Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Hold Tight To Your Values

Simply danLrene signia

what do you satnd for

image from www.full-spirited.com

I believe that core values are extremely important in life and these core values come from what we have been exposed to when we were growing up. Certain people influenced my thinking through the years and taught me the core values I have now which include kindness all the time, honesty, integrity, compassion, loyalty

Sadly though, I see a change in values in our world…our country and I began to wonder did this mean I should change my core values. I see a world drifting more towards materialism than ever before and less towards a core values system. As I lay here in the dark contemplating life, I wondered was I the odd man out as the expression goes or were there others who still felt this way.

Remember growing up and when we were still in school, we often would hold back our own feelings to be part of the crowd?  It was called peer pressure and it happens with adults too. People are afraid to express their views because of the bullying attitude many have.

Just because the values in our country seem to be undermined by those we trusted does not mean we should abandon our own values. It is our values of standing for one as a country, of being patriotic, of being loyal, of being honest and authentic that made our country so good.

When things keep happening as they will, just remember that diversity is good but division is not. A country divided can not stand anymore than a family divided will stay complete. We have to hold to our core values of honesty, authenticity, morals and not let anyone else change those views.

August 5, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Seems like there are many who wish to use people’s emotions for their own purposes. Media willing to stoke hatred.
    Used to be people could agree to disagree and still get along and work towards a common goal.
    But now everyone wants to be “special” and have “special treatment” for one reason or another – even if unearned or unnecessary.
    What a shift. Worrisome, indeed

    Comment by philosophermouseofthehedge | August 13, 2014 | Reply

  2. Debbie! Where have you been!! One day you just disappeared off Facebook! I got an email from MHS alumni site that you had posted your profile! Glad I have refound you!
    Jane Keer

    Comment by Jane kerr | August 12, 2014 | Reply

    • I answered you but has private info so is not approved on the blog Jane so let me know if you see the post I sent you. Deb

      Comment by Simply danLrene ©2012 | August 12, 2014 | Reply

  3. Yes I agree with you danLrene, we are to stand up for what we believe in and not follow the crowd into the abyss, we might be the only one who listens but than we may never know who is listening and what have we got to loose if it is just us but if we don’t we have a great deal to loose, like our self-respect!

    Christian Love – Anne

    Comment by Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus | August 11, 2014 | Reply

    • thank you Anne and well said. I believe we have to stand up even if we stand alone. I also believe we are to be “in” the world but not “part of” the world meaning we do our work for the Lord and then we go back to where we are not participating in the ugliness we see so much of.

      Comment by Simply danLrene ©2012 | August 11, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

