Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Corey’s Challenge

Simply danLrene signia

I just watched the movie “Heaven Is Real” and loved it. Perhaps it means more to me than most because I have seen heaven twice in my life and it is absolutely the most breathtaking place possible. Knowing what is after life is what keeps me going even when things are really rough like the past few weeks. I know that no matter what happens, when my time comes I will be in this breathtaking place and see loved ones I have lost through the years.

Traumatic events change us and change how we look at life. It can change us in many ways from making us cherish the real things in life and make us desire to do something that will help others suffering or it can to make us become self-absorbed and make us on go into overdrive trying to find happiness when it lies within us. This is what happened to a friend of mine I call Resa. Her son was diagnosed with cancer when he was three. He is cancer free now and is four years old. I met Resa when someone sent me the link to her son’s story because they knew I was a prayer and I have been blessed to get to know her and her family and to be part of their journey with cancer. And what a little warrior Corey is.

1514967_623498627707554_1492795558_n

All through life we will meet many people. Some come and stay in our hearts and lives forever. Some move on through and some stay for a bit and move on. Some people have touched my heart so much and Resa and her family are ones that have touched me. I have watched their journey with this horrible disease and watched how they kept their eyes focused on our creator to help them through. They believed in the power of prayer and in asking others to please pray for their son.

1466096_619700094754074_652777447_n

Corey is four years old now. When he was barely three, he was diagnosed with cancer. I can not even begin to imagine a child going through what he went through and keeping that smile on his little face as he endured chemo, radiation and even surgery but he did it. Resa and her husband were there for him every step of the way as was the family and extended family and those of us that chose to go on this journey with them.  See, little children do not try to over analyze things, do not obsess on the bad parts, are not concerned if they lose their hair or look sickly and as long as we are there and give them the positive outlook, they feel it and feel safe and are able to smile even when so sick.

1535642_631469126910504_1526014711_n

They went through weeks and weeks of treatment. The tumor on his kidney was the size of a grapefruit. It was so big that the doctors could not do the operation to remove the tumor until they had shrunk it some with the treatment. I know what it is like to hold my child as he cries from fear of what is happening and the suffering that comes with the treatment and it is the most helpless feeling in the world because as parents we want to fix all the wrongs with our babies. To hold our babies hands down while they are doing medical things to them and try to soothe them is part of our job as a parent when we know this is the only way to get better but it is heart-rending none the less.

1013357_600061376717946_1344620356_n

The one thing that stuck out with me with Resa and her family was that they put her faith totally in God no matter what came her way. She believed and she just knew that Corey would make it….which he did. She called on everyone to please pray for healing for Corey for there is strength in numbers. I truly believe in the power of prayer and I believe that is one gift you can give another person even without telling them.

1554521_664562480267835_1100915771_n

It has been a year since this started and as the year anniversary arrived, flashbacks of what they went through also arrived. Memories of the emotional pain of seeing their child so sick, of the exhaustion that comes from having to carry on in spite of the cancer and of the fear of the unknown world of dealing with cancer have brought Resa to a point where she wants to give back and help those who are going through this too. She wants to make a difference in the lives of others and give the comfort that others gave her during this time. And most of all she wants to encourage people to step up to the plate and bring the power of prayer to all those so sick with cancer and especially the little children who are going through so much. It is hard as an adult to deal with cancer much less a small child.

Resa saw what the power of prayer did for her child and her family and wants to encourage others to stand up to the challenge of cancer and come full force with prayers for all those around the world suffering.  Below is a video where Resa reminisces about the past year and talks about how she wants to start a challenge for people to come together as a group with prayer for this dreaded disease. And she encourages people to make their challenge public to encourage others by buying a T-shirt or a cap created when Corey was going through his battle.

So many people are afraid to show their faith out of fear of being ridiculed or attacked verbally but we live in a nation that has many faiths and we are a nation where we have that freedom to pray and we have the freedom to show our faith. There is power in numbers, power in prayer and power in seeing those around us stand up to the challenge of being part of a group that keeps growing in prayer for cancer victims.  Are you up for that challenge? Whether we want to be or not, we are a role model for others, we are either encouragement or discouragement for those going through traumatic events in their life and I personally want to be someone who encourages others to keep trying and to keep focusing on the healing.

I know from experience what prayer can do and truly believe that if it were not for groups of people praying for me, I might not even be here today. And every time I hear the words that something is healed in me, I smile for I know all the prayers helped carry me through. So, I am asking you today if you would help my friend Resa by going to this link and purchasing a hat or T-shirt to wear proudly as part of a large body of people who are praying daily for a cure for this dreaded disease.

http://www.zazzle.com/stankonit

T-shirt

August 14, 2014 - Posted by | All, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you danLrene for sharing about Corey being healed, how Loving and compassionate is our Abba Father, Thankfully He heals in many ways through Medicine, Natural remedies, Operations,Therapy etc but whatever tool He uses, He is the only Healer and sometimes He heals Miraculously too.

    I would like to share with you about my Cancer and some Scriptures that The Lord gave me through the Storms in my life and they in my heart and I hold onto them tightly.

    My Sister died of Bowel Cancer, they had not found it in time and 3 mths later I found a lump on my breast, the Doctor said it was advanced but she could not get an appointment for me to have the Mammogram and Ultrasound until the end of the week, by Thursday I was frightened but I talked to God and said if it’s my time and you want me to be with you I’m ready but if not, than your will be done, I felt a wonderful Peace, and had no more fear.

    When I went for the tests the next day the Lump was gone and has never returned but if it did or I have other problems, than I have God’s assurance (see below ) that He will be with me whatever happens as He has been for many years and even when I didn’t know Him, He knew me as He knows you danLrene, Cory and all His Children.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

    Comment by Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus | August 16, 2014 | Reply

    • Anne, what a beautiful message and story about your healing. I too believe that we will not die one day before or one day later than God intends and so have faced many surgeries with people asking me was I not afraid of dying. I said no..I know where I will be either way…so I have no fear in dying. What a wonderful testament your story is just like Resa and Corey’s story. She is such an inspiration to me too. I wish everyone would join in prayer for the healing of all cancer because I believe prayer is so powerful. Thank you for telling me your story. It will stay in my heart forever. I am struggling with new health issues but I know that God has a plan and that is all I can rely on..that and take care of me the best I can.
      Hugs and love in Christ
      Deb

      Comment by Simply danLrene ©2012 | August 16, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

