Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Birds of A Feather

Simply danLrene signia

Life and people is for me all about trust and I want to be someone people can trust. But, people do view us by those we keep around us. I can remember growing up hearing the phrase that we are known by the company we keep. It took me a long time to understand what this phrase meant.  I may have good moral character but if I want others to know that, then hanging with those of questionable character is not the route to go.

Be yourself. Above all, let who you are, what you are, what you believe, shine through every sentence you write, every piece you finish.

John Jakes

There is a difference in speaking to someone who does not have the moral character we do and being part of that person’s  crowd or being included in their loop. It took me a long time to realize that if you associate or have your name associated with thieves, liars and unethical people….that people will think you also are a thief…a liar…and unethical.  I know that my trust diminishes when I see people associating with those that are unethical and while I may never say anything, my belief in them is cut to the bone.

This above all; to thine own self be true, and it must follow, as the night the day, thou canst not then be false to any man. 

William Shakespeare

I had someone say..”but I am not that and people should know.”  And perhaps they should know, but the truth of the matter is, people tend to judge us by the company we keep.  It is human nature. But, even more so…..when we associate online with those of questionable character, it is out there … forever.  It becomes like what we post on the internet….something that can come back and haunt us later in our lives. Employers now look online and read about people who put in job applications and unless we use common sense, it can come back and cause us problems..

I live by my integrity. I believe in honesty in actions and words and nothing turns me off quicker than those that lie, manipulate, deceive, steal, misuse others….  I have watched places on the internet that misused the very ones that were honest and ethical standing by them and courted the ones that talked ugly about them, lied about them and in essence, by courting those that are not of good character….and then wondered why things were not going well.

And then one day, I opened my eyes and said to myself… “we are known by the company we keep” and look at the company these people are keeping. And the sad thing is, I have watched small businesses fail because they kept close the wrong people and did not understand why their business was failing. It is because those that are ethical and honest will no longer affiliate with someone who keeps unethical people around them. but they can not see that.

‘Above all, be true to yourself, and if you cannot put your heart in it, take yourself out of it.”

Hardy D. Jackson

Life is too short to spend it on things that are not positive and happy. There is enough sadness, hurt and anger in the world and we can’t stop it all but we can control what we allow in our lives.

image from styledip.com

August 25, 2014 - Posted by | All, Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

