Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

Are You Auctioning Yourself Off?

my logo

Have you ever heard the expression “Everyone has a price. What is yours?”  Do you hold yourself to a higher standard or are you auctioning yourself off to the social media, to the opposite sex just to have a date, to political parties, to the dollar bill, fame or social acceptance? Have you thought about why you put up with this or that? Some things are minor but some things come with warning lights if you are paying attention.

I have seen people lie, cheat and steal to get money, benefits, etc that were not theirs but the more I see of the new reality shows coming out, I realize that many will sell their own souls for the almighty dollar bill and when they do that, they are selling themselves short. I have watched women and men devalue themselves just to have money, fame or love. I have seen women take abuse because they did not want to be alone. I have seen people take mistreatment in the work place because they fear losing their job. We each have a limit or a line that says no more no matter what the consequences are. Do you know your value?

image from http://www.myspace.com/raysmithdrums

I decided a long time ago  that I must be plain crazy because I can not compromise my values or my self-respect just to have money, fame or even love. I do not watch reality shows for this reason. I will not eat a buffalo anus for a million dollars. Sorry, but I am not going there. I will not act like an idiot and make myself look stupid for a money either. I would rather be poor and alone the rest of my life than compromise who I am.

image from http://cupandcross.com/ministry-not-for-sale/

What happened to standing up for morals and honesty and ethics? We have a brain and the ability to think so why do we let others lead us into things that are not right? I look at politics and wish they could do away with the parties. Not all democrats are good nor are they all bad and the same with the GOP and yet we see more arguments online of each side putting the other down. I do not vote by party. I vote by person and I research that person out as much as I can and look at their past record as a politician before I vote.

There is so much disrespect in the world right now and the saddest part to me is that now tweens and young teens are learning disrespect and the things they say online just make me cringe. If they are not taught to respect themselves, then they will never respect anyone else.

Do you take disrespect from others? Do you have a plan of what you are going to do if someone is actually hateful and disrespectful to you? Me personally, I do not respond to them and I watch to see if they keep doing it. If they do, I walk away from them and from that point on they are not allowed inside access to me. If they ask why, I politely tell them that I respect myself and I expect others to be respectful too and you were not respectful to me. Those that are just disrespectful all the time usually do not bother asking you why you quit being around them.

image from http://appliedalliance.wordpress.com/

I taught my sons to respect themselves and to respect others.  I did not want them getting into relationships just because they saw it on some reality show. I wanted them to fall in love and find someone that truly loved them and would treat them goo. I wanted them to believe in themselves, to stand up for what is right and to be respectful to all. I wanted them to be men who would stand up for what is right and not just go along with the crowd or follow a group without thinking for themselves. And I am proud of both of my sons because they have turned into fine young men.

I can not speak for anyone else going price but I can tell you what mine is. I will not compromise my own self respect, my honesty, my ethics, my faith, or anything else for money, for fame or for attention. I learned a long time ago that it does not give the happiness and peace that people yearning for it think it will. It lasts about as long as spending the money does. If I do not value nor respect myself…no one else will.

image from http://www.idlehearts.com

December 2, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Beautifully said, Dani! And it has been very obvious that you are a wonderful mother, and it shows in your wonderful son

    Comment by Darlisa | December 5, 2015 | Reply

    • thanks Darlisa 🙂 Hope all is going well for you now.

      Comment by danLrene ©2011 | December 5, 2015 | Reply

  2. Well said! Stay grounded.
    If you know your value, then words really can’t hurt you either. We were taught if someone said an unkind or ugly remark to just look very firmly directly into their eyes and say calmlu “I can’t imagine why you would ever say something like that.” Then walk away.
    You sound like a smart mom and person

    Comment by philosophermouseofthehedge | December 2, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

