Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

How Did We Become Such A Disposable Society?

Simply danLrene signia

I am showing my age here when I say this but that is ok. I am proud of my age. I remember growing up not throwing stuff away or clothes away and the possessions we had were things to take care of. I am proud my sons were raised the same way. And I am sad to see the country/world become such a disposable society.

Now, let me say this in defense of that before I start in on all the things thrown away. I believe a lot of the problem lies in industries who create items that are not made to last. People used to take pride in their craft and if you bought a certain watch or a certain piece of furniture or even a certain item of clothing, the people making it took great pains to create something that they could be proud up and that stood up to time and use. This is not that way today.

I think about the wood workers who crafted their items so intrinsically that if anyone knew their work they could identify it by just looking at it. Artists were the same way and inventors the same way. If you owned a television years ago, you did not throw it away if it quit working. You called the repairman and had it fixed. Today we are lucky if a cell phone lasts over a year or a television and clothes are not even the same quality. Today you have to watch for all the tricks some companies do to make money off of us by giving us an inferior product. Look how often cars are traded, how often houses are sold, how often smart phones are :upgraded”, etc.

These are possessions I was talking about above but so many live a more disposable life than most of us realize. People tend to go into marriage with the idea that if it does not work, they can just throw it away and start over with someone new. Nothing is done to try to “work out” the problems. The spouse just becomes disposable. Friends are disposable today too. If you do not believe me, just look at Facebook sometime and you will see people cutting people off if they dare to disagree with them and they then move on to someone new.I have begun to think that few people know what being a friend is. If I am a friend…then I am a friend even if the other person walks away or acts in a certain way.

How can people be a disposable item? Seems humans have little value as do relationships. I guess trying to talk and work things out and really caring about others is not what it used to be. Children seem to be disposable as many people have babies and then the grandparents end up raising them. What happened to accountability? Much as people think they can run from their problems, the problems will just catch up with them at a later date in a similar situation.

My take on this is that there is little respect for people, places or things. There seems to be little value for human life as we see the murders around the world. There seems to be little compassion and concern for other humans as we see the empty houses rise to a number greater than the homeless population. Why could they not have worked out something for people to keep their homes? There is little respect for what people say to others and believe me when I say there are some horrible people posting anonymously behind  their monitors and I do mean hate mongering.

I believe in kindness no matter how others act. I believe in forgiveness no matter what someone says to us or how they act to us. I believe in accountability in what we say and do. And most of all, I believe in respect. We can not change the world but maybe we can change our corner of the world and create ripple effects. So many say they can not do it alone and no one can but if we each make an effort to make a change, eventually others will see it and try it too.

November 19, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I love this post! You are so thoughtful and your insight is eye-opening to me! I love reading your posts on your blog. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I hope you’re keeping warm and feeling good! Much love to you! ❤

    Comment by FoolyLiving | November 20, 2014 | Reply

    • thank you thank you. 🙂 I love your vlogs too. Yes is much warmer now…low in the upper twenties which I can handle. HUGS and love from our house to yours.

      Comment by Simply danLrene ©2012 | November 20, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

