Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Maybe Today, Maybe Tomorrow

Simply danLrene signiaThis song has carried me through the past few years. Although it was written because someone died from cancer that the singer loved, it is about all people struggling and especially those with chronic illness and incurable illnesses.

“they say the road to heaven might lead us back through hell”

believe me when I say it does.

“Maybe tonight, maybe tomorrow..we’ll win this fight and bury this sorrow”

our mantra

“So, We live strong.”

Oh, yes we do. And we live stronger when you are with us.

video by Randall Macon

“Wideawake performance of Maybe Tonight, Maybe Tomorrow at Antone’s in Austin, Texas. Download the song at iTunes. All proceeds go to help those at the Live Strong Foundation”

The things the chronically ill face daily are not easy. It is a battle constantly to survive and make it through to the next step. We under go procedures praying they will help us just like I underwent the Radio Frequency Ablation on my spine in 8 areas each time and on different areas. It was not easy but I did it. Or the Kidney surgery or the embolization of the next kidney tumor, or the heart catherization. I could go on and on with my list just like many others.

Thanks to the internet, those that are chronically ill and/or have terminal illnesses are able to join with others and not feel so alone for it is hard for those not sick to understand even though they feel compassion and love. It is by encouraging each other we can continue our fight. And by the wonderful warriors who stay by our side and keep pushing us forward. And that is the key for if all we do is agree when a person in a self-defeating mode, we are encouraging victim mentality. We must encourage others to keep fighting and to keep moving forward and to overcome.

A dear friend walked behind me to push when I could not go, beside me to encourage me when I was moving forward on my own and in front of me to blaze the trail to make it easier if she could. She has held my hand, dried my tears, yelled at me to “fight damn it..fight, played me music to soothe my soul, and told me “I am here friend”. She searched out medical information to help me, sent me things to make my journey easier like fleece covers that did not hurt and red spike high heels because my heart dreamed for them and would Skype me just to see my face so she would know if I was really alright. And sometimes she just simply sat with me in silence because I was too weak to talk. What a gift she was to me.

Believe me when I say that the best gift you can give someone chronically ill,  disabled, facing cancer, incurable auto immune disorders, chronic illness or other catastrophic illnesses or anything catastrophic in life is the gift of love, of friendship. The best gift you can give them is yourself..your love, just being there to hold their hand..dry their tears, to help fight the battles that sometimes are just too much to fight at the moment. When you do that for someone like me and others, you become a hero in our book.

The most important thing for those chronically ill is to keep fighting, keep working on life and living. We can not control death but we can control how we spend our lives and the joy we have in our lives until that day.   This song above has very special meaning for me and carries me through  really rough times. I hope you all enjoy it. Listen to the words for that is our world…the sick with cancer, the sick with auto immune disorders and other disabling and chronic conditions. We live with “maybe today…maybe tomorrow”  they might find a cure. For there is no cure for auto immune disorders. And with cancer, the cures are slow coming. Our injured vets are in the same boat waiting for “maybe today…maybe tomorrow they will be able to help me.” They were injured fighting for us.  It is time we fought for them by just being there for them and letting them know they are not alone as they heal from catastrophic injuries during their tours.

You can not walk the trail for us but you sure can make it easier by walking with us.  Please do not let fear keep you from being with those that you love and care about or even from those you see in need. Many years back, I took a friend for chemo and radiation for weeks on end so she did not have to go alone. There was a woman in there who had no one to be with here and I watched her call family member after family member because she was alone and terrified and no one would come and be with her. My heart broke for her so I went and got on my knee in front of her and said “It will be ok” and started talking to her telling her what they would do and that they gave in the IV medicine to help with the nausea, etc. While we were talking, someone finally returned her call and barked into the phone “What is wrong? so loud that I could hear it. She smiled at me and told them “Nothing. I am fine now” and hung up. So,  I sat between both my friend and this woman and we all talked as both got their treatments.. All it takes is a little time and a little love to give something back to the universe. Many say they are too busy but they are not too busy to do things that they just want to do. Treat others like you want to be treated when you are sick and hurting.

February 6, 2015 - Posted by | All, Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I saw your post the other day did respond but wasn’t sure it went through ether. I am knowing about pain that really stops your life from being what it was even a short while ago not being what it once was but could do something anyway. I will am praying for you. Praying for the drs as well. love Darlene

    Comment by Darlene Harrison | February 7, 2015 | Reply

    • thank you darlene and yes I got your message. I just had to approve it first and am not on much. I know you know what bad pain is like with your problems. I am trying to hold on til the time to go to the surgery center and then praying for some relief. It won’t take all the pain away but if it just lowers it some I will be happy. 🙂 hugs

      Comment by Simply danLrene ©2011 | February 7, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

