Simply danLrene's Opinion

Work Your Dream

What Christmas Means To Me

my logo

Before I start writing this post, I want to say something. First off, I am only sharing what Christmas means to me. I wish people could understand that for it really bothers me all the PC and “offended” comments that go on. If someone is demeaning or hateful, yes be offended. But when someone cares enough that they want to share the joy of their holiday with you, that should not be offensive. So, I love to hear what others believe but I ask please no hate, no ugly comments, no PC talk and no “I am so offended.”  I want people to think about this. If we were all alike this world would be such a boring place. We all believe differently, all have different customs and traditions and all think differently. There does not need to be hate because of that. And now I will begin talking about Christmas and what it means to me.

Being a follower of Christ, obviously Christmas means the birth of Christ to me. But what does that mean to me?  The birth of Christ to me is the birth of my Savior and that makes it very spiritual for me and very special. I believe He is God’s son who came to earth so that we might have everlasting life.

Son and I stopped commercial Christmas years ago. Yes we give small presents but it is not the present but the love and sharing we are giving  just as Christ was sent to earth as a gift to us if we accept it. Christmas is more about time together than it is about presents for us. Our tree is bare underneath and we are not sad about it. Son and I go to the Dollar tree, separate and go and find small gifts for each other to share our joy of the season. Most of our Christmas time is spent enjoying being together, cooking, going to church, riding around looking at the lights one night the week of Christmas, and just sharing our love and joy we have for others.

Son and I bake together with him doing most of the work but I do help. That is a very special time for us. We learned years ago that Thanksgiving and Christmas Day both were made more special with the cooking we did together, the time we spend enjoying each other’s company and talking and enjoying the smells of the season. It is a time of home and home is not a building but it is what is in your heart. Christ was not born in a home but a stable but at that moment in time, that was home.

Christmas is a time of kindness and love and caring and giving of oneself to others. So many have so little and even though we have little, we know that we are supposed to share. And son and I love to do that. We also believe that when you do things to help those in need you do them in secret and God will bless you. I wish I could put into words the feeling you get in your heart when you do something for someone else in need that no one knows you did. I just lifts your heart and makes you feel so good.

Matthew 6:1-6 (KJV)

6 Take heed that ye do not your alms before men, to be seen of them: otherwise ye have no reward of your Father which is in heaven. 2 Therefore when thou doest thine alms, do not sound a trumpet before thee, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets, that they may have glory of men. Verily I say unto you, They have their reward. 3 But when thou doest alms, let not thy left hand know what thy right hand doeth: 4 That thine alms may be in secret: and thy Father which seeth in secret himself shall reward thee openly.

We also believe that part of Christmas is giving but it is not just giving material things. It is giving of your heart and giving kindness and compassion. Is it not ironic that people are the kindest at Christmas time. I wish everyone were that way all the time. Sometimes people just need our time or for us to listen or just for us to care about them. Things that cost no money.

Christmas for us is putting up a tree for to us the tree represents the Trinity-The Father, Son and Holy Ghost. We put up lights for they represent Jesus to us who is the living light and the hope of things to come. We put up our Nativity and that is so special to us for it is a reminder of that night Jesus was born and of the Angels who told the shepherds and of the wise men who knew of the prophecy of Jesus coming and were searching for him.

And Christmas is a time of forgiveness to us. A time to ask forgiveness, to give forgiveness and a time to make our selves be accountable for our lives. We like to start the new year with no unfinished business between those we know: no hurts, no angers, no regrets.  For after all, to us, Christ came so that we might have forgiveness and ever lasting life and we are supposed to follow him.

I hear so many talk ugly about Christians and I can only say not all who call themselves Christians are really following Christ and showing the fruits of the Holy Spirit which are:

Galatians 5:22-23 (KJV)
22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, long suffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, 23 Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.

Those are the things my sons and I try to show all the time, not just at Christmas but we are reminded of these fruits even more at Christmas time. For us, Christmas is a way of life that we live all year. We just celebrate the event of Christ’s birth this time of year every year.

My friend Audrey who was Jewish who died several years ago, would always share her faith with me and I would share mine with her. I would wish her a Merry Christmas and she would wish me a Happy Hanukkah and we talked about our different traditions. There was no offense. It was sharing the joys of our beliefs with each other. And so I share our joy of Christmas with all who read this and say Merry Christmas to all.

December 23, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

