Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Believe In Yourself This Year

Simply danLrene signiaThis is a new year and that means time for changes and new opportunities. I wish we all could gain the confidence, courage and the beliefs to know that we can succeed in things and that we can try new things. Maybe that is a good goal to make and that is to try at least one new thing in 2015. I hope the biggest goal on the list is to believe in yourself this year for if you believe in yourself, others will believe in you too.

So, as I lay here tonight I was thinking about why some people do not step out and do many things and that is lack of confidence or not believing they can. I firmly believe that if we do not believe in ourselves then we can not expect anyone else to either. I do not mean that arrogance many have that act like they can do it all and reality usually shows that they can not do it all.  I mean a basic faith in knowing that you have the knowledge to do specific things. We do not have to be college trained to be of value. We just need to learn things that will be of benefit in this world.

We have to be our own best friend and believe in our capabilities. I think if people could realize that just because you try something and do not do well at it does not mean you are a failure. It just means you need to work more at it. People as a general rule tend to do well at what they love but fear often keeps them from trying. And people tend to avoid anything they are not sure of or feel that they are not smart enough to do. I say step out there, jump on the horse and take off. If the horse throws you off, get up and dust your britches off and go again.

Being chronically ill, I do not see many people as I have spent most of my past years in this room. I am not antisocial but just can not go out like other people do because it causes me to crash physically and increases my pain immensely. I am working on building more strength so that I can sit longer for one of my blessings is going to our tiny church each Sunday. And being chronically ill and/or disabled, many people can feel like they are inferior to those that are well and able. But that is not so. We can do many things that can be of benefit in work, in life and in the world. Stand up for what you believe is morally right and stand up to protest what is not right.

I live by a few basic precepts. I try to treat others like I want to be treated and sometimes that means being totally honest even if they get mad. I always say “Do not lie to me and do not steal from me whether it be my money, my possessions, my time or my heart.”  That is having boundaries and hopefully many people will put that at the top of their list of goals for the coming year. Having healthy boundaries is important and helps keep us less stressed because we will not get pulled into things we really do not want to do. If you have boundaries then you find it easier to say no when you really do not want to do something. And having courage, knowledge and training means that we are better equipped for the world which helps us to believe in ourselves more.

Believe in yourself and know that you do have something to offer the world. If there are things you want to know how to do then get out there and learn how to do them even if you take online courses, learn from the internet or have a friend show you. I want to learn sign language and have the books right here. That is on my list of things to do along with learning Spanish. I feel like knowing both of those things might help me be able to do more things to help others even if it is just online.

Do not expect more from yourself than you expect from others and do not expect more from others than you expect of yourself. I remember teaching and having  helpers in my classroom. They knew that if I asked them to do something that was an unpleasant job that it was something that I personally would do too. I never asked more of people than I was willing to give.

I truly believe that if we are honest with ourselves and others, respect ourselves and others, treat others the way we want to be treated, stand up for those who are being mistreated, educate ourselves on how to do certain skills, be courageous and never agree to do something that your heart says you do not want to do, help others who are in need and encourage ourselves and others, then we will have the tools we need to believe in ourselves. And when we gain that confidence in ourselves, we will see people have confidence in us. And that confidence means we will try more and more new things because we feel we can succeed.

January 2, 2015 - Posted by | All, Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Great post as always. 😀 Happy New Year!

    Comment by salkeela | January 3, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

