Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Put Your Dreams Into Action

Simply danLrene signia

image from illakiyaa.wordpress.com

Am I meant to be a writer? I asked myself this many times before I started sharing my writing. And yet, I could not give it up because every day all I could think of was writing….writing poetry, writing novels, writing books. It was as much a part of me as my heart beating.

Sometimes we can become lost wondering what we are supposed to be doing with our lives. From the time we are in school, we are asked what we want to be when we grow up. And you know what? I am 65 and still have not figured out what I want to be when I grow up. I know I want to write but beyond that I do not know.

Take your dreams and hold tight to them. You know the dreams I am talking about. The dreams that seem to haunt your night and days. The dreams your heart holds tight that you just can not let go of no matter how healthy you are (or are not) nor how old you get. The kind of dreams you wake up dreaming about and you find yourself day dreaming about. I do that with returning to Italy and getting where I can travel easier. Will I have my dream come true? Maybe not but I still can not quit dreaming about it.

Sometimes we are afraid to follow our dreams. My son and I wanted to move out here to Colorado and it took us over a year for our dream to come true. We had to do our work to make it come true and had to keep our dream alive. And then one day, we had to step out on faith and believe that it would all work out and it did. We still find it hard to believe that we are here living our dream. Does that mean we do not have other dreams? No, it does not.

I dream of publishing my writings and work hard to try to get them organized but right now I am too sick to do it. But, I do not give up on that dream. Maybe it will be something I leave for my sons to do. I just know I dream of it over and over. And no matter how sick I am, that dream is still there.

No matter what you dream or want to do, if the dream is strong enough you will find a way to at least get part of the dream. If you want to sing, write, dance, teach, live with self-sufficiency, whatever and it consumes you with passion. Keep working for a way to do it. Yes, it means stepping out and taking a chance and it could mean a total change in the way of life. But, if you want it bad enough…you will find a way to do it. Think about the artists who lived in tiny apartments with little money to follow their passion. How bad you want something goes along with how much you are willing to give up.

This post is about being a writer, but it could be about being a singer, a dancer, a teacher, a lawyer, a mother, a father and the list goes on. If the dream is with you every day and constantly in your thoughts, then you are meant to do it. And once you realize that, then you must have the courage to step out and go for it. If you do not go for it, you will always wonder what would have happened if you had. Does this mean we never fail. No, it means we step out and start the path to fulfill our dream of what we want to become. Do not let people talk you out of it for then you will spend the rest of your life regretting that you never tried. It may not turn out exactly like you thought, but the dream will be in there when you are done.

I remember visiting my cousins and one of them was a lineman for the electric company. He told me what he always wanted to do was become a lawyer. My response was “Well, then go for it.”  He offered all sorts of reasons why he could not such as he was too old, it had been to long since he had been in school, he did not know if he was smart enough, etc.  I told him if he really wanted it then go find out what he needed to do and start working for it. A few years after that he told me that he had done what I suggested and was about to graduate. He was so happy that he had stepped out and gone for it.  What are your dreams that keep haunting you that you really want to do? Why have you not stepped out to go after those dreams?

September 10, 2014 - Posted by | All, Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

