Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Just Try Imagining

Simply danLrene signia

I dream for a lot of things even more so now when I look around the world and see the mass killings of men, women and children and seeing some of them stranded without food and water and having to bury their children. And seeing this just tears my heart. I dream for peace not only over seas but also in our country that has become so divided that the country is accomplishing nothing except to pull people further apart.

I wish there were something I could do but I only have my voice here due to my health issues going on. Most of you know from my side bar on the right that I am mostly in a hospital bed and very sick and have new things happening. And so this blog is entitled “Just Try Imagining…”   and it is called that for a reason.

We as the American people are blessed to be in a safe country but we have been attacked on our own soil before as seen with 9/11. But, because we live in relative peace, I think we fail to realize what it would be like if these wars were going on here on American soil. And so I say..Just try to imagine.

Just try to imagine if that were your homes being bombed, your family members being killed because they would not adopt the faith of the terrorists, if that were your child or loved one that was brutally killed and beheaded. Horrific thoughts is it not?

Sometimes it takes the horror for us to be motivated into being compassionate and caring and to be searching for the truth and a way to help. As I sat looking at all those pictures from the news sites and I had to force myself to look, I tried to imagine myself in those places and facing that. And to be honest, the full impact is not possible because I have never been faced with that before. But I do have an inkling and the horror that it would be.

This is not a political post or about political parties, it is about acts against humanity and us stepping in to help.  I heard people say “Well, we wanted our men and women home because we missed them.”  I understand that but could this horror have been prevented had we stayed a little longer in training them to fight for themselves? I am sure those family members still alive miss their men, women and children that were killed in masses. And the brutal killing will be etched in their brains forever.

And these terrorists have threatened our country and threatened to come here where the borders are unsecured and do harm here. It brought home to me why our military goes to help places like Iraq and other countries because it can be a threat to our own freedoms.

I have friends in Israel who are living through the war there. She is an American and he is a native of Israel and they have a two year old son. I cried at one of her videos where she thought she heard the siren go off and was changing her baby and grabbed him and diapers and was running into the hallway to hide.  She still had her camera attached to her hand and you could see the fear on her face and the poor baby’s face too. Can you imagine what that would feel like if it were you or me and we had to live with that fear daily?

We have become a country (and yes a world) that is so lacking in compassion and understanding and want to judge in such a harsh way. It really is time we came together as a country and not political parties. It really is time the different sides quit fighting with the other side and vice versa. It really is a time that we came together as Americans proud of our country and proud of the fact that we have been a leader helping those in need all down through the years. Somehow, we have gotten off tract.

And it really is time we start paying attention to what is going on in our country and our world and looking with realistic eyes and not just assuming because a person is from our particular party that all they do is good. We as a country used to stand tall and stand proud and work together. We saw that after 9/11 and I do not want another 9/11 to get us to pull together again.

There is an old saying that says “a divided house can not stand” and that is what we have become…a divided country and the divisions are by party lines, by race, by religion, by cultures and it is the saddest sight in the world to me to see. I thought we had come a long ways and now I feel like we are back in the sixties again.

So I ask everyone that reads my blog to “just try to imagine” and see how you would feel if you were the country being bombed and mass murders being done all because you would not believe what the other side wanted you to believe. Imagine and feel both sides of situations so that understanding can come and so we know how fortunate we really are in this country to live in a land of the free. But, to maintain the land of the free, we the people need to work together to keep our land free.

August 18, 2014 - Posted by | All, Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Abraham Lincoln:
    “A house divided against itself cannot stand. I believe this government cannot endure, permanently, half slave and half free. I do not expect the Union to be dissolved — I do not expect the house to fall — but I do expect it will cease to be divided. It will become all one thing or all the other. Either the opponents of slavery will arrest the further spread of it, and place it where the public mind shall rest in the belief that it is in the course of ultimate extinction; or its advocates will push it forward, till it shall become lawful in all the States, old as well as new — North as well as South.”

    “If a house is divided against itself, that house cannot stand.” Mark: 3:25 (NIV).

    Your post is an intelligent and heartfelt response to the madness going on in our world today.

    I am thankful for you and your words that continue to inspire us.

    Unfortunately I do not know what I, a small individual, can do to fight against the injustice
    and horrors.

    I can only image … and pray.

    I vote, but I do not trust that my vote will result in positive change because I understand all too clearly that those who have the stomach to run for office and put themselves on the brutal firing line of political campaigning are those who have possibly hardened themselves to the point that they cannot effect a positive change.

    Again, what is the answer? How can we change the world? When I participated in the peace movements of the 1960s I was sure that we would change the world and life would be GOOD! That did not happen.

    What is the answer.

    Comment by Ramona | August 19, 2014 | Reply

    • Sometimes the only answer is to pray. And sometimes we can only change our corner of the world, can only promote the peace we want to see ourselves in hopes that others see it, feel it. We may not change the whole world but if we can change just one person maybe the ripple effect will come. I do believe in voting because while it may not matter in the political realm…I really am not sure anymore…I believe it shows God we are trying to do what is right. Thank you for your answer. Some very good words in there. I see so much anger, hatred, corruption, immoral behavior and I think our God must surely cry. My son and I …I live with him as he takes care of me…worked to change our lives to simplicity, to living life based on our faith in our heart and I am a person of faith not religion for I find religion is man made…and my faith is between my creator and me…but we wanted to do something that people would ask what is it you have that makes you different…in hopes that we might touch just one person. We try to help those around us and show compassion and love and sometimes that is all we can do and if we “just imagine”…then if everyone if would just imagine they might realize that all this craziness and ugliness and greed is so wrong. I can only hope. 🙂 thanks again for your comment. I really liked it.

      Comment by Simply danLrene ©2012 | August 19, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

