or hurt with family so much that just do not seem to “get it”?
How we allow our emotions to control our lives is a choice and I prefer living my life telling those I love them that I do and telling them often. I choose to forgive quickly and not hold a grudge. I choose to hug and help those around me as much as I can. I can not take things with me so why not use things to help lift others up. And most of all, I choose to live my life trying as hard as I can to have no regrets when I die or when someone I love dies. I do not want to be sitting there saying to myself  “I did not get to tell them I love them before they died.” or “Why did I allow myself to stay so aggravated, angry, etc and not be forgiving and miss time with them?”  For, we can never get back time once it is gone.
threethings

 image from plus.google.com

Live as if today were your last day and you would never have another chance to be with those you love, never have another chance to forgive those that hurt you, never have another chance to make amends with those you have been upset with, never have another chance to show people how much they mean to you. Life as if you were dying tomorrow.

July 22, 2014 - Posted by | All, Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

